Weight loss in regulated cat part 4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks Yong! So you are saying the yellows are bounce numbers? I think they are too cos he was really low during the day.
Would you know why I get high numbers at amps? Amps is always higher than pmps. Is that the norm?
I'll use your scale and see how it goes today.
I don't know if the yellows are bounce numbers but the pinks probably are. *Thoughts again here* His AMPS might be higher because it's too much insulin. Using the lowered scale might help confirm that ;). Hopefully, the new scale will help get two similar preshot numbers. There's also the case that some kitties run lower in evenings. Let's see how it goes. He is looking very nice :cat:.
 
I don't know if the yellows are bounce numbers but the pinks probably are. *Thoughts again here* His AMPS might be higher because it's too much insulin. Using the lowered scale might help confirm that ;). Hopefully, the new scale will help get two similar preshot numbers. There's also the case that some kitties run lower in evenings. Let's see how it goes. He is looking very nice :cat:.

@JanetNJ @Yong

Whoever is around I need some answers. His pmps is 122 which falls within d no shot range. I have forgotten to stall feeding n retest another half hour. So now he has his food. Can I test in 3 hours and if reading is higher, then I give him his insulin?
 
@JanetNJ @Yong

Whoever is around I need some answers. His pmps is 122 which falls within d no shot range. I have forgotten to stall feeding n retest another half hour. So now he has his food. Can I test in 3 hours and if reading is higher, then I give him his insulin?
I wouldn't change his shot time by 3 hours. I think I'd just skip... Or give the tiniest of drops. Like 0.25 or less
 
Not at all :). It was my alarm to wake up and take care of Maury. I try to get on the forum about 30 minutes after he's taken care of on weekends when it can be less traffic ;)
 
Could be a delayed bounce. Sometimes happens after a lower PS
So do I continue with giving him 0.2 at this reading in future? Is it safe? I thk scale need to up a bit for readings <200 based on last few days. I'm thinking
120 - 150. ----> 0.2
150 - 175 ---> 0.4
175 - 200 ----> 0.6

Don't think the pink amps was cos of too much insulin. Your thoughts?
 
If you will be home to monitor him, you can try it. *I think* the pinks were part of bounce cycles and when the increased dose was given on the bounce number it seems to send him into lime greens. It's one of the trickier things with sliding scales.
 
If you will be home to monitor him, you can try it. *I think* the pinks were part of bounce cycles and when the increased dose was given on the bounce number it seems to send him into lime greens. It's one of the trickier things with sliding scales.
I see. So that's why he kept going low. So better to stick to the scale for few days and see if any improvement ? I think I'm too impatient :(. His day readings are always good but evening seems erratic.
 
I understand :bighug:. I think Maury went through the opposite; day was erratic and evening was good o_O
Wow u took lots of readings per day. I feel so sorry looking at his ears so I try to do the minimum. Not to mention the test strip is not cheap.
 
@JanetNJ @Yong
Am I right to say that the scale needs to be adjusted again? Getting more yellows n pinks as compared to 4-5 days ago. Or do I wait out a bit more? Appreciate your thoughts. I know I can get a bit impatient. :nailbiting:
 
@JanetNJ @Yong
Am I right to say that the scale needs to be adjusted again? Getting more yellows n pinks as compared to 4-5 days ago. Or do I wait out a bit more? Appreciate your thoughts. I know I can get a bit impatient. :nailbiting:
Looks good in the morning... A little higher in the evening.... You don't want it going more than 50% of your preshot or you'll bounce more. I'd wait.
 
I think it does too but it may not be in the way your are thinking ;). Give me a couple hours to get back to you? :cat:
No worries Yong! No rush really, take your time. He's safe with this scale, didn't go too low to worry about. I'm thinking the lower ranges need to be upped ? but I really don't know how to level out the bounces. He didn't seem as happy as the last few days that's what I observe.
 
