Weight loss in regulated cat part 4

Status
Not open for further replies.
I see. So it all depends on the phosphorus level. Let's see the result tmr and I'll find appropriate food for him. Hopefully the one he's eating now (burp) is ok.
The phosphorus in the food should be listed on the package...

When the cats phosphorous level gets to closer to 5 is when most people start using phosphorus binders.
 
The phosphorus in the food should be listed on the package...

When the cats phosphorous level gets to closer to 5 is when most people start using phosphorus binders.
I see. I just checked burp ingred list and it din say anythg abt phosphorus. But the dry food states 0.8%. Is that low enuf?
 
Hi hi
Check with u all regarding ketone test strips. Any brand will do? Cos the price range is huge. They have 10 strips for $30+ and also another brand 100 strips for the same price.
 
Hi hi
Check with u all regarding ketone test strips. Any brand will do? Cos the price range is huge. They have 10 strips for $30+ and also another brand 100 strips for the same price.
The really expensive strips are likely meant to be used in a special meter that tests for ketone in the blood. The urine ketone test strips are cheap.
 
Hi @JanetNJ
Besides phosphorus level, what other test should I ask for? Is a full blood test necessary ? Taking him in tmr.
Vets can usually get the creatnine, bun, and phosphorus in house without doing a full senior blood panel. They will still need a blood sample but not as much and is not very expensive (relatively speaking). Although if you haven't gotten a full blood panel that they send out to a lab done in awhile they may recommend it.
 
Vets can usually get the creatnine, bun, and phosphorus in house without doing a full senior blood panel. They will still need a blood sample but not as much and is not very expensive (relatively speaking). Although if you haven't gotten a full blood panel that they send out to a lab done in awhile they may recommend it.
Hi @JanetNJ
We did d renal panel test and the result is attached. He's normal for all except creatine. D vet said no need to do sub q or medication. Just a chge of diet should be ok. And supplement. What do you think?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7371.JPG
    IMG_7371.JPG
    34.4 KB · Views: 114
Hi @JanetNJ
We did d renal panel test and the result is attached. He's normal for all except creatine. D vet said no need to do sub q or medication. Just a chge of diet should be ok. And supplement. What do you think?
I think that's fine... It's early stage 2. I may go get another blood work done in 4 months to see if the levels are stable. Changing to a lower phosphorus food would help... Once it's over 5 it can start making them feel icky. Add extra water to the food for now and maybe add more bowls and fountains around to encourage drinking.
 
I think that's fine... It's early stage 2. I may go get another blood work done in 4 months to see if the levels are stable. Changing to a lower phosphorus food would help... Once it's over 5 it can start making them feel icky. Add extra water to the food for now and maybe add more bowls and fountains around to encourage drinking.
We tried royal canin dry food and he seems to be okay with it. He doesn't like the wet food though. Still prefers burp and I couldn't find the phosphorus % in the content list.
 
Might take some work but you could try to contact Burp and ask :)

Also, might want to add that to your Signature information for Jebat.
 
We tried royal canin dry food and he seems to be okay with it. He doesn't like the wet food though. Still prefers burp and I couldn't find the phosphorus % in the content list.
Royal Canin is 23% carb. You are better off with the young again which is 1% carb and the mature zero one is only 0.5 phosphorus.
 
Royal Canin is 23% carb. You are better off with the young again which is 1% carb and the mature zero one is only 0.5 phosphorus.
It's royal canin renal dry food.
Oh it's not Jebat who's having kidney problem. It's another cat. This cat is not diabetic.
 
@JanetNJ @Yong @Kris & Teasel

Hi all,
Need your advice if it's time to up the dose? Why am I not getting a nadir in the evening after pmps? It's always flat. I'm asking cos he's much quieter than last week and I think he's not feeling great. He's keeping to himself so much more the last few days. And what are the signs if he's having a UTI?
 
Actually, what I'm seeing is a possible reduction in the scale. It's giving lower PMPS and then he's bouncing for PM cycle by staying flat.

