Welcome Alysha and Scratches!!
You’ve gotten great advice from everyone! It looks like you’re already way ahead of the game: testing BG levels, spreadsheet set up, posting on the forum(you’re doing it right!

) transitioning to wet food, and giving Lantus. Awesome!
My initial thoughts about Scratches treatment plan is that the dose seems pretty high for a beginner dose. A typical starting dose with Lantus for a cat that has had his first diagnosis is 1u BID (BID=2x/day). Like Lou mentioned, there is an insulin support group for Lantus that you can post in where you can get Lantus specific guidance and feedback.
Since you are less than happy with your vet’s treatment plan, would you be open to trying one of our dosing methods here? For Lantus there are 2: Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) and Tight Regulation (TR) you can read information about both of these protocols
HERE.
If you would like to try one of the FDMB methods, for now you would have to follow SLGS. That is because you are still feeding Scratches dry food and you can’t follow TR until kitty is on a completely wet diet.
Under SLGS you would start Scratches on 1u BID, hold the dose for 7 days / 14 cycles (a cycle is the amount of time between one dose and the next, because we give two shots in a day that means each day has two cycles) and then at the end of the week you would do a Blood Glucose (BG) curve (A BG curve is where you take a BG reading every two hours for 12 hours straight). Based on the lowest reading on your curve (aka peak or nadir) you can determine whether or not Scratches would need an increase or decrease in dose.
When we change dose we only increase or decrease by 0.25u at a time. Syringes with half unit markings make this much easier... do you know if your syringes have half unit markings? I believe the relion brand at Walmart are great and affordable options
If you find after you’ve transitioned to wet food that you would rather follow TR, that’s ok too! Whatever method you choose please add it to your signature so that members can provide relevant feedback
Skipping the dose for a reading under 200 was a smart idea for now, you need to gather data on how Scratches responds to insulin before you shoot lower numbers. Someday you’ll shoot numbers as low or lower than 167, but you really do need to collect data to understand Scratches patterns first. I agree you should get a hypo kit together in case of an emergency and have a good understanding of what to do in an emergency.
Because you’re following SLGS I think a curve once a week is fine, if you’re able to do more than one curve a week that is great too, the more data the better

. A tip from me is that if you do more than one curve in a week try to offset the two hour test schedule by an hour so that you can have a better idea of what is typically happening for your cat through the day.
For example:
Curve 1: AMPS, +1, +3, +5, +7, +9, +11, PMPS.
Curve 2: AMPS, +2, +4, +6, +8, + 10, PMPS.
AMPS- morning Pre-shot BG reading
PMPS- evening pre shot BG reading
+1,+2, +3 etc...- the amount of hours after the AMPS or PMPS
I know your vet told you 2 doses a day with food each time but did they let you know the importance of making sure each dose is 12 hours apart from the last one? Lantus typically lasts 12 hours in a cat, if you shoot any earlier than 12 hours after the last dose it can act like an increase and risk a dangerous situation. If you shoot later than 12 hours after the previous dose it can act like a dose decrease.
Lou gave you great info for food! You don’t have to break the bank for wet food, fancy feast or Friskies pâtés are perfect... the food list is an amazing resource. As far as exercise, the more exercise the better! It is very good for any cat to be well exercised but that is especially true of diabetic kitties.
One thing you might want to consider is testing for ketones. You can buy ketostix at any pharmacy for an affordable price, it is especially important to test for ketones if your kitty is constantly in high numbers, or when they seem really lethargic. Kitties with high ketones are at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis which is a really dangerous conditions. To use the strips you just dip them in some of Scratches pee and compare the colour on the strip to the colour legend that comes with the strips.
Come on over to the Lantus forum when you’re ready, it looks really intimidating at first but everyone there is really welcoming and will do their best to answer your questions. Ask as many as you want, re ask if you still don’t understand, we have all been in your shoes so never be shy!
You’re being an amazing caregiver! Scratches is so lucky!! Can’t wait to see Scratches progress

good luck!!