Weight gain

Clover_07

Member Since 2025
What can help my cat gain weight? I introduced Clover in my new member post and mentioned that he is 9.5lbs. He needs to gain weight because he is under weight. So, what should I do if we can only give them wet food which has more water than fat?
 
What can help my cat gain weight? I introduced Clover in my new member post and mentioned that he is 9.5lbs. He needs to gain weight because he is under weight. So, what should I do if we can only give them wet food which has more water than fat?
 
We cannot dose advice you without data, and he insulin dose is not decreased just by 1-2 lower BGs the data on the spreadsheet for several times during the day testing for several days 2-3 cycles) to see how the insulin is reacting, the same dose should be given unless the BG is compromised under 50 and still it can be regulated right back with food, if that happens you post us first if you feel uncomfortable with shooting at least 1 hour before shot so we can get the right member to assist out with dosing, I personally do not give dosing advice, we all have different functions advising. Now concentrate on stability and I will tag one of the members for dosing advice, keep posting we are here for you
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Your intro thread: New member

Can you create a signature in your profile with info about your cat? It's a lot easier for members to help others if the basic info is in the signature which shows up at the bottom of your posts.

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.

  • In the top right, click on your username, and then Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
  • Caregiver & kitty's name
  • Country
  • DX: Date
  • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
  • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
  • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
  • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
  • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
  • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
  • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
[/LIST]


There's info here about feeding hungry unregualted diabetics: Feed Kitty As Much As They Want?

From your intro thread, you're feeding Royal Canine glycobalance canned food and Hills Prescription Diet glucosupport dry food twice a day. How much each each time? You plan to switch over to FF. As I said in your thread, you can ignore the vet about feeding twice a day and feed multiple times instead to keep your cat's tummy happy. It will take some time for your cat to regain weight and get blood glucose levels in a more healthy range so have patience.

You need to be testing before each insulin shot and do a couple in between spot checks while you are changing the diet. This is to catch any big drops in blood glucose levels which would indicate a need to decrease the insulin dose next time. This is where the spreadsheet comes in handy. Members here can't advise on dosing without seeing the spreadsheet.
 
The dry food you are feeding is high in carbohydrates. I realize that it's not entirely logical that a food that is advertised as appropriate for a diabetic cat is high in carbs but it this kind of nonsense that cause the pet food manufacturers to lose a class action lawsuit for calling their foods "prescription." There is nothing in the food that is "prescription" worthy.

One very important word of caution. If you are switching from a high carb diet to Fancy Feast, please home test. Most of the Fancy Feast Classic varieties are in the 5% carb range whereas the Hill's food is 15 - 20% carb and the Royal Canin is 14%. We consider low carb as under 10%. When switching from a high to low carb food, please test your cat's blood glucose level. You are very likely going to need to reduce the insulin dose.

The easy answer to your question is to give your cat more food. It's not atypical for a cat with diabetes to lose weight. Since glucose, which is the end product of metabolism isn't getting into the cells since there's no insulin to move the glucose into the cells, your cat isn't getting the full benefit of what he's eating. Once the diabetes is better regulated, it will be easier to get your cat to gain weight. There are also foods that are low carb and higher in calories (e.g., Wellness). This is a chart that has information on the canned foods available in the US along with information on carbs and calories.

Information on setting up your signature and spreadsheet are in this post on helping us to help you.
 
Back
Top