week 2, AMPS 161, +1 190 should i shoot?

hellolily

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone,

I'm on week 2 of giving my kitty .5 dose of lantus and I was surprised by today's low number.
She tested at 161 and i decided to wait an hour to check again and decide to shoot then? Is this a good plan?
She ate her morning meal an hour later than usual, so could that be why the number is so low?
I'm still really new to this, so I am not sure what to do?

thanks for your help!

UPDATE: checked again an hour later and she is at 190. i do not expect to shoot this AM, but some advice would be great for future reference :)

I appreciate you so much!
 
Last edited:
Hi Lily(?)

I cannot see Belly's spreadsheet. You need to share it for us to be able to see it. Do you need help with how to do that?

Here's the link to your previous post for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/belly-confirmed-she-has-diabetes.241355/

We normally ask people not to give insulin below 150 or 200 when they are new.

Has Belly already eaten her meal? Was the 161 after food? We normally test, feed and then give insulin. If you get a lower value than you are used to shooting, we ask you to stall without feeding and post here for help.

@tiffmaxee
 
Hi Lily(?)

I cannot see Belly's spreadsheet. You need to share it for us to be able to see it. Do you need help with how to do that?

Here's the link to your previous post for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/belly-confirmed-she-has-diabetes.241355/

We normally ask people not to give insulin below 150 or 200 when they are new.

Has Belly already eaten her meal? Was the 161 after food? We normally test, feed and then give insulin. If you get a lower value than you are used to shooting, we ask you to stall without feeding and post here for help.

@tiffmaxee

Hi Bandit's mom,

thanks for your reply, i believe you should be able to see the sheet now.

Yes, she usually eats 2 hours before the shoot, but today she ate one hour. I saw in a youtube video that they should eat before the shot, was that wrong?

I am just concerned since she often drops about 150 points (? is that what we call them? lol) so starting this low freaked me out a bit.

thanks again!
 
I saw in a youtube video that they should eat before the shot, was that wrong?

No, not wrong but not exactly right either. We suggest that they not eat anything for the 2 hours immediately before shot times so that when you do the Pre-shot test, it's not food-influenced. If that test number is lower than you're comfortable shooting, then you stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without food.

If she ate an hour before the 161, then that 161 is "food influenced" so could be higher than she would have been if she hadn't eaten for the 2 hours.

Can you wait until it's been 2 hours since she ate and test again?....and if high enough, shoot at that time? Remembering that it would mean tomorrow's shots would be later too since they need to be 12 hours apart. You can work your way back to your chosen shot times by shooting early by 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day until you're back where you want to be.

Also, are you able to test today as much and as often as necessary? Have plenty of supplies like high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup and test strips?
 
Hi. The ambg is food influenced since she ate an hour before. If you can be off schedule you can test again two hours after eating and shoot if high enough but your schedule will be off as you can’t shoot more than 30 minutes early every 24 hours. If that won’t work write NS in your ss and skip.
 
Example....usual shot times are 8am/8pm......but since kitty was fed at 7am, you'd wait until at least 9am, test again and if high enough then, go ahead and shoot. Tonight you could shoot at 8:45pm (if high enough), then 8:30am tomorrow, 8:15 tomorrow night and you'd be back on the 8am shot time on Tuesday morning.
 
Back
Top