Thanks, Alexi, yes have had to try 0.75 Caninsulin under vet guidance due to some low numbers and her tendency for big drops in addition to her marked reaction (wobbling, lethargy etc) at higher doses. Have just done her PMPS and it's 23.9! After a higher reading at +6. Doesn't seem (to us) to be much of a pattern. She was tested by vet for ketones on Thurs (neg). We now have strips so will test too. Will need to come back to you re exact calories but she has been having 200g of very low carb. Although she is hungry she does not always clear her bowl without encouragement so probably will struggle to get her to have more than 225g daily we suspect.She is losing weight as she is unable to use her food effectively so she needs the insulin to drive the glucose into her cells and out of the blood. I note she is still in high numbers and you have reduced her dose to 0.75 units, you need to get her out of those black pre shot numbers as soon as possible as she is at risk of developing ketones if she continues to run such high numbers and is losing weight as well. You need to be feeding additional calories over and above her normal at this stage and follow the sugars with the insulin, as she becomes better regulated the numbers will come down, her weight will go up and she will start to feel a lot better - how many calories has she been getting per day? Are you checking her urine for ketones?
She is losing weight as she is unable to use her food effectively so she needs the insulin to drive the glucose into her cells and out of the blood.
Thanks, Alexi, not sure of Lila's ideal weight. But don't think she is too far from ideal in weight or body condition thankfully at the moment, just need to increase a little & maintain. Will check with vet too at next appointment. At present she has a good appetite and managing the slight increase in quantity. No ketones and some slightly better numbers mid cycle at least.Do you know how much Lila should weigh? A 4kg cat needs about 190 cal per day to maintain weight, a little more to gain and a little less to lose weight. Unregulated diabetic cats need more but gradually increasing the food and insulin with regular weighing should give an indication of how she is doing, don't try to get the weight on too quickly.
Body condition is important, if you can feel the ribs, pelvis and backbone she is underweight, particularly if you can feel the pelvis. Here is a body condition score to guide you, you should be trying to get her to a 5 but it does take time! Take it slow and steady. http://www.wsava.org/sites/default/files/Body condition score chart cats.pdf