I'm sorry he is keeping to himself more and hope it's just a phase :bighug:. My big signs for UTI: peeing outside the box, somewhere to get your attention; frequent visits to the box with little or no urine output; extra preening of "that area" (keeping it G rated ;)); blood in urine.

Do you add 1-2T of warm/room temperature water to his wet food each meal?
 
Actually, what I'm seeing is a possible reduction in the scale. It's giving lower PMPS and then he's bouncing for PM cycle by staying flat.

I'm sorry he is keeping to himself more and hope it's just a phase :bighug:. My big signs for UTI: peeing outside the box, somewhere to get your attention; frequent visits to the box with little or no urine output; extra preening of "that area" (keeping it G rated ;)); blood in urine.

Do you add 1-2T of warm/room temperature water to his wet food each meal?
Hi Yong,
Thanks for your fast reply. He's drinking frequently so I don't think he needs more water in his food. He peed so many times esp yesterday and it was all outside his box which alarmed us cos he has been a good boy days prior to that and we had stopped putting him on diapers. Hopefully it's just a phase.
Oh, a reduction really? I had increased the pmps shot by 0.2u for the past 6 days as advised by Janet. So u think I should reduce it back? I'm really not reading this well :banghead:.
 
I look at his pattern over a few days / week. Kitties typically aren't big on drinking from the water bowl, of course there are some, so we add 1-2T of water to wet food just to ensure they get some extra fluids :). It has also helped come kitties who had crystal issues. What is your current scale?
 
I look at his pattern over a few days / week. Kitties typically aren't big on drinking from the water bowl, of course there are some, so we add 1-2T of water to wet food just to ensure they get some extra fluids :). It has also helped come kitties who had crystal issues. What is your current scale?
I can tell u he drinks a lot. Even before he has diabetes, he is one cat who likes to drink.
This is the scale for amps :
130 - 150 --> 0.2 Preferrably if you can monitor
150 - 175 --> 0.4
175 - 200 --> 0.6
200 - 225 --> 0.8
225 - 250 --> 0.8
250 - 300 --> 1.0
300 - 350 --> 1.0
>350 --> 1.2

And for pmps, I add 0.2u to each range.
 
Actually, what I'm seeing is a possible reduction in the scale. It's giving lower PMPS and then he's bouncing for PM cycle by staying flat.

I'm sorry he is keeping to himself more and hope it's just a phase :bighug:. My big signs for UTI: peeing outside the box, somewhere to get your attention; frequent visits to the box with little or no urine output; extra preening of "that area" (keeping it G rated ;)); blood in urine.

Do you add 1-2T of warm/room temperature water to his wet food each meal?
I think you are right. He's bouncing at nite. The am dose can stay but I shld reduce the pm dose even more. Or should I try to reduce both am n pm? Wat do u thk of this ?
30 - 150 --> 0.2 Preferrably if you can monitor
150 - 175 --> 0.4
175 - 200 --> 0.4
200 - 225 --> 0.6
225 - 250 --> 0.6
250 - 300 --> 0.8
300 - 350 --> 0.8
>350 --> 1.0

I'm open to trying for 3 days to see how it goes.
 
As long as the first range is really 130 - 150 ;). Could try using the scale for AM and PM for next 3 days and see how it goes. :cat:
Lol! Yes it's 130 - 150. Ok great let's see how he does the next few days.
We have not brought him to the vet since early April, since we hometest him. Is there a need to u think? They will just do the fructosamine test and weigh him. Then tell me he's regulated but not gaining weight so there's something else happening! I can read the vet's mind. Lol!
 