Looks good in the morning... A little higher in the evening.... You don't want it going more than 50% of your preshot or you'll bounce more. I'd wait.
U mean the 300+ preshot is good? Which reading shouldn't be more than 50%? I'm so sorry if I'm asking stupid questions. This insulin thing is not as straightforward as I thought.
 
You don't want to push his nadir more than 50% of preshot number ;).

Here's what I think for new doses. Will tag @JanetNJ as usual for her thoughts :)
130 - 150 --> 0.2 Preferrably if you can monitor
150 - 175 --> 0.4
175 - 200 --> 0.6
200 - 225 --> 0.8
225 - 250 --> 0.8
250 - 300 --> 1.0
300 - 350 --> 1.0
>350 --> 1.2

Reasoning: Hopefully the lower dose on the higher end numbers will give you two PS numbers closer together.
 
You don't want to push his nadir more than 50% of preshot number ;).

Here's what I think for new doses. Will tag @JanetNJ as usual for her thoughts :)
130 - 150 --> 0.2 Preferrably if you can monitor
150 - 175 --> 0.4
175 - 200 --> 0.6
200 - 225 --> 0.8
225 - 250 --> 0.8
250 - 300 --> 1.0
300 - 350 --> 1.0
>350 --> 1.2

Reasoning: Hopefully the lower dose on the higher end numbers will give you two PS numbers closer together.
I see. So far, his nadir seems to be around 50% of amps but not pmps. Ok will try ur suggestion at the next pmps unless Janet has other view. Looks like have to experiment with dosage a bit more. Thanks much :bighug:
 
I see. So far, his nadir seems to be around 50% of amps but not pmps. Ok will try ur suggestion at the next pmps unless Janet has other view. Looks like have to experiment with dosage a bit more. Thanks much :bighug:
You can try it. You can always raise it up again if it isn't working out.
 
Hi all,
My first cat has a high creatinine value n vet said he has renal disease. Going to put him on k/d foot from hills. On top of this, he has stomatitis. My poor boy. Feel so sorry for him. He has been pawing at his mouth for a few weeks and we thought its dental problem. Sent for dental works n dey found 1 bad tooth but his gums are red and swollen. Anyone has cat's with kidney disease? Any advice on dry n wet food besides d k/d food?
 
Hi all,
My first cat has a high creatinine value n vet said he has renal disease. Going to put him on k/d foot from hills. On top of this, he has stomatitis. My poor boy. Feel so sorry for him. He has been pawing at his mouth for a few weeks and we thought its dental problem. Sent for dental works n dey found 1 bad tooth but his gums are red and swollen. Anyone has cat's with kidney disease? Any advice on dry n wet food besides d k/d food?
you can give regular cat food for kidney cats... but find one with lower phosphorous.... like wueruva. You can also do a food like fancy feast, but just use a phosphorous binder if the phosphorous is too high. Giving sub q's early can prevent the progression of the disease.
 
Hi all,
My first cat has a high creatinine value n vet said he has renal disease. Going to put him on k/d foot from hills. On top of this, he has stomatitis. My poor boy. Feel so sorry for him. He has been pawing at his mouth for a few weeks and we thought its dental problem. Sent for dental works n dey found 1 bad tooth but his gums are red and swollen. Anyone has cat's with kidney disease? Any advice on dry n wet food besides d k/d food?
There's a great group on facebook called "Cats with Chronic Renal Failure".... super helpful people.
 
you can give regular cat food for kidney cats... but find one with lower phosphorous.... like wueruva.
Regular food is ok? Cos d vet said must feed him k/d. I don't thk we Hv wueruva here. What % of phosphorus shld I look for? Not sure if the food content state d phosphorus amount.
 
There's a great group on facebook called "Cats with Chronic Renal Failure".... super helpful people.
Oh great! I shall look for them there. Double worry now! One diabetic cat and another with kidney problem plus stomatitis. And I have another one with stomatitis for 2 years already.
 
you can give regular cat food for kidney cats... but find one with lower phosphorous.... like wueruva. You can also do a food like fancy feast, but just use a phosphorous binder if the phosphorous is too high. Giving sub q's early can prevent the progression of the disease.
What's a phosphorus binder? I can do sub q at home? Can buy from pharmacy?
 
