Well it seems Vengeance and I are back after 5 years and 2 months in remission and things are.....UPDATED

Ummlee and Vengeance

Member Since 2020
Hello all well its been 5 years and 2 months since yall helped me get Vengeance in remission after only being diagnosed thou he almost died last time because his kidneys had shut down... this time no issues with kidneys vet said everything except him coming out of remission suddenly is great for almost 13... thou year and a half ago he had pancreatitis but that didnt bring him out of remission oddly... so this all started on march 10th he had been acting like his broken fang was bothering him off and on so I was going to make an appointment to check on that... he had been acting normally no signs of anything else... so I have gotten lazy about checking his BG being hes been in remission for 5 years and when I do take it its 88-97 on the Relion ..its been since around January when I checked him last and it was 94 .....so no reason to check but around 3 am something told me to just check and I did and his BG was 384 scared the crap out of me.... so I stayed up all night till my vet opened was there when the doors opened to say FIND OUT WHATS WRONG ( sadly in the last few months I have lost 4 cats non diabetics and 1 on feb25th) so I was upset... took him in they did blood work and said #1 that they had to sedate him to get him cooperate lol that his BG numbers were 400( something I need to get the blood work trying to get it thru patient portal... they did a frutosamine to check being I was wondering if he had an abscess in his tooth causing the #'s up and they said no no infection ....but they gave him an anitbiotic shot anyways.....and said his fructosamine was like 400's so they said he had came out of remission ... and like last time handed me syringes and insulin and sent me on my way told me dont BG test him blah blah like last time.. this times hes on Prozinc they started him out on 2 units twice a day... ... I am going to have to remember how to upload speadsheet info its been a while.. but his numbers are staying in the 300's at shot time thou once it was 117 3rd day back on insulin... his curve at 6 hrs really doesnt drop much I did a curve the first night he was back on it and it was crazy town... I do check him right now with a new relion premier Blu I check him at 7am 7pm at food time and I also do a 1am ( being Im up so I can see if the drop is there and its usually NOT????) he has only lost 1/2 a lb in almost 2 years which I did change up his feed schedule last summer I had still been feeding him 4 small meals a day and it was killing me so I finally got him to agree to 2 large meals twice a day ( fancy feast pate or friskies pate ) I had to order an acutrack 3 being my vet said she will accept no numbers from anything else...being she wants me to a a blood curve at 10 days... so waiting for that to show up... I appreciated all your help last time and will now as well I would love to get him back into remission and back stable....as with all of your fur babues hes my child... ..now to try and figure out the spreadsheet again.. thanks in advance for all your help its very much appreciated...
 
Can you have a veterinary dental specialist check on that broken fang?
When J.D. was 18 (diabetic then for 7 years), he had a broken fang, and my regular vet would not do a dental, so I hauled him to a specialist who removed that canine and said it was majorly infected.
 
Can you have a veterinary dental specialist check on that broken fang?
When J.D. was 18 (diabetic then for 7 years), he had a broken fang, and my regular vet would not do a dental, so I hauled him to a specialist who removed that canine and said it was majorly infected.
its not that they dont do removals they just seem to not think its a problem....I dunno and Im in small town south Ga we have 2 vets here the next nearest vet et is over an hour away.. its his bottom canine
 
