We are still here. Need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Still thinking of the switch to Lantus, Susan?
Switching to Lantus is always in the back of my mind. I am dragging my feet a lot with it. I am just not ready to make that change right now. I like the in and out insulin, although if we weren't seeing improvement in Timmy's numbers with this change of injection sites, I would switch him as soon as possible.
 
Last edited:
Hey ... not bad at all! Pink food spike at +2 then a nice slide down to blue. :cool:

This 2.4 is working out great so far. The higher numbers in the pm have me trying to guess where it will take him in the am. He keeps surprising me. I haven't done +2 checks since my Vetsulin days and I'm hoping it will help me catch a big drop early, but that 68 at +7 yesterday has me on my toes for sure.
 
This 2.4 is working out great so far. The higher numbers in the pm have me trying to guess where it will take him in the am. He keeps surprising me. I haven't done +2 checks since my Vetsulin days and I'm hoping it will help me catch a big drop early, but that 68 at +7 yesterday has me on my toes for sure.
Any continued improvement in the litter box situation?
 
Any continued improvement in the litter box situation?
It's off and on. Yesterday afternoon he decided to go right beside it. It was a totally clean litter box too. At least it wasn't urine, but darn. Overnight and so far today though he is doing both in the litter box. There is not really a pattern, but I'm going to try and see if I can find one with his numbers being high or low. Before the injection site change he wasn't using it at all, which prompted the vet visit, however yesterday it happened at a low yellow, beginning blue. Wow! I'm guessing that statement officially makes me a crazy cat lady now. ;):cat:
 
PMPS was 133. I stalled 30 minutes and he is coming up, he is 191. The way his numbers were today, I am nervous shooting at this dose since I don't have enough evening data. I'm hoping he comes up over the next 30 minutes...but if he doesn't come up enough what should I shoot. We have had great momentum and I don't want to break that. @Kris & Teasel @Djamila
 
PMPS was 133. I stalled 30 minutes and he is coming up, he is 191. The way his numbers were today, I am nervous shooting at this dose since I don't have enough evening data. I'm hoping he comes up over the next 30 minutes...but if he doesn't come up enough what should I shoot. We have had great momentum and I don't want to break that. @Kris & Teasel @Djamila
That was a good rise in 30 minutes so he should be able to handle a reduced dose, say, 2 u? If you feel brave maybe 2.2 u? He's really doing well! :)
 
That was a good rise in 30 minutes so he should be able to handle a reduced dose, say, 2 u? If you feel brave maybe 2.2 u? He's really doing well! :)
I am so pleased with his numbers. He is feeling better and acting so much better and I don't want to break that, but not having the evening data is really making this hard. I'll test again in 10 minutes. Thank you, Kris. I really do appreciate all your guidance. :)
 
I am so pleased with his numbers. He is feeling better and acting so much better and I don't want to break that, but not having the evening data is really making this hard. I'll test again in 10 minutes. Thank you, Kris. I really do appreciate all your guidance. :)
Djamila might say give the full dose if he's near 200. I admit to being a bit more gun shy because Teasel is so volatile ... :confused:
 
Djamila might say give the full dose if he's near 200. I admit to being a bit more gun shy because Teasel is so volatile ... :confused:
Timmy is too! It makes me extra cautious. Plus Timmy starts to not feel good when we hit the lime greens. I just tested him and he went up 1 whole point to 192. I am going to go with 2 units. I just don't have enough data for the full dose and Timmy has been surprising me with his numbers over the last few days.
 
Djamila might say give the full dose if he's near 200. I admit to being a bit more gun shy because Teasel is so volatile ... :confused:

Lol...ah, you know me well, Kris! In this case I would have been torn though - the 2/23 PM cycle says that the full dose would be fine, however today's AM cycle might have given me pause since it was so active. I might have actually said the same thing you did 2 or 2.2, and can definitely respect wanting to be a little more cautious on a PM cycle.

Sorry I missed this earlier! I'm glad Kris was here!!!
 
Ugh! Timmy's numbers are higher today, AMPS 358/299 at +3/351 at +5. I was hoping to keep the momentum up. I am trying to give his ears a rest today anyway, but...:banghead: On a good day, Timmy's changes have to be so small or chaos ensues, but I changed two things, the dose and stalled an hour last night. Double Ugh!!
 