Fructosamine test is a waste of money, in my opinion :p. You could weight him at home if you have a scale. Weigh yourself a couple times for consistency, then pick up Jebat and weigh again. Subtract the difference. Maury's only been to the Vet when I suspected he might be getting a UTI (ended up being behavioural :facepalm:) and last week when I suspected pancreatitis (ended up confirmed). Essentially, he only goes if I suspect something else is not right. I manage his diabetes on my own and with the forum :D
 
Fructosamine test is a waste of money, in my opinion :p. You could weight him at home if you have a scale. Weigh yourself a couple times for consistency, then pick up Jebat and weigh again. Subtract the difference. Maury's only been to the Vet when I suspected he might be getting a UTI (ended up being behavioural :facepalm:) and last week when I suspected pancreatitis (ended up confirmed). Essentially, he only goes if I suspect something else is not right. I manage his diabetes on my own and with the forum :D
What are the signs of pancreatitis?
Yes after being on this forum, I realise fructosamine test is a waste of money. I feel at ease knowing I can ask anything I'm unsure of here on this forum and there's always someone with good advice. I also think vets don't care for your pets as much as you do. God bless whoever started this forum and for all the volunteers who tirelessly help guide us.
 
For Maury, he had 1 diarrhea overnight out of no where. His appetite decreased and I could not get him to eat any wet food, sometimes he didn't even finish his YA. He was kind of lethargic. His eyes kind of told me "Mum, I don't feel good". Of course it started over a weekend. Checked with my Prozinc buddies about his symptoms and got him to a Vet on Monday morning. There's a good article HERE about it. Unfortunately, the same symptoms can be many issues :confused: but I was able to rule a couple things out.
 
For Maury, he had 1 diarrhea overnight out of no where. His appetite decreased and I could not get him to eat any wet food, sometimes he didn't even finish his YA. He was kind of lethargic. His eyes kind of told me "Mum, I don't feel good". Of course it started over a weekend. Checked with my Prozinc buddies about his symptoms and got him to a Vet on Monday morning. There's a good article HERE about it. Unfortunately, the same symptoms can be many issues :confused: but I was able to rule a couple things out.
Thanks! At least I know what to look out for.
 
So we've been on this reduced dose for 4 days and his BG is getting higher. This is clearly insufficient insulin? I don't thk the pink I'm getting these 2 days are bounce numbers. Correct me if I'm wrong.
I'm retracing back to 2nd week of June readings and trying back those dosages. Tweaking slightly.
 
Hi Waheeda, haven't seen you post for a while, so decided to check in :). I think those pinks were bounces. That 0.8U almost gave a nice dark green. Are you thinking of trying consistent dosing? Jebat's SS looks nice with the yellows and blues :cat:
 
Hi Waheeda, haven't seen you post for a while, so decided to check in :). I think those pinks were bounces. That 0.8U almost gave a nice dark green. Are you thinking of trying consistent dosing? Jebat's SS looks nice with the yellows and blues :cat:
Hi Yong,
Thanks for thinking of me. Was going to post but I thought to wait for one more cycle before I check with you all. Last week, I increased the scale by 0.2u and decided to stick to the scale for a whole week hoping he will stabilise. And I was happy cos we din see any pink for 5 straight days. But he was always running a rather flat yellow at night. He din pee as much and din wake me up late night for food which was an improvement.
Today I increased the dose by 0.2u for amps and 0.4u for pmps. I don't see much difference for day readings and I got +3 reading for pmps without much drop. Am a bit lost as to what to do.
What do you think I shld do? Appreciate your thoughts too Janet @JanetNJ
 
Hi Yong,
Thanks for thinking of me. Was going to post but I thought to wait for one more cycle before I check with you all. Last week, I increased the scale by 0.2u and decided to stick to the scale for a whole week hoping he will stabilise. And I was happy cos we din see any pink for 5 straight days. But he was always running a rather flat yellow at night. He din pee as much and din wake me up late night for food which was an improvement.
Today I increased the dose by 0.2u for amps and 0.4u for pmps. I don't see much difference for day readings and I got +3 reading for pmps without much drop. Am a bit lost as to what to do.
What do you think I shld do? Appreciate your thoughts too Janet @JanetNJ
I'd do 1.5.
 