What's a phosphorus binder? I can do sub q at home? Can buy from pharmacy?
Yes you can do sub q's home. I did them for a year with my Zimmy.... You need a perscription though.

Go on the Renal boards and post the labs if you have them.

How high is the creatnine?
 
What's a phosphorus binder? I can do sub q at home? Can buy from pharmacy?
Here's info about the phosphorus binders. Tanya's site is just the best. She also had a book available on amazon with all this info.

http://www.felinecrf.org/phosphorus_binders.htm

Young Again Zero is low on phosphorus (under 1.0) so you can keep feeding that, but kidney cats REALLY need more water because it helps them flush toxins as the kidneys are diminished in function.
 
Yes you can do sub q's home. I did them for a year with my Zimmy.... You need a perscription though.

Go on the Renal boards and post the labs if you have them.

How high is the creatnine?
The clinic forgot to pass me the blood test result. Will call them for a soft copy tmr. Just that the vet said it's higher than normal and should start on renal diet asap.
Is your zimmy still around now? How is he doing?
 
If he is in stage 1/2 I think you can keep below 200 phosphorus. I think Janet's Zimmy (GA) was stage 2. You can also add 1-2 T of warm water like Jebat's wet food to add more fluids. Do you still have the link for Dr. Pierson's food chart? You can use the sortable version to filter foods less than 200 phos.
 
T
If he is in stage 1/2 I think you can keep below 200 phosphorus. I think Janet's Zimmy (GA) was stage 2. You can also add 1-2 T of warm water like Jebat's wet food to add more fluids. Do you still have the link for Dr. Pierson's food chart? You can use the sortable version to filter foods less than 200 phos.
Thanks Yong. Do u have the link to the food chart? Right now, he's angry with us and only ate a tiny bit of burp after no food for 33 hrs.
What do you think of jebat BG readings ? I see the PS are getting closer numbers now. But his night readings are still flat. I do think we can adjust the scale now?
 
http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
You can use option 2 in left corner, Extensive filters.

He is looking nice but I'm going to let Janet give you dosing scales :)
Thanks!
U think he's looking nice? Cos I freak out when I see the pink! Lol! The scale gives similar PS readings which we aim to get which means we are on the right track. But now he's moving to pink in the night. How do we lower the nadir? @JanetNJ ur opinion? If u guys think I shld stick with this for a while more, I'll do it. Anything to make him better. He's asking for food more often these last few days and he's so loud!
 
Yes you can do sub q's home. I did them for a year with my Zimmy.... You need a perscription though.

Go on the Renal boards and post the labs if you have them.

How high is the creatnine?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7351.JPG
    IMG_7351.JPG
    21.6 KB · Views: 139
Oh ok that says 2.2? (It's blurry to me). So he's stage 2... And bun is still normal. It's not bad at all yet... And you are on top of things so with early intervention he could have a lots of time. Years even.

I think I started sub q's when the creatnine hit 2.4, and then it was just once a week until it was 2.7... Then I did 3 times a week. That stalled it for over a year. (Zimmy died of some kind of internal bleed.... It wasn't his kidneys that got him. He did great with sub q's and blood pressure meds for two years with little progression.). For now you could just do extra water in the food and add some more bowls /fountains around the house. If you wanted to do sub q's once or twice a week you could but might not be necessary yet unless its really hot or he seems obsessed with drinking.


What's the phosphorous level?
 
Last edited:
T

Thanks Yong. Do u have the link to the food chart? Right now, he's angry with us and only ate a tiny bit of burp after no food for 33 hrs.
What do you think of jebat BG readings ? I see the PS are getting closer numbers now. But his night readings are still flat. I do think we can adjust the scale now?
I Think he needs to be dosed higher in the evening. He's probably less active. That may help with the amps. Instead of going down at night he's going up. As long as you can monitor, I would raise that evening dose.
 
