Weight loss in regulated cat part 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Waheeda, since it sounds like he's attempting to go to the box but not making it, doesn't seem like any major concern to me. He still heads towards it when he gets the urge but it may come on sooner than he expected. Did you get one of those storage containers to make a lower litter box for him? I would just get some training pads around the box so if he doesn't quite make it, it will be easier for you to clean up. If you notice he is deliberately going outside of the box, you may want to get him checked for UTI. But for now, *I think* it's just him having to go like right now. :bighug:
Hi Yong,
I wish they have cat diapers that I can use on him! Lol! He's so smelly that we have to bathe him often and of cos he hated it. I'm putting the large adult diapers where he usually sits. He doesn't fancy sitting on it but he's near enuf so if he pees, the diaper can absorb it hopefully. Oh great idea abt the training pads. Will look for them tmr. I got him a shallow box n he does use it. But u know, 1-2 times a day he somehow did it outside the box. I read the signs of UTI n I thk for now it's not it. Hopefully he doesn't get it. Dread the thought of going to the vet.
 
They actually do make diapers for cats and dogs:
shopping

This is a washable one but they do have disposable too. Multiple sizes
 
They actually do make diapers for cats and dogs:
shopping

This is a washable one but they do have disposable too. Multiple sizes
Oh wow! I din know this. Not seen them at the pet stores here. I'm definitely gonna buy n try. He will probably hate it. Have u used them before?
 
Personally, no. When I was a kid and our dog got old and had bladder control issues, we just bought baby diapers and cut a hole for her tail :p
 
Personally, no. When I was a kid and our dog got old and had bladder control issues, we just bought baby diapers and cut a hole for her tail :p
I was looking forward to get a good pmps cos last few days he has been on yellows n blues n dang! What did I get? A red! :( What an anti-climax.
 
They make their own definition of regulated :). Kris and Teasel is #2 post is one of the bouncy kitty's that makes his own rules.
 
Hi,
A question on bouncing.
We had a blue pre shot before n I gave 0.8u n he ended up bouncing. Today we had another blue at pmps n I gave 1u n he ended up bouncing again. So next time I Hv a blue pre shot, do I up the dose some more?

Since he seems to bounce each time we Hv a blue, does it make sense for me to delay the shot, feed him n wait till his BG move to yellow or pink? Cos I do know wat dose to give at yellow or pink which will make him stay in yellow or blue. Does this make sense?
 
Hi Waheeda,
The answer is not set in stone for if you should increase each time. So I will suggest only increase a little at a time, so your next try would be 1.2U, and make sure you can monitor and test him later. This was my boy's "normal" pattern for a while but he threw a wrench in the works one time and didn't bounce back up :facepalm:. 19 April PM cycle.

The second suggestion, I would actually try first, which is called stalling. So you got 196 for PMPS. Do not feed. Wait 20 minutes and retest.
  1. If the next reading rises above 200, try your dose based on Janet's dosing scale for over 200.
  2. If the number stays the same or drops, you can stall for another 20 minutes (still without feeding).
  3. If he drops below 150, I would suggest skipping the shot that cycle until you get more data for that pattern.
  4. Finally, if he stays in the >150 - 200 range, give a reduced dose and absolutely get additional tests like you did before. +2 and +4 are good :)

Sorry for all the "If this..." scenarios
 
Hi Waheeda,
The answer is not set in stone for if you should increase each time. So I will suggest only increase a little at a time, so your next try would be 1.2U, and make sure you can monitor and test him later. This was my boy's "normal" pattern for a while but he threw a wrench in the works one time and didn't bounce back up :facepalm:. 19 April PM cycle.

The second suggestion, I would actually try first, which is called stalling. So you got 196 for PMPS. Do not feed. Wait 20 minutes and retest.
  1. If the next reading rises above 200, try your dose based on Janet's dosing scale for over 200.
  2. If the number stays the same or drops, you can stall for another 20 minutes (still without feeding).
  3. If he drops below 150, I would suggest skipping the shot that cycle until you get more data for that pattern.
  4. Finally, if he stays in the >150 - 200 range, give a reduced dose and absolutely get additional tests like you did before. +2 and +4 are good :)

Sorry for all the "If this..." scenarios
Hi Yong
No apologies needed. I understand.
I'll try the stalling method next time this happens. But that will kind of mess up the 12/12 cycle. Can I shorten next cycle to keep to my usual shot times?
 
Well your pre-shot time should be 30 minutes before giving insulin shot so should only make it about 10 - 15 minutes late :)
Oops I've been giving him insulin abt 10 mins after testing. Cos after test I will feed him n while he's eating I will shoot. Otherws he will hide after he eats. Does it matter?
 
I've always read with faster acting insulins like Vetsulin it is preferable to wait about 20 minutes after feeding to give the shot.
From the sticky: Please make sure that there is always food on board before you inject this insulin. Schedule is best with test, feed, shoot, within about 30 minutes.

I'll tag @JanetNJ and let her confirm your current schedule :). Obviously, will be harder to give him a shot if he ran and hid ;)
 
Out of d blue he was panting on Thursday evening. Rushed him to d vet n she said it's an allergy reaction n his lungs were congested. Put on a drip n gave medicine n he bcame better n we brought him home. Fri am and lunch time he was ok but I came back at 6pm n he din look good. Rushed to the vet again n put on drip n oxygen tank and his breathing improved. At midnite vet sent us home with d oxygen machine. She said he shld b ok but 10 mins at home he vomited n had seizure. We rushed him to an emergency clinic n he's alrdy gone.
Couldn't believe it. He's such a gd darling, easy to care for n such a sweetheart. We r heartbroken. This is so painful.
 
Out of d blue he was panting on Thursday evening. Rushed him to d vet n she said it's an allergy reaction n his lungs were congested. Put on a drip n gave medicine n he bcame better n we brought him home. Fri am and lunch time he was ok but I came back at 6pm n he din look good. Rushed to the vet again n put on drip n oxygen tank and his breathing improved. At midnite vet sent us home with d oxygen machine. She said he shld b ok but 10 mins at home he vomited n had seizure. We rushed him to an emergency clinic n he's alrdy gone.
Couldn't believe it. He's such a gd darling, easy to care for n such a sweetheart. We r heartbroken. This is so painful.
Wow. They don't think it was heart failure?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top