? Weight loss very concerned... should I change food???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poopers and Catia

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone!!
I've been noticing Poopers weight and he feels a bit too skinny, he's at 9 pounds (around 4.08kg). We feed him 1 can per serving sometimes 1.5 cans of the Fancy Feast Pate wet food.
What advice do you give to try to get him a bit more weight... I know his numbers are very inconsistent but its because he's VERY sneaky and will grab food from anywhere, counters, opens cabinet doors, garbage bins.
Should we try giving him maybe more cans or add a diabetic dry food??
please give me your advice

Thank you in advance
 
Feed him more pate. Please dint feed dry food, especially diabetic dry food. It’s super high carbs.

I know you didn’t ask but you aren’t really following TR. It requires a minimum of two tests every cycle. It looks like you are basing your dose on preshots rather than how low a dose takes your cat. That’s not how lantus works nor TR.

Poopers is bouncing a lot because you are shooting low numbers when he’s earned a decrease. Even long term diabetics earn a reduction if the bg falls into the 30’s. We strongly suggest you reduce when that happens. Also it’s not safe to shoot under 50.

I am not criticizing but rather worried about Poopers. When cats go really low they often get really hungry. Then they bounce from hitting the lows.
 
I agree. Also as far as feeding, are you feeding also smaller meals or treats throughout the day? Cats, but especially diabetic cats need more than just 2 meals a day. They can’t process the nutrients in food well so they eat but are still hungry and continue to lose weight. What’s his ideal weigh? If it’s 11 pounds for example, the rule of thumb is 20 times ideal weight so that would be 220 calories a day. 2 cans of FF are probably not enough. He def needs 3 cans a day with low carb treats added in as well.
 
Feed him more pate. Please dint feed dry food, especially diabetic dry food. It’s super high carbs.

I know you didn’t ask but you aren’t really following TR. It requires a minimum of two tests every cycle. It looks like you are basing your dose on preshots rather than how low a dose takes your cat. That’s not how lantus works nor TR.

Poopers is bouncing a lot because you are shooting low numbers when he’s earned a decrease. Even long term diabetics earn a reduction if the bg falls into the 30’s. We strongly suggest you reduce when that happens. Also it’s not safe to shoot under 50.

I am not criticizing but rather worried about Poopers. When cats go really low they often get really hungry. Then they bounce from hitting the lows.


I get somewhat confused when it comes to TR. I've tried making notes but for some reason im still not understanding it. I've read the Forum as well
 
I agree. Also as far as feeding, are you feeding also smaller meals or treats throughout the day? Cats, but especially diabetic cats need more than just 2 meals a day. They can’t process the nutrients in food well so they eat but are still hungry and continue to lose weight. What’s his ideal weigh? If it’s 11 pounds for example, the rule of thumb is 20 times ideal weight so that would be 220 calories a day. 2 cans of FF are probably not enough. He def needs 3 cans a day with low carb treats added in as well.
I will def be feeding him in the middle of the day. Thank you!
 
Feed him more pate. Please dint feed dry food, especially diabetic dry food. It’s super high carbs.

I know you didn’t ask but you aren’t really following TR. It requires a minimum of two tests every cycle. It looks like you are basing your dose on preshots rather than how low a dose takes your cat. That’s not how lantus works nor TR.

Poopers is bouncing a lot because you are shooting low numbers when he’s earned a decrease. Even long term diabetics earn a reduction if the bg falls into the 30’s. We strongly suggest you reduce when that happens. Also it’s not safe to shoot under 50.

I am not criticizing but rather worried about Poopers. When cats go really low they often get really hungry. Then they bounce from hitting the lows.
I went back to my GSHEET for May 9 i had put 0.5 but it was a mistake, we did not give him a shot i just noticed it
 
Feed him more pate. Please dint feed dry food, especially diabetic dry food. It’s super high carbs.

I know you didn’t ask but you aren’t really following TR. It requires a minimum of two tests every cycle. It looks like you are basing your dose on preshots rather than how low a dose takes your cat. That’s not how lantus works nor TR.

Poopers is bouncing a lot because you are shooting low numbers when he’s earned a decrease. Even long term diabetics earn a reduction if the bg falls into the 30’s. We strongly suggest you reduce when that happens. Also it’s not safe to shoot under 50.

I am not criticizing but rather worried about Poopers. When cats go really low they often get really hungry. Then they bounce from hitting the lows.
I think for our schedule (mine and my sisters, we alternate who gives Poopers food and insulin) SLGS might be a better fit for us
 
I have a suggestion. Start posting on the lantus forum if not every day then at least if you think you need to change the dose. Use the question mark prefix
Yes i should, I am looking at the SLGS forum and ill follow this -
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
I think for our schedule (mine and my sisters, we alternate who gives Poopers food and insulin) SLGS might be a better fit for us

That is fine. You will reduce every time you see an bg under 90. You will need to do a curve every 7 days and if possible occasionally a spot check.

The information you posted is for when cats first start SLGS. They gradually shoot any preshot over 90.
 
That is fine. You will reduce every time you see an bg under 90. You will need to do a curve every 7 days and if possible occasionally a spot check.

The information you posted is for when cats first start SLGS. They gradually shoot any preshot over 90.

Sorry if this is a "dumb" question but what do you mean by "They gradually shoot any preshot over 90."
Im trying to fully understand so i can get better
 
The only dumb question is the one not asked! We like questions. When SLGS is first used by a new owner, those guidelines are followed until data us gathered. Eventually they shoot any preshot over 90 and only give a reduced dose or skip if the bg is very low and skip if under 90 if they can’t stall without food to see if it goes up.
 
The on,y dumb question is the one not asked! We like questions. When SLGS is first used by a new owner, those guidelines are followed until data us gathered. Eventually they shoot any preshot over 90 and only give a reduced dose or skip if the bg is very low and skip if under 90 if they can’t stall without food to see if it goes up.
Ah got it! Thank you so much for your help. I will try to message on here his numbers, i really want him to gain his weight back
 
From the sticky on dosing methods:


How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
 
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
 
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
Got it! Thank you so much
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top