we did the curve!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Rudy

Member Since 2014
That was a loooong day! lol He still loves us, so it couldn't have been that bad ;-)

I am curious to your thoughts- it is in my chart also:
AMPS- +14- 583
+2-534
+4 409
+6 325
+8 391
+10 376
PMPS +12- 456

ALSO****** He only ate can food yesterday! He chose not to eat ANY dry!!!!! OMG I was so happy!!! I have to run out and buy more today- he ate at least 4 ounces with out throwing up :-)
 
Re: we dithe curve!

KarenBlasky said:
...I have to run out and buy more today- he ate at least 4 ounces with out throwing up :-)
Good job on the curve!
Glad he's not throwing up; vomiting intermittently can make controlling the glucose a nightmare.

I think I'd be inclined to take him up 0.25 units which you'll need to eyeball, as syringes don't mark 0.25, nor 0.75 unit increments.
 
Re: we dithe curve!

Congratulations! And how wonderful to hear Rudy has decided wet food is edible!

He dropped about 50% so the insulin is working, but he is definitely high and flat. I am conflicted. Jumping a full unit from one unit to two might mean you skipped over a good dose, but at this point, I would just keep moving on and see what happens. Because the numbers are pretty high, I'd normally think increasing by .5, but since he may be on all wet low carb from now on and that can mean a drop in numbers,( even though he was on lower carb dry) I guess I'd be more conservative. How about increasing to 2.25 for 3 cycles, always get a preshot and try to get a nadir whenever possible (looks like that is right around +6 right now) and see how he looks. If he is still higher (not dropping into pink/yellow preshots and yellow or blue nadirs) then increase again by .25 for 3 more cycles and see how he looks.
 
Re: we dithe curve!

Thank you for the feedback! I was so glad to see that it is working- and I agree on increasing. I remember you all say that slow is good, so we will try to go little bits at a time. Great idea to get pre tests and nadir (now that we know what that is). We'll do that also :-) I can't tell you how much I appreciate the responses. I can't put a price on piece of mind. I feel a little less worried now that I can see what is happening and am able to do something about it. Thanks!!!
 
Good job Karen and Rudy!

Now help me get Hank to eat the wet food!

Hank must think I don't know where to get the dry cause he sniffs the wet and heads to where I keep the dry! :lol:

Argh!! Not giving up!

Kimmie
 
Have you tried baking the wet until it is dry? Use a baking sheet or jelly roll pan, a low temp (maybe 200 degrees?), and stir periodically until it is as dry as you want. Later batches can be less and less dried out.
 
Come on Hank!!!! You can do it :-)

Rudy is so stubborn. He made sure I gave up completely, bought a big expensive bag of dry food, waited for me to open it- then quit dry. Love that kitty, but he drives me bonkers! lol He is still eating fancy feast. I am able to get him to eat chicken or turkey. We did a mini curve this weekend and his numbers were between 300-400. We are going to have to increase his prozinc I think.
 
Thank you BJM. I haven't tried it yet but I will. Tomorrow. How hard or dry should I bake it at first?

Just the thought of the smell of baking wet food makes ME gag! Even opening some of the cans and the smell...makes me want to gag!
Oh, but I keep telling Hank that it's yummy, yummy.

Oh it's going to be a happy, happy day when Hank finally starts eating wet food!! I didn't work this hard to get my son to eat his
vegetables when he was a little kid!!

I know my husband is tired of hearing about all the failed attempts.

Thanks everyone for your help and support. Congrats again Karen and Rudy.

Kimmie
 
Baking the food is an experiment.
I'd go for as dry as possible, even crunchy to start for the 1st batch, then the 2nd batch a little less, etc. to gradually get him used to the lack of crunch and the new flavor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top