I'd do 1.5.
Do I use a scale or a flat dose?
This is my scale from today:
Trial 8.7.17

Am. Pm

130 - 150 ---- 0.2. 0.2
150 - 175 ------ 0.4. 0.4
175 - 200 ------ 0.8. 0.8
200 - 250 ----- 1.0. 1.2
250 - 300 ----- 1.2. 1.4
300 - 350 ----- 1.4. 1.6
> 350 ---- 1.6. 1.8
 
Do I use a scale or a flat dose?
This is my scale from today:
Trial 8.7.17

Am. Pm

130 - 150 ---- 0.2. 0.2
150 - 175 ------ 0.4. 0.4
175 - 200 ------ 0.8. 0.8
200 - 250 ----- 1.0. 1.2
250 - 300 ----- 1.2. 1.4
300 - 350 ----- 1.4. 1.6
> 350 ---- 1.6. 1.8
Over 220 I'd try 1.6. Under 170-220 1 or 1.2


Of course of you can't steer one day you could go more conservative. I can't look at it too closely right now... On vacation and running out the door. @Yong
 
Over 200 is try 1.6. Under 170-200 1 or 1.2


Of course of you can't steer one day you could go more conservative. I can't look at it too closely right now... On vacation and running out the door. @Yong
Oh sorry din know it's your vacation time. Enjoy! I'll wait for Yong' reply but will try your suggestion from tmr.
 
Didn't know you were going on vacation either, Janet! Enjoy!

I'd be curious to see how he would do with 1.4U for AM and PM as long as he's above 200 :bookworm:
 
Didn't know you were going on vacation either, Janet! Enjoy!

I'd be curious to see how he would do with 1.4U for AM and PM as long as he's above 200 :bookworm:
Ok let's try 1.6u for >220 and 1.2 for 170-220. If too high, I'll adjust down to 1.4. Wish us luck!
Does Maury poop a lot? Stinky?
 
Ok let's try 1.6u for >220 and 1.2 for 170-220. If too high, I'll adjust down to 1.4. Wish us luck!
Does Maury poop a lot? Stinky?
He had a little diarrhea for a day or two, which was very stinky but it was my fault :oops:. He usually poops once a day, they're normal stinky? lol. When I first got him on YA they were very stinky :p but that settled down too.

Good luck!:cat:
 
He had a little diarrhea for a day or two, which was very stinky but it was my fault :oops:. He usually poops once a day, they're normal stinky? lol. When I first got him on YA they were very stinky :p but that settled down too.

Good luck!:cat:
I guess it's the YA that's causing the stink. And poop is black ? When do you notice Maury to start gaining weight? Jebat seems to be stuck at 4.6kg. I thought with his BG hovering around 100-300, it's quite controlled and he should be putting on some weight.
 
He had a little diarrhea for a day or two, which was very stinky but it was my fault :oops:. He usually poops once a day, they're normal stinky? lol. When I first got him on YA they were very stinky :p but that settled down too.

Good luck!:cat:
Not really charcoal black but more very dark brown.
 
Didn't know you were going on vacation either, Janet! Enjoy!

I'd be curious to see how he would do with 1.4U for AM and PM as long as he's above 200 :bookworm:
Just for a couple of days. We are here meeting with 10 of my son's half siblings. We met 2 of them previously, but it's the first time meeting most of the others. :). We are having a good time.
 
By month 4 he had gained almost 2 lbs (little less than 1kg). Last 2 months he gained about 0.5kg. When we started he had dropped down to about Jebat's weight and now he's at 6kg. Hoping to keep him around that weight. :). Don't know if the very dark brown poo is from YA, his are I guess normal poo colour. FDMB, the place whwere it's ok to talk about Poo!:p:rolleyes::smuggrin:
 
Hi @Yong @JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel and everybody else on the board

After the new dose as advised by Janet, he's showing some blues in the evening! We have gone thru 7 cycles and I will hold this till fri when I can monitor on a new dose. I'm thinking to increase by 0.4u. To push the blues lower. And hopefully see lesser yellows. Do you think it's too much? I feel going up by 0.2u may not be enough.
Another thing that's worrying me is his weight. Why isn't he putting on when his BG looks quite good? He's eating at least 4 cans a day on burp or FF and today he's asking more. He grazes on YA tho I noticed some days he hardly touch it and some days he ate a bit more. His drinking and peeing has improved tremendously. He's grooming himself more and purring. So why isn't he putting on? I really don't want to see the vet about this. I'm bringing in another cat Girl for a blood test recheck cos her ALT was a bit high 3 mths ago. I'm so stressed if she's also sick.
 
