kathysammy
Member Since 2010
Hello all! You may not remember us, but Sam was diagnosed in 2007 and has been diet controlled for the second time since March 2009. I haven't been on FDMB much since work keeps me so busy.
I am back because Sammy has been having some stomach problems and has lost a lot of weight. A new vet (regular one on vacation) reccomended some blood work for a specialized intestinal panel. The results came back last Friday and 3 of 4 values are abnormal. The vet said that it was most likely a lower intestines inflamation. I don't have the actual tests results in my hand yet, but the new vet reccomended prednisolone 5 mg BID for 2 weeks, and then a pattern of reducing the dose every 2 weeks until Sammy is back off the steroids. He did this and I accepted and followed the reccomendation even knowing that it would probably put him back on insulin again. He was in such bad shape that we had to do something, anything, to make him feel better again. The good news is that he is MUCH better already!
So Sam got his first dose of prednisolone Friday evening and has been receving the reccomended dosage for 3 days now. His BG was 79 last week before the vet visit. I haven't figured out how to access the spreadsheet we used to keep, but the test results are drifting up with a 197 this morning. In another few days, if he crosses the renal threshold the vet will probably put him back on insulin.
Now for my big question: Vetsulin or something newer and better??? I have 8 little unopened bottles of Vetsulin, left from when he was last on insulin 18 months ago, They have been in my frig all this time because I bought a box of 10 little bottles and could not bring myself to throw them away. The last two times, Sammy has become diet controlled in 2-3 months each time. Do I need to invest in new insulin? If the answer to that question is yes, which one comes most highly reccomended? Sammy is a micro-dose kitty. It doesn't take much to get his BG back to normal again. His last dosage was .2 u last time.
I appreciate everyone's suggestions. Please let me know what you think!
I am back because Sammy has been having some stomach problems and has lost a lot of weight. A new vet (regular one on vacation) reccomended some blood work for a specialized intestinal panel. The results came back last Friday and 3 of 4 values are abnormal. The vet said that it was most likely a lower intestines inflamation. I don't have the actual tests results in my hand yet, but the new vet reccomended prednisolone 5 mg BID for 2 weeks, and then a pattern of reducing the dose every 2 weeks until Sammy is back off the steroids. He did this and I accepted and followed the reccomendation even knowing that it would probably put him back on insulin again. He was in such bad shape that we had to do something, anything, to make him feel better again. The good news is that he is MUCH better already!
So Sam got his first dose of prednisolone Friday evening and has been receving the reccomended dosage for 3 days now. His BG was 79 last week before the vet visit. I haven't figured out how to access the spreadsheet we used to keep, but the test results are drifting up with a 197 this morning. In another few days, if he crosses the renal threshold the vet will probably put him back on insulin.
Now for my big question: Vetsulin or something newer and better??? I have 8 little unopened bottles of Vetsulin, left from when he was last on insulin 18 months ago, They have been in my frig all this time because I bought a box of 10 little bottles and could not bring myself to throw them away. The last two times, Sammy has become diet controlled in 2-3 months each time. Do I need to invest in new insulin? If the answer to that question is yes, which one comes most highly reccomended? Sammy is a micro-dose kitty. It doesn't take much to get his BG back to normal again. His last dosage was .2 u last time.
I appreciate everyone's suggestions. Please let me know what you think!