Last edited:
Oh ok that says 2.2? (It's blurry to me). So he's stage 2... And bun is still normal. It's not bad at all yet... And you are on top of things so with early intervention he could have a lots of time. Years even.

I think I started sub q's when the creatnine hit 2.4, and then it was just once a week until it was 2.7... Then I did 3 times a week. That stalled it for over a year. (Zimmy died of some kind of internal bleed.... It wasn't his kidneys that got him. He did great with sub q's and blood pressure meds for two years with little progression.). For now you could just do extra water in the food and add some more bowls /fountains around the house. If you wanted to do sub q's once or twice a week you could but might not be necessary yet unless its really hot or he seems obsessed with drinking.


What's the phosphorous level?
. It's 2.5 for creatinine. So I shld start sub q? they din do electrolyte test. Shld I ask for one? They have his blood sample. I do Hv a water fountain and bowls around the house. But we don't see him drinking often. And it is hot here lately about 32-34 deg.
 
I Think he needs to be dosed higher in the evening. He's probably less active. That may help with the amps. Instead of going down at night he's going up. As long as you can monitor, I would raise that evening dose.
So I stick to the scale for amps but increase by 0.2 for pmps? Tonight pmps he's in the blue.
 
. It's 2.5 for creatinine. So I shld start sub q? they din do electrolyte test. Shld I ask for one? They have his blood sample. I do Hv a water fountain and bowls around the house. But we don't see him drinking often. And it is hot here lately about 32-34 deg.
Excellent that he has so much access to water. If he's not drinking a LOT he's probably not dehydrated. I mean you could start sub q's.... maybe once a week or so. a lot of people don't start sub q's until the creatnine is in the 3's... but my vet and I decided since I was comfortable doing them at home that the earlier the better because in her experience it prevents the progression of the disease. it's not imperative at this point, but it could make him a little more comfortable. what is his phosphorous? have you joined the Cats With Chronic Renal Failure group on facebook? They are awesome there. very supportive and helpful like this group is.

this is a great video about how to give sub q's
 
Excellent that he has so much access to water. If he's not drinking a LOT he's probably not dehydrated. I mean you could start sub q's.... maybe once a week or so. a lot of people don't start sub q's until the creatnine is in the 3's... but my vet and I decided since I was comfortable doing them at home that the earlier the better because in her experience it prevents the progression of the disease. it's not imperative at this point, but it could make him a little more comfortable. what is his phosphorous? have you joined the Cats With Chronic Renal Failure group on facebook? They are awesome there. very supportive and helpful like this group is.

this is a great video about how to give sub q's
They didn't do electrolyte test. I'll request for it tmr. We Hv done sub-q on another cat long time ago so I thk we can manage it. Thanks for the video. Haven't joined the Fb group cos I'm not an active Fb user. Can I just ask u instead since u do have experience with zimmy? I'll ask the vet about phosphorus binder tmr. Hopefully she knows. I told her about home testing for jebat and she was all for it! This is a different vet from the last one. Only setback is they are more expensive.
 
They didn't do electrolyte test. I'll request for it tmr. We Hv done sub-q on another cat long time ago so I thk we can manage it. Thanks for the video. Haven't joined the Fb group cos I'm not an active Fb user. Can I just ask u instead since u do have experience with zimmy? I'll ask the vet about phosphorus binder tmr. Hopefully she knows. I told her about home testing for jebat and she was all for it! This is a different vet from the last one. Only setback is they are more expensive.
We never needed the binder for Zimmy.... His level never went above 4. We just gave him lower phosphorus food.
 
We never needed the binder for Zimmy.... His level never went above 4. We just gave him lower phosphorus food.
I see. So it all depends on the phosphorus level. Let's see the result tmr and I'll find appropriate food for him. Hopefully the one he's eating now (burp) is ok.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top