Last edited:
Ugh! Timmy's numbers are higher today, AMPS 358/299 at +3/351 at +5. I was hoping to keep the momentum up. I am trying to give his ears a rest today anyway, but...:banghead: On a good day, Timmy's changes have to be so small or chaos ensues, but I changed two things, the dose and stalled an hour last night. Double Ugh!!
Bouncing from the greens. You'll get him back.
 
A bounce cycle today. Frustrating but tomorrow is another day ... o_O
Very frustrating indeed, but hopefully he will settle down tomorrow. He is feeling better overall though. At 2 am he decided it was playtime. Over and over again he kept trying to give my sleeping DH his tinkle ball to throw...at least I thought it was funny, DH...not so much, so the tinkle ball had to be put in a drawer for the night, but I was able to get in a +7 PM test. :)
 
Very frustrating indeed, but hopefully he will settle down tomorrow. He is feeling better overall though. At 2 am he decided it was playtime. Over and over again he kept trying to give my sleeping DH his tinkle ball to throw...at least I thought it was funny, DH...not so much, so the tinkle ball had to be put in a drawer for the night, but I was able to get in a +7 PM test. :)
So cute! I'm glad he's feeling better. We need to keep reminding ourselves to look beyond the BG numbers... :smuggrin:
 
So the sunny yellows did come before a drop. It's not a 100% predictor but it's definitely worth paying attention to it. How is he today? And you?
You definitely called that one! Now I know to pay extra attention to those "sunny" days. He wasn't himself and he worried me last night with that drop at +3. He was running and and hiding and he was "talking" a lot more than usual. He settled and was fine after I steered for a while and slowed him down some.

So I was thinking of trying to slow this process down a bit so he wouldn't be so chaotic. I'm not sure how to do that or if it is even a good idea. I'm wondering if I bumped him up to the 2.4 units too fast from the 2.3. The 2.3 units didn't get him low enough, but if I had stayed there a little longer while he settled into those lower than his usual numbers and then bumped him up, would he have settleed better. The bump from 2.3 to 2.4 doesn't seem like much, but with how touchy Timmy is with changes, maybe I moved him too quickly. We were doing fine, but his behavior last night is causing me to pause. I just need to borrow a crystal ball from someone. That would certainly make this journey so much easier.
 
You definitely called that one! Now I know to pay extra attention to those "sunny" days. He wasn't himself and he worried me last night with that drop at +3. He was running and and hiding and he was "talking" a lot more than usual. He settled and was fine after I steered for a while and slowed him down some.

So I was thinking of trying to slow this process down a bit so he wouldn't be so chaotic. I'm not sure how to do that or if it is even a good idea. I'm wondering if I bumped him up to the 2.4 units too fast from the 2.3. The 2.3 units didn't get him low enough, but if I had stayed there a little longer while he settled into those lower than his usual numbers and then bumped him up, would he have settleed better. The bump from 2.3 to 2.4 doesn't seem like much, but with how touchy Timmy is with changes, maybe I moved him too quickly. We were doing fine, but his behavior last night is causing me to pause. I just need to borrow a crystal ball from someone. That would certainly make this journey so much easier.
It's hard to know for sure. My guess is the move from 2.3 u to 2.4 u was OK. You had him on 2.3 u quite a while and it looked like he needed a little bump up. I know how hard it is with these jittery kitties.
 
Last edited:
It's hard to know fore sure. My guess is the move from 2.3 u to 2.4 u was OK. You had him on 2.3 u quite a while and it looked like he needed a little bump up. I know how hard it is with these jittery kitties.
I guess I'm just second guessing myself. He did need the bump at the 2.3 units because he wasn't going low enough. His SS showed it. My jittery kitty is making me jittery. :nailbiting: I am still on the look out for that crystal ball. ;)
 
I agree with Kris that the 2.4u was the right thing to do. He's still staying quite safe - some kitties just need longer than others to settle down with a dose. And it's always a fine line between giving them time to settle and leaving them at one dose for too long. Kris is really good at managing a kitty like this - there is no crystal ball, but she has a really good sense of when to stick with a dose and when to adjust it. :bookworm:
 
