Weird readings

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reneemwriter

Member Since 2013
My Relion Confirm meter is only 2- weeks old, but I get weird readings. A few days ago, I got a 34 with VanGogh. I got regular readngs after that & a normal reading today AMPS. At +3, I got a 32, then a 34. Got a 129 for myself. VG is acting fine! This is my 2nd meter. . .couldn't get large enuff blood sample withr Relion Prime. Making me very nervous! Advice?
 
If you got that this morning, test him again. Give him 1-2 teaspoons of high carb food. Although you don't see any symptoms, he could be dangerously low.

With test numbers like that, I would act as if the cat was nearing a hypo situation and start feeding. I'd rather be wrong about that and elevate the glucose unnecessarily, than assume everything was OK because I tested OK and do nothing.

Read and print out How to Handle a Hypo

Whenever you get a wonky test, retest. Make sure your hands are clean and dry. Make sure the test strips haven't expired or been sitting out too long, amd have been stored in a dry place (moisture deteriorates them).

The FDA allows meters to read within 20% of what a lab would get. So take your test numbers and add and subtract 20% (or multiply the number by 0.8 and 1.2 - you'll get the same thing.) If h\the ranges for 2 tests, taken at the same time, on the same blood drop overlap, they may be considered the same.

0.8 * 32 = 25.6
1.2 * 32 = 38.4
0.8 * 34 = 27.2

1.2 * 34 = 40.8

The 38.4 is higher than the 27.2, so the ranges overlap and the values may be considered the same.
Also, human glucometers are normed for human blood, so the results will be somewhat different for the cat.
 
I would assume the meter is right. Which means he seriously needs a dose decrease. I would reduce him to 0.25. ( see how:http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc288/jillsphotos2/Lantus Group/025unit-1.jpg)

See how that does for a few days. If he drops below 50 again, then try 0.1. after that. I can give picture of how that looks at that time.

Can you update your SS for when you got those numbers? whenever you see low number, retest and test yourself too. If the cat is low (under 40) and you are not,he needs a drop of syrup and another test in 30 minutes. See BJs link on treating a hypo.

Let us know how it goes.

Wendy
 
Ran home as soon as I could (+9) & got a reading of 94. Will check again when I'm in for the night around 6 pm. I had readings like that last week, too. (Just once) & he always seems okay but it does scare me. He's usually a super picky eater, but he has been eating/asking for more food lately. Does that indicate anything?
 
Yes asking for more food can be a sign of them dropping too low. My Autumn never shows any outward signs of hypo even when she tested 18 the only thing she does is come asking for food. They know when they are going low and need to eat to bring themselves back up.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
I see you gave 0.5 again...??? Please reduce to 0.25 before He has a hypo. Also can you get another test tonite? I am worried he will drop low again. He looks like he might be heading to remission and we have to be very very careful..
 
I got a reading of 75 this morning for VanGogh & he gets dosed around 7:30. Planning on a "Skinny" 1/2 unit? Will watch board in case anyone is up for advice before I shoot. Thank you!!!!!
 
My phone won't load your spreadsheet.

What is the lowest you've ever shot?
Will you be home to monitor?

What is the regular dose?
 
We started off with 1 unit of Lantus, & on 10/19 went down to 1/2 unit (twice a day) as numbers were mostly in low 100's from 95-118 (with 0ne 162 at +7 on 10/20)
On 10/24 AMPS was 116 & at +3 I got a 34. He had received 1/2 unit after AMPS.
At +9 that day he was 98 & at PMPS he was 120.
This morning AMPS he was 75 & I gave him 1/2 unit - 1 drop. At +6 he was 63.

He never showed any symptoms of being Hypo 'cept for maybe being a little hungrier & he IS a picky eater! I got home a little late tonite (tho I raced home at +6 to test & got the 63.) Haven't tested him since. I'm thinking if he's 100 or below, we'll skip tonight's dose. At this point, we've never skipped a dose. Not sure if I should be happy or concerned!? lol!
 
If he goes up over 200 mg/dL, no more than 0.25 units - you'd have to eyeball it as syringes don't measure that precisely.
 
Just did a +3 test after Pm dose & got 74. He definitely is eating more which is unusual for him as he is a picky eater. But he's also still about #6-#8 underweight. Does weight loss/gain affect the dosage by much?
 
Weight, food intake, and insulin interact with each other.

You base a starting dose on a cat's lean weight because insulin allows the muscle tissue (lean weight) to use glucose. More muscle tissue with enough insulin allows more activity.

A slightly higher insulin dose than necessary usually provokes appetite increase. Dusty ate ravenously on 1.5ish units which was a bit too high for him - I tested him at a 31 on a One Touch Ultra whem I visted him and Jo after 2 weeks. He always had food available, including some Evo Cat And Kitten dry. She never saw him hypo, but she was lucky. He ate voraciously. If giving insulin gives the pancreas a break to heal, it certainly had ample opportunity during that perios!

Dusty also was emaciated when his diabetes care started - 5 pounds for a 9 pound cat. So that caused some of the hunger, too.

Without the insulin, he couldn't use the glucose and had burned off most of his fat and some muscle. He gained the first couple of pounds back rapidly, then the weight gain slowed down. That might have beed partially due to cutting back the dose to under 1ish (she doesn't see well) .

With the rest for his pancreas and the impetous to eat, he did pretty well regaining his muscle back.
 
Thanx for all your advice & input. ladies! VG tested at 53 at +7 today, so I'm curious wheat he'll be in a few hours. I'd LOVE to test him now, but he seems to have a new hiding place! I don't think he's hiding cause of shots, etc. . .now that he's starting to feel like a cat, he has much exploring to catch up on!
 
I am thinking you might want to try 0.25 from now on if he stays over 130. 0.5 looks like too much and I don't think he is ready for OTJ yet.
Wendy
 
Thanks, Wendy! I was thinking the same as I don't really want to skip doses at this point. He was 97 at +2 just now & I gave him some Friskies Prime Filets ( MC?). He INHALED it! . . .and is now happily cleaning himself. . .quite proud of himself, I think! :)
 
Yep the frisks prime fillets are MC. However next time that happens, get another check in an hour because the food can wear off and they come back down. You want two tests in a row that are rising.

Let see how 0.25 is. If he drops below 50, then try 0.1.

Wendy
 
Thanx Wendy. I had fully intended to do another reading 1 hr later last night, but due to 2 physically exhausting days, I fell asleep on The Couch to wake up at 1:00 am. My eyes were burning, so I went to bed. . .my bad! Planning on Curve tomorrow, my day off. . .
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Yep the frisks prime fillets are MC. However next time that happens, get another check in an hour because the food can wear off and they come back down. You want two tests in a row that are rising.

Let see how 0.25 is. If he drops below 50, then try 0.1.

Wendy

How would you manage 0.1u?? I have enough trouble trying to accurately dose 0.25u.. sometimes I feel like I'm not getting all the air out of the syringe and am just giving him an air bubble!
 
I have crappy vision - it really helped to pick up some Carson Clip and Flip magnifiers which clipped on to my glasses. There are also magnifier visors if you don't wear glasses, hand held magnifiers, and stand magnifiers. All are available on Amazon from 1 or more vendors.
 
I use regular reading/magnifying glasses... and I have a silly hat with a light on it for the days my eyes just don't want to cooperate
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top