I have an 8 year old 18lb cat namend Buggy. He was diagnosed w/ having asthma ( Which turned out to be a MISDIAGNOSIS!!!!) so the internal specialist put him on course of steriods in OCT. By DEC 4th I knew something was wrong- he had weak legs, rough coat, NO APPETITE & NO EXCESSIVE WATER INTAKE. Weird I know. Diagnosed w/ diabetes BG in 300's. Put on 1 unit 2x a day on Lantus Dec 4th. By Dec 15 he was upped to 3 units twice a day- (my vet didn't do the 1 week 1/2 increment dosing protocol).. By DEC 27 BG was 94 so he went OTJ.. A week later it was in the 60's!! I also had free fed him the crappy Hill's dry c/d food ( b/c he went on a hunger strike & that's all he would eat) & a tiny bit of canned wellness AM & PM during since diagnosis. I checked BG Jan 18- it was 127. By Feb 5, he was drinking excessively & BGit was in the 500's & soback on the Lantus!!!! So I educated myself & found this FABULOUS board & have been doing all the recommendations here- read evry article. . Switched him to pretty much all wet Weruva & Merrick- he does snack a bit on Orijen dry. I home test up to 4x a day. I switched vets because many strongly disagree how he upped insulin so fast & for other reasons. So since Feb 5, until now, he has been upped 1/2 unit at a time. He is now at 3.5 units twice a day because his BG remains in the high 400's to low 500's. At the 2.5 dosage I actually got a reading as low as 274 but the next day it went to 583!!! At the 3.0 dosage it got to 375 during nadir at times but pre shot was always in the 400's. This week he went to 3.5 & his pre shot BG's are in the 500's!! AND HE's ONLY EATING HIS WET FOOD this week- he seems to have less of an appetite. I have tried to find a coorelation towards food, feeding times, free feeding, only wet food, new lantus vials, etc but I CANNOT FIND ANY RYHME OR REASON why his numbers are all over the place!! Some days he's happy, some days he's miserable. Sometimes it seems the less he eats, the higher his numbers go up. I'm wondering if I should just go back to how he first went into remission by feeding him junky food whenever he wanted & upping the dosage every few days as needed... He DOES NOT DRINK EXCESSIVELY & he has stayed steady at 18 lbs for over a month. I also give him 1/2 Pepcid 2x a day for heartburn. I'm so at the point of tears.
Here's his timeline:
DIABETES HISTORY:
OCT 10 prescribed prednisolone & Flovent inhaler for "asthma"
DEC 4- Limping in rear leg, poor hair coat, grumpy, NOT eating or drinking, tests showed BG in high 300's, Fructosamine performed
started LANTUS INSULIN @ 1 unit 2x daily
DEC 11- 2 units 2x daily
DEC 15- 3 units 2x daily
DEC 29- STOPPED INSULIN= BG was 94, few days later BG 60's
JAN 18- BG =127
JAN 24- (approx) he started drinking /peeing a lot but happy & social
FEB 5- BG= 520
1 unit insulin 2x daily
Discontinued Flovent inhaler entirely- been sorta weaning off since Dec anyways
Vet would check his lungs during BG curves & said his lungs were OK for him
FEB 9- BG curve around 320 (or high 400's I forget)
2 units 2x daily
FEB 11- Bloodwork & Urine.. 17 lbs
FEB 21- BG high 400's
FEB 23- back to 1 unit 2 x daily
March 8- New Lantus vial
March 17- Up to 1.5 units 2x daily- blood test shows liver enzymes slightly elevated..
March 25-2.0 units 2 x daily... BG 400's
Apr
Apr 52.5 units 2.5x daily.... BG 400's
Apr 10 - got an evening Pre shot reading of 267!! :razz: Apr 11- AM BG 583
Apr 12- 3 units 2x NEW LANTUS VIAL.... Was happy all week... BG 400's
Apr 19 Upped to 3.5 units 2 x daily -- BG in 500's now- not eating as much, maintained 18lb weight, poor hair coat, has not drank excessively in over a month, sad looking
Here's his timeline:
DIABETES HISTORY:
OCT 10 prescribed prednisolone & Flovent inhaler for "asthma"
DEC 4- Limping in rear leg, poor hair coat, grumpy, NOT eating or drinking, tests showed BG in high 300's, Fructosamine performed
started LANTUS INSULIN @ 1 unit 2x daily
DEC 11- 2 units 2x daily
DEC 15- 3 units 2x daily
DEC 29- STOPPED INSULIN= BG was 94, few days later BG 60's
JAN 18- BG =127
JAN 24- (approx) he started drinking /peeing a lot but happy & social
FEB 5- BG= 520
1 unit insulin 2x daily
Discontinued Flovent inhaler entirely- been sorta weaning off since Dec anyways
Vet would check his lungs during BG curves & said his lungs were OK for him
FEB 9- BG curve around 320 (or high 400's I forget)
2 units 2x daily
FEB 11- Bloodwork & Urine.. 17 lbs
FEB 21- BG high 400's
FEB 23- back to 1 unit 2 x daily
March 8- New Lantus vial
March 17- Up to 1.5 units 2x daily- blood test shows liver enzymes slightly elevated..
March 25-2.0 units 2 x daily... BG 400's
Apr
Apr 52.5 units 2.5x daily.... BG 400's
Apr 10 - got an evening Pre shot reading of 267!! :razz: Apr 11- AM BG 583
Apr 12- 3 units 2x NEW LANTUS VIAL.... Was happy all week... BG 400's
Apr 19 Upped to 3.5 units 2 x daily -- BG in 500's now- not eating as much, maintained 18lb weight, poor hair coat, has not drank excessively in over a month, sad looking