Week of 1/16/17: cliff notes

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Member Since 2016
Nothing much to report from the weekend. We went through 3 cycles (6 rounds, not sure how to count?) of 4.75, so I went up to 5 units tonight.

He was mostly in the Reds and pinks this weekend. But he was more active and alert. I hope that means he's starting to feel better! He's off his appy stimulant (eating well), but I'm still giving cerenia. Might keep that for now.

Hope everyone else is doing well. Looks like a rainy week in the 50's here!
 
Nothing much to report from the weekend. We went through 3 cycles (6 rounds, not sure how to count?) of 4.75, so I went up to 5 units tonight.

He was mostly in the Reds and pinks this weekend. But he was more active and alert. I hope that means he's starting to feel better! He's off his appy stimulant (eating well), but I'm still giving cerenia. Might keep that for now.

Hope everyone else is doing well. Looks like a rainy week in the 50's here!
Good news! A cycle is one 12 hour interval. You weren't getting red alerts this weekend because something was malfunctioning. It's fixed now I think.
 
Like your new dose. Hope now that things have settle down, I hope his numbers will come down.
Me too! He still seems to be hanging in the reds, despite the dose increase.
I'm starting to feel nervous about the higher dose, but I know it's what I need to do! I'm going to have to try to connect with others who are currently high dosers, or have experience with higher doses--just to look at their SS and ease my mind.
 
Not much movement with 5 units. Looks like I will be bumping up to 5.25 units tomorrow PM.
 
Not much movement with 5 units. Looks like I will be bumping up to 5.25 units tomorrow PM.
Yes, he's stuck all right. You can try bumping up the dose but always keep in mind the blues and greens you saw in the 4 to 4.25 u dose range. I'm not saying you should drop the dose but just use those as a reference for now. I think he has glucose toxicity/insulin resistance going on right now because of being in high numbers for a while around his illness, etc. It takes careful dose increases to break through that.
 
Yes, he's stuck all right. You can try bumping up the dose but always keep in mind the blues and greens you saw in the 4 to 4.25 u dose range. I'm not saying you should drop the dose but just use those as a reference for now. I think he has glucose toxicity/insulin resistance going on right now because of being in high numbers for a while around his illness, etc. It takes careful dose increases to break through that.
I was going to keep him at 5units for two more cycles, because that would be 6 total. Also, bumping the dose tomorrow PM will allow me to closely monitor him. (I can be sleepy at work on Friday if I have to be!) And then it's the weekend and I will be around more.
 
A couple pinks (purples?) the last couple days... makes me happy to see those, when all I've been seeing is red.
Cliff seems happier too... taking the stairs, hanging out upstairs, rolling over to show me his belly when I walk into a room, asking for pets. This is good.
Still increasing the does tonight...hoping to help my buddy feel even better!

AMPS=395
+3=422
 
A couple pinks (purples?) the last couple days... makes me happy to see those, when all I've been seeing is red.
Cliff seems happier too... taking the stairs, hanging out upstairs, rolling over to show me his belly when I walk into a room, asking for pets. This is good.
Still increasing the does tonight...hoping to help my buddy feel even better!

AMPS=395
+3=422
Probably a little food spike at +3. Glad he's feeling better! You'll get him moving ... :)
 
Probably a little food spike at +3. Glad he's feeling better! You'll get him moving ... :)
Yeah--I realize that the +3 will usually show a spike, but I feel better taking a reading before I leave for work in the morning--just to make sure he is OK. :) He's never not been, so I could probably spare his little ear this extra morning poke...
 
Out the door tests are good to do. My cat was never lower at +3 until one day he was and I had an active cycle! I was able to give some higher carb food and keep him safe.
 
Lunchtime poke +7.5 379 (poke before lunch)
Cerenia given
 
Last edited:
This afternoon took a turn and I've been in a lot of pain with my chronic condition. Haven't eaten today at all. Been sick and in pain all afternoon. Had to stay at work though, because no one could cover.

Got home now, did BG and measured insulin for Dave, but asked Dave to help with the rest --feed and shoot. Left at 5units bc I cannot monitor tonight.
 
This afternoon took a turn and I've been in a lot of pain with my chronic condition. Haven't eaten today at all. Been sick and in pain all afternoon. Had to stay at work though, because no one could cover.

Got home now, did BG and measured insulin for Dave, but asked Dave to help with the rest --feed and shoot. Left at 5units bc I cannot monitor tonight.
He'll be fine. You have to look after yourself.
 
Called out of work, so kept him at 5units for am shot, since I would be asleep most of day. Am & pm #s below. Did increase to 5.25 units for pm shot.

Amps=355
5u
+5 394

PMPS=466
5.25u
+5 507

Why is he in 500s at +5 with the increase? Not what I expected tonight.
 
Called out of work, so kept him at 5units for am shot, since I would be asleep most of day. Am & pm #s below. Did increase to 5.25 units for pm shot.

Amps=355
5u
+5 394

PMPS=466
5.25u
+5 507

Why is he in 500s at +5 with the increase? Not what I expected tonight.
Did you retest immediately to see if it was a valid number?
 
Sorry you've been feeling so poorly! Remember that Cliff needs you to take care of yourself too.
 
I do think that what Kris said several posts up is correct...looks like some insulin resistance to me. Slow, careful increases should help, I think.
 
Pretty uneventful day. Still not feeling my best. Can't wait until tomorrow pm to increase his dose. He seems stuck.

However, he's been a sweetie pie this weekend. Very cute. Hanging around some, showing belly and demanding pets.
 
Me too! He still seems to be hanging in the reds, despite the dose increase.
I'm starting to feel nervous about the higher dose, but I know it's what I need to do! I'm going to have to try to connect with others who are currently high dosers, or have experience with higher doses--just to look at their SS and ease my mind.
What food are you feeding?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top