I agree with Kris that the 2.4u was the right thing to do. He's still staying quite safe - some kitties just need longer than others to settle down with a dose. And it's always a fine line between giving them time to settle and leaving them at one dose for too long. Kris is really good at managing a kitty like this - there is no crystal ball, but she has a really good sense of when to stick with a dose and when to adjust it. :bookworm:
Thanks, Djamila. :)
 
Prolonged bounce - just like Teasel's pattern ... :confused:
I did spend some time looking at Teasel's spreadsheet. I'm starting to see it. It freaks me out when he does this though. He is acting like himself again so of course now I can see it. When he starts to act all weird I get so caught up in it that I can no longer see it. Ugh! I'm definitely a work in progress.

I had a commitment today that took me away for a while, I was able to swing home in between things and he surprised me with a blue and then a green at +9. I will be ready for the bounce.
 
I did spend some time looking at Teasel's spreadsheet. I'm starting to see it. It freaks me out when he does this though. He is acting like himself again so of course now I can see it. When he starts to act all weird I get so caught up in it that I can no longer see it. Ugh! I'm definitely a work in progress.

I had a commitment today that took me away for a while, I was able to swing home in between things and he surprised me with a blue and then a green at +9. I will be ready for the bounce.
Yes - Teasel's technicolour SS is a thing to behold! And this is him doing a lot better ... o_O

Timmy is a late-ish nadir kitty fairly often based on what his SS shows: +8 or +9 on several days.
 
We are bouncing today. That flat yellow from yesterday did indeed make him drop last night, so at least for now there is a pattern. I didn't raise his dose to the 2.5 units today as I was curious what his numbers would be today after the drop last night and...just yuck. o_O
 
Yep he has a good pattern going on! And hey, all data is good data...so it's really good to see what he does if you don't raise the dose.
 
I'd try 2.5 u today. He's a lot like Teasel in his response to insulin and that means bouncing like crazy but also easily getting stuck in an unresponsive spell of high numbers. I put it down to a high tendency to build up glucose toxicity.
 
I see you're trying 2.5 u and that he's had a run of flat yellow. Teasel needs occasional jump starts because I find a decent dose can lose its oomph and then start working again - it "sputters" in other words. Maybe it's an absorption issue, depot mechanism issue with Lev - or just Teasel being Teasel. These bouncy kitties seem to have other weird responses to insulin that add to the complexities of dosing them.

How has Timmy been feeling? How are you doing?
 
Hurray for a blue PMPS! :cool: I know his bouncing frustrates you but there's a definite improvement in the array of colours on your SS.
I was really surprised by that blue preshot number. I stalled waiting for it to get somewhere where I could shoot comfortably. The lower dose and the stall is going to set him on another bounce-fest for sure. You are right with his spreadsheet now though. I stopped and just looked at the colors instead of the numbers, and we are doing pretty good. Timmy tends to start hiding and just overall not feel great when he gets into the greens, so I'll take a blue any day.

Timmy is feeling and acting like himself. He is still off and on with the litter box, more on though with a few accidents that have me scratching my head. Now neither kitty is using the boxs in the laundry room. They must have had a secret meeting. They now both prefer the one that is closer to where the carpeting is located and the accidents have happened. So I am just cleaning the one litter box that they are using all day long. I wish he could just tell me what is bothering him with the litter box so I could fix it, that would solve a lot of issues.
 
I was really surprised by that blue preshot number. I stalled waiting for it to get somewhere where I could shoot comfortably. The lower dose and the stall is going to set him on another bounce-fest for sure. You are right with his spreadsheet now though. I stopped and just looked at the colors instead of the numbers, and we are doing pretty good. Timmy tends to start hiding and just overall not feel great when he gets into the greens, so I'll take a blue any day.