Hello all well its been 5 years and 2 months since yall helped me get Vengeance in remission after only being diagnosed thou he almost died last time because his kidneys had shut down... this time no issues with kidneys vet said everything except him coming out of remission suddenly is great for almost 13... thou year and a half ago he had pancreatitis but that didnt bring him out of remission oddly... so this all started on march 10th he had been acting like his broken fang was bothering him off and on so I was going to make an appointment to check on that... he had been acting normally no signs of anything else... so I have gotten lazy about checking his BG being hes been in remission for 5 years and when I do take it its 88-97 on the Relion ..its been since around January when I checked him last and it was 94 .....so no reason to check but around 3 am something told me to just check and I did and his BG was 384 scared the crap out of me.... so I stayed up all night till my vet opened was there when the doors opened to say FIND OUT WHATS WRONG ( sadly in the last few months I have lost 4 cats non diabetics and 1 on feb25th) so I was upset... took him in they did blood work and said #1 that they had to sedate him to get him cooperate lol that his BG numbers were 400( something I need to get the blood work trying to get it thru patient portal... they did a frutosamine to check being I was wondering if he had an abscess in his tooth causing the #'s up and they said no no infection ....but they gave him an anitbiotic shot anyways.....and said his fructosamine was like 400's so they said he had came out of remission ... and like last time handed me syringes and insulin and sent me on my way told me dont BG test him blah blah like last time.. this times hes on Prozinc they started him out on 2 units twice a day... ... I am going to have to remember how to upload speadsheet info its been a while.. but his numbers are staying in the 300's at shot time thou once it was 117 3rd day back on insulin... his curve at 6 hrs really doesnt drop much I did a curve the first night he was back on it and it was crazy town... I do check him right now with a new relion premier Blu I check him at 7am 7pm at food time and I also do a 1am ( being Im up so I can see if the drop is there and its usually NOT????) he has only lost 1/2 a lb in almost 2 years which I did change up his feed schedule last summer I had still been feeding him 4 small meals a day and it was killing me so I finally got him to agree to 2 large meals twice a day ( fancy feast pate or friskies pate ) I had to order an acutrack 3 being my vet said she will accept no numbers from anything else...being she wants me to a a blood curve at 10 days... so waiting for that to show up... I appreciated all your help last time and will now as well I would love to get him back into remission and back stable....as with all of your fur babues hes my child... ..now to try and figure out the spreadnsheet again.. thanks in advance for all your help its very much appreciated...
Welcome back to FDMB
sorry to hear the Vengeance is back, being in a small town and a vet 1 hour away, you know that cats are very sensitive to stress, so the glucose level taken there is not so realistic, too bad your vet only wants the AlphaTrak, the strips are quite expensive, and the ReliOn human monitor is just as accurate, you don't have to take Vengeance to the vet for a curve, you and do that at home and save him stress, is just testing every 2-3 hours for 12 hours for1 cycle (12 hours) at the vet the glucose levels will not be accurate do to stress causing for an unnecessary dose increase and money, if the vet send antibiotic because of a tooth abscess, there has to be an infection, that may be a reason for such a high BG.
It does takes about 2-3 cycles for the insulin to actually begin to see a difference in the BG's, also two meals a day is not a good idea no matter how big they are, you need to feed at lease 3-4 small meals or snacks during the day to keep the insulin in check, especially 2 hours after ProZinc kicks in, Corky uses ProZinc, if you work during the day or you are too busy during the day you can get a wet food feeder, humans that have diabetes, they need to eat several small smalls or snacks during the day as well, is important as the insulin is absorbed in the body. same concept for cats. I will tag a member that can give more input on ProZinc and dosing, The great thing unfortunately you already are familiar with Vengeance having diabetes, and what to feed as well is important 🤗 below is the link for the SS, if you need help creating it let us know we can do it for you
@Suzanne & Darcy
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
its not that they dont do removals they just seem to not think its a problem....I dunno and Im in small town south Ga we have 2 vets here the next nearest vet et is over an hour away.. its his bottom canine
J.D. was diagnosed at 11 years old. I kept asking my regular vet if he needed a dental and he kept saying "not at this time". Finally, when J.D. was 14, my regular vet did a dental and removed 8 teeth. When he was a few years older I kept asking my regular vet if he needed and dental, and he started by saying the same thing, and then kept saying "No". I think he didn't feel comfortable doing the dental. So, I just made an appointment at the big hospital (over an hours drive for me too). I scheduled an appointment at 8:00am with the cardiologist to make sure his heart was okay for anesthesia, and an 8:30am appointment with the dedicated anesthesiaologist (sp) to make sure she know about his diabetes and kidney disease, and a 9:00am appointment to talk to the veterinary dental specialist. I was so worried about telling my regular vet afterwards, that I had "taken matters into my own hands" and had it done. I was worried that my regular vet "knew better". But at the big hospital with all the specialists, I felt like he was in good hands, and they did xrays before and after, and he had another 8 teeth remvoved including that badly infected broken canine tooth.
Just my experience.
 
J.D. was diagnosed at 11 years old. I kept asking my regular vet if he needed a dental and he kept saying "not at this time". Finally, when J.D. was 14, my regular vet did a dental and removed 8 teeth. When he was a few years older I kept asking my regular vet if he needed and dental, and he started by saying the same thing, and then kept saying "No". I think he didn't feel comfortable doing the dental. So, I just made an appointment at the big hospital (over an hours drive for me too). I scheduled an appointment at 8:00am with the cardiologist to make sure his heart was okay for anesthesia, and an 8:30am appointment with the dedicated anesthesiaologist (sp) to make sure she know about his diabetes and kidney disease, and a 9:00am appointment to talk to the veterinary dental specialist. I was so worried about telling my regular vet afterwards, that I had "taken matters into my own hands" and had it done. I was worried that my regular vet "knew better". But at the big hospital with all the specialists, I felt like he was in good hands, and they did xrays before and after, and he had another 8 teeth remvoved including that badly infected broken canine tooth.
Just my experience.
@Dyana
I have a question Corky is getting his first dental cleaning on April 8th, I am really scared , he had his yearly exam yesterday and the vet said his blood work is absolutely perfect, he has been tightly regulated for almost 2 years, how is the experience after you brought him home?, did the anesthesiologist tell you he can or cannot eat before cleaning he's appointment is at 9:00 AM, any input to my nerves at rest would be very munch appreciated 😟 ;)
 
No food the morning of any surgery or procedure that requires anesthesia. Most vets will say no food after 9pm or so the night before. Water is never restricted. A half dose of insulin or whatever the vet recommends can be given the morning of.