I think it's safer to stick with small increase. What weight did you want to see Jebat? How many calories are in burp? I am usually not on right now but wanted to test my boy again. Is he losing weight? You've got some really good signs going :)
 
I think it's safer to stick with small increase. What weight did you want to see Jebat? How many calories are in burp? I am usually not on right now but wanted to test my boy again. Is he losing weight? You've got some really good signs going :)
I was surprised to see your reply :). He was 4.9kg a week before my trip in April. When I came back from my 11 day trip, he was 4.45kg. I wasn't home testing then and his BG was above 300's. I've been weighing him since 3 wks ago and he's stuck at 4.6kg. He used to eat 7-8 cans a day back then but now he's happy with 4. This burp food doesn't indicate caloric content! I called the pet shop and they had no answers for me, even the phosphorus %. The food is manufactured in Thailand as most local brands are. There's no website address or phone number to call. I want him to be 5kg cos right now I can feel his spine. He needs to put on a bit more. He's a tall cat.
Ok so I'll increase by 0.2u and monitor a few days.
 
I was surprised to see your reply :). He was 4.9kg a week before my trip in April. When I came back from my 11 day trip, he was 4.45kg. I wasn't home testing then and his BG was above 300's. I've been weighing him since 3 wks ago and he's stuck at 4.6kg. He used to eat 7-8 cans a day back then but now he's happy with 4. This burp food doesn't indicate caloric content! I called the pet shop and they had no answers for me, even the phosphorus %. The food is manufactured in Thailand as most local brands are. There's no website address or phone number to call. I want him to be 5kg cos right now I can feel his spine. He needs to put on a bit more. He's a tall cat.
Ok so I'll increase by 0.2u and monitor a few days.
If he's gotta gain weight and is asking for food I say just give him what he wants, ya know. I think going up 0.4 would be fine as long as you can monitor, but if you feel safer to do 0.2 than so that first for a day or two and see what happens. Glad the numbers look better.
 
If he's gotta gain weight and is asking for food I say just give him what he wants, ya know. I think going up 0.4 would be fine as long as you can monitor, but if you feel safer to do 0.2 than so that first for a day or two and see what happens. Glad the numbers look better.
Just when I was happy with his numbers, he gave me a pink at pmps! It's a bounce? Don't understand why cos he wasn't going low in the day. Oh well, just one of those days.
I think burp has low caloric content cos my other cat lost a bit of weight. I'll just keep giving whenever he asks. Pray hard he'll gain some.
Do you know anyone whose cat has liver problem? My Girl's ALT value has increased since 3 mths ago. Vet hopes it's just scarring cos of age and put her on supplements for a month and retest and ultrasound if need be. Im looking for any forum to hear other people's experience with this. I'm totally swamped - 4 cats with 4 different medical issues. :(
 
Just when I was happy with his numbers, he gave me a pink at pmps! It's a bounce? Don't understand why cos he wasn't going low in the day. Oh well, just one of those days.
I think burp has low caloric content cos my other cat lost a bit of weight. I'll just keep giving whenever he asks. Pray hard he'll gain some.
Do you know anyone whose cat has liver problem? My Girl's ALT value has increased since 3 mths ago. Vet hopes it's just scarring cos of age and put her on supplements for a month and retest and ultrasound if need be. Im looking for any forum to hear other people's experience with this. I'm totally swamped - 4 cats with 4 different medical issues. :(
It doesn't look like a bounce to me.... Just a fluctuation to drive you crazy.

I never had liver issues but someone in here I'm sure has. Maybe start a new thread about it and see what people say.
 
It doesn't look like a bounce to me.... Just a fluctuation to drive you crazy.

I never had liver issues but someone in here I'm sure has. Maybe start a new thread about it and see what people say.
Thanks Janet!
I'll start a thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top