Timmy is feeling and acting like himself. He is still off and on with the litter box, more on though with a few accidents that have me scratching my head. Now neither kitty is using the boxs in the laundry room. They must have had a secret meeting. They now both prefer the one that is closer to where the carpeting is located and the accidents have happened. So I am just cleaning the one litter box that they are using all day long. I wish he could just tell me what is bothering him with the litter box so I could fix it, that would solve a lot of issues.
I'm glad he's feeling well. I know what you mean about how the greens can affect them. I like low blues and (maybe) high dark greens for Teasel. He felt worse in greens on Lantus because the Lantus depot acted stronger in keeping a lid on BG. It was like it was "constricting" or something. Lev is a depot insulin but doesn't show that aspect much in Teasel. It's as though it keeps a looser lid on BG. Weird description but there it is ... To me Lev acts more like a cross between ProZinc and Lantus.

I hope you can solve the litter box problem. That has to be one of the most frustrating of kitty behaviour problems ... :confused:
 
Is he going right outside the box? Or is it somewhere further away from it? Some people have found using puppy pads around the edge of the box helps if the kitty is just not getting ALL the way in the box and accidentally peeing outside it.
 
Is he going right outside the box? Or is it somewhere further away from it? Some people have found using puppy pads around the edge of the box helps if the kitty is just not getting ALL the way in the box and accidentally peeing outside it.
It is the strangest thing. All day yesterday he used the box for both, then this morning he didn't use it at all. It is about four to five feet from the box so it isn't a miss. It is intentional. I just don't know why. Today it is on the carpet. That's just fantastic! Scrub, carpet cleaner and enzymes. :confused: I am going to buy some of the puppy pads and put on the carpet where he went today. Ugh!
 
I'm glad he's feeling well. I know what you mean about how the greens can affect them. I like low blues and (maybe) high dark greens for Teasel. He felt worse in greens on Lantus because the Lantus depot acted stronger in keeping a lid on BG. It was like it was "constricting" or something. Lev is a depot insulin but doesn't show that aspect much in Teasel. It's as though it keeps a looser lid on BG. Weird description but there it is ... To me Lev acts more like a cross between ProZinc and Lantus.

I hope you can solve the litter box problem. That has to be one of the most frustrating of kitty behaviour problems ... :confused:
I really do like the in and out of the Prozinc. It seems Teasel has done well with the Lev and since he and Timmy act alike with the insulin, it is something I need to look into. Although with my current vet, getting a prescription for it will be a huge hassle, if not impossible. He even mentioned for us to go back to Vetsulin because it was cheaper and did the same thing. Dealing with vets that don't really understand FD and don't think that owners can manage it makes me crazy. I always end up leaving the vets office infuriated inside, but having to act like they know what is best because I need the prescription. It makes me out of sorts for days after the visit. I'm always on the look out for a vet that would partner with me to help my diabetic cat. I wouldn't mind a long drive either if I could find one that doesn't look at me like I'm crazy when I talk about home testing. :blackeye:

On a much happier note, Timmy is feeling blue today. I did have to stall and decrease the am dose. At +3 he was 143. He's having a little snack right now to slow him down a little, but I am so encouraged!
 
I really do like the in and out of the Prozinc. It seems Teasel has done well with the Lev and since he and Timmy act alike with the insulin, it is something I need to look into. Although with my current vet, getting a prescription for it will be a huge hassle, if not impossible. He even mentioned for us to go back to Vetsulin because it was cheaper and did the same thing. Dealing with vets that don't really understand FD and don't think that owners can manage it makes me crazy. I always end up leaving the vets office infuriated inside, but having to act like they know what is best because I need the prescription. It makes me out of sorts for days after the visit. I'm always on the look out for a vet that would partner with me to help my diabetic cat. I wouldn't mind a long drive either if I could find one that doesn't look at me like I'm crazy when I talk about home testing. :blackeye:

On a much happier note, Timmy is feeling blue today. I did have to stall and decrease the am dose. At +3 he was 143. He's having a little snack right now to slow him down a little, but I am so encouraged!
That vet business would infuriate me too. I'm really lucky to have a great collaborative vet and I'm also lucky that human insulin can be bought OTC in Canada. When I switched Teasel from ProZinc to Lantus I did it on my own but talked to my vet after the fact. I did the same thing with Levemir and told her later. She has zero experience with Lev but she knows I look after Teasel's FD treatment on my own.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top