Many regular vets aren't familiar with dental procedures or even basic dental health. There are vets who specialize in dentistry and even some who are board certified.

Find a Veterinary Dental Specialist – AVDC.org
 
OK so here are the blood test results from the other day ... and to clarify MY vet isnt and hour away they are in town I was saying any dental specialists would be more than an hour away... also he free grazes the wet food all day and night I put out a whole can every 12 hrs and he eats about half at meal then comes back to it on his on during the day and night.. ( new can every 12 hrs and) I have updated the spreadsheet .... thanks
 

Attachments

  • venge first page.JPG
    venge first page.JPG
    78.2 KB · Views: 45
  • VENGENCE_MedicalRecord-6.png
    VENGENCE_MedicalRecord-6.png
    243 KB · Views: 48
  • VENGENCE_MedicalRecord-7.png
    VENGENCE_MedicalRecord-7.png
    203 KB · Views: 40
@Dyana
I have a question Corky is getting his first dental cleaning on April 8th, I am really scared , he had his yearly exam yesterday and the vet said his blood work is absolutely perfect, he has been tightly regulated for almost 2 years, how is the experience after you brought him home?, did the anesthesiologist tell you he can or cannot eat before cleaning he's appointment is at 9:00 AM, any input to my nerves at rest would be very munch appreciated 😟 ;)
I just had a dental done on one of my cats. He had two teeth extracted and did need to be on antibiotics for ten days after. But he was fine and wanted to eat his dinner the same evening we brought him home.
 
I would hold this dose for now, but it’s important that you can get a few more tests in. Is that possible? There are no daytime tests at all during the mid cycle. We only have half a picture. It appears he is getting some decent blues at times, but then is bouncing.

With regard to the meters, I would use my ReliOn and just do curves for the vet, when required, using the Alpha Trak meter.
 
I have a question Corky is getting his first dental cleaning on April 8th, I am really scared , he had his yearly exam yesterday and the vet said his blood work is absolutely perfect, he has been tightly regulated for almost 2 years, how is the experience after you brought him home?, did the anesthesiologist tell you he can or cannot eat before cleaning he's appointment is at 9:00 AM, any input to my nerves at rest would be very munch appreciated
If you look at J.D.'s spreadsheet on 04/09/2009 and at 01/21/2013 and scroll up and down a few days, you'll see my notes. It was so long ago, I barely remember.

I have no notes on Jackson's dental a few years ago, as he was not diabetic then.
 
I would hold this dose for now, but it’s important that you can get a few more tests in. Is that possible? There are no daytime tests at all during the mid cycle. We only have half a picture. It appears he is getting some decent blues at times, but then is bouncing.

With regard to the meters, I would use my ReliOn and just do curves for the vet, when required, using the Alpha Trak meter.
I updated with a few day time checks... he doesnt seem to be going down much and hes been on the insulin 12 days now... I wish I had my old spreadsheet he was halfway to remission by now... ok found it here are his #'s from 5 years ago and he was in way way worse health due to kidney failure and etc then... very strange he had very low #'s https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...JnIkjyGfHueE/edit?gid=361360320#gid=361360320
 
It looks like he has pancreatitis. Did the vet mention this? Does he eat well? How is his weight? Any vomiting? Lethargy?
no she didnt mention it at all and I asked... he had it like 2.5 years ago... so I wonder if thats what has him out of remission now... he eats like a machine no weight loss except half a pound over the last 2 years I think... not lethargic and he sorta throws up but I cant rely on that being he has pica and he also uses that as a trick to get more food and has all his life he will go lick up anything he can find to make himself throw up so that I will feed him between feeding times.. soon as I do no more throwing up and its usually clear liquid with whatever fur or etc hes found to lick up so I see it better... what in the blood work makes you think he has pancreatitis ... hes acting nothing like he did when he had the pancreatitis he had bad diarrhea no appetitie and actually throwing up all the time and just laid around ...his "trick" he only does when he wants more food occasionally...

thanks so much
will look over in other post
 
The Precision PSL (pancreatic specific Lipase)is quite elevated. That’s considered to be a very reliable test for pancreatitis.
 
Back
Top