Went away less then 48 hours came home to BG 423

Status
Not open for further replies.

HillaryKitten

Member Since 2015
Last Thursday Hillary's BG was running from normal to borderline hypo so my vet adjusted her Lantus dose from 3 units twice daily to 1 unit twice daily. Thursday she only received her insulin dose (3units) in the morning because her BG was 146 at 8pm. Friday her BG =290, at 7am I gave her 1 unit. At 8:15 BG = 264. At 3:45 BG = 255. This was the last time I checked it before I left town. My pet sitter gave her 1 unit twice daily. When I came home today at 1:30 her BG =423, at 5:40 BG =462 - I fed her and gave her 1 unit. At 6:50 BG =454. Is it normal for there to be a large fluctuation in her BG? I will call my vet in the morning but it seems to me that her dose may need to be adjusted up to 2 units.
 
It takes Lantus 3-5 days on the same dose to stabilize. You don't determine it is too little until then, and you must also have mid-cycle tests at that time to show how low it is going.
 
Thank you. I will keep checking her BG and see how it does for a few more days. Interesting, I just checked her at 9:45pm (+4 insulin shot) BG =183
 
Last edited:
Trish, we don't ever do dose increases in whole units, so I'd really urge you not to go from 1U to 2U

We do dose adjustments in .25 unit increments because even a drop of insulin too much can lead to a hypoglycemic crisis so we go up very slowly, then hold that dose for several days to see how they do before considering another adjustment

Too much insulin can look like too little, so it's important to increase very slowly so you don't bypass what might be a "perfect" dose for Hillary.

With Lantus, it takes at least 3 days to see how each increase is going to work.

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not how high the Pre-shot tests are so it's important to test somewhere mid-cycle to see what Hillary's blood glucose is doing
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top