Watching closely. AMPS 145 +5 46. She is 58 at +11

Kylee and Her Mom Renee'

Member Since 2018
Kylee was 145 AMPS. I gave her 1unit. and was watching her. Let her sleep then checked again 4 1/2 hours. it was 46. I gave her some dry food because she would not eat the wet. I mixed in the dry and wet. She took a few bites. I fed her some on a wooden stick, she ate some. She was moving slow and getting that squint eye look and a small quiver in her ears. She is laying next to me, seems kind of spacey. Not sure if she is just sleepy or getting hypo.She is purring.... I tend to worry too much. Will watch and test. Anything else I should do? She has been hypo before and came out it. But this is the reason for the 911. Thank you.
 
Test every 20-30 minutes until she's above 50. Then monitor for 2 hours once you stop giving MC/HC to make sure she stays up.
 
I do not give dosing advice but instead of skipping a dose it sounds like you need to decrease the dose. She is getting very low Bg .
Is Kylee getting any dry food? Some of the people that have stopped all dry food have had their cat go into remission.
Maybe @Chris & China can help you?

Best of Luck to You & Kylee :):bighug:
 
I do not give dosing advice but instead of skipping a dose it sounds like you need to decrease the dose. She is getting very low Bg .
Is Kylee getting any dry food? Some of the people that have stopped all dry food have had their cat go into remission.
Maybe @Chris & China can help you?

Best of Luck to You & Kylee :):bighug:
I only give her a little bit of the dry Purina DM. I give this after her testing. Maybe 10-15 pieces all day. She looks thinner too.
 
It takes a little longer for the dry to break down and get into the bloodstream

46 isn't horribly low, but you do need to keep testing.

Do you have any "gravy lovers" foods? Most cats love the gravy part and the gravy is where all the carbs are
 
It takes a little longer for the dry to break down and get into the bloodstream

46 isn't horribly low, but you do need to keep testing.

Do you have any "gravy lovers" foods? Most cats love the gravy part and the gravy is where all the carbs are
I have FF Chicken grillers that has gravy. Right now she is in her bed sleeping. It is low for her and she just seemed loopy. I freak out because she went hypo and it scared me so. Plus the vet said at DX that 150 is normal for cats.... I just texted my husband. All he said was "she's ok" I think he is jealous of the cat....UGH!!!! Thanks for being here.
 
She is laying next to me, seems kind of spacey. N
Some cats do not show any signs that they are Hypo, it sounds to me that Kylee Is showing signs. You need to get dosing advice!
You are new at this & her Glucose is too low.
Until you get dosing advice I don't think you should give her that much insulin.It's better to skip a shot than to give too much.

You should feed her as much as she wants to eat, just Not Dry food if at all possible. Her glucose might come down on it's own if you stop the dry food.

It won't hurt her if you skip a shot but it can if she goes Hypo! Please be careful!
 
Chris can advise you. I'm so glad she's helping!

Best of luck to you & Kylee! :) Read the yellow sticky notes . The more you learn the easier it will get. It's overwhelming at first but it will get easier. Hang in there. The people here can help you.! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
In your last post here, I suggested you need to lower the vote because she was seeing numbers in the 40's.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/if-the-amps-is-low-why-do-you-still-shoot.204698/

Please don't shoot 1 unit anymore. She needs to go down to 0.75 units.

Since you are using a human meter, the normal numbers are lower than what your vet said, cause he/she is probably used to pet meter numbers. My civvie has tested in the 40's on a human meter, but we don't want cats on insulin to gonthat low, as it leaves no room for error.
 
I do not give dosing advice but instead of skipping a dose it sounds like you need to decrease the dose.
Is Kylee getting any dry food? Some of the people that have stopped all dry food have had their cat go into remission.
 
Some cats do not show any signs that they are Hypo, it sounds to me that Kylee Is showing signs. You need to get dosing advice!
You are new at this & her Glucose is too low.
Until you get dosing advice I don't think you should give her that much insulin.It's better to skip a shot than to give too much.

You should feed her as much as she wants to eat, just Not Dry food if at all possible. Her glucose might come down on it's own if you stop the dry food.

It won't hurt her if you skip a shot but it can if she goes Hypo! Please be careful!
Thank you.
Yes, have you tested yet?

When you shoot tonight, you will give 0.75u as the new dose.
I tested her 8 hours after her AMPS it was 50. I will test again before her normal PM shot. If it still low I will post. Thinking ahead do I skip or shoot if she is still low. She has been eating. I will need help if I have to dose her at .75. My syringe show .5 and full units.
 
Please don't shoot 1 unit anymore. She needs to go down to 0.75 units.

You just need to do your best to get the plunger on the syringe a bit above the .5 ( I'd error on the lesser amount , close to .5)

@Wendy&Neko asking ?
She's already gone down to 40 & then 46 on one unit Shouldn't she be at .5 now? She was showing signs of hypo even after a fur shot.
 
Last edited:
From another thread:
Here is what .25u looks like on your syringe.

025unit-1-1.jpg


.75u is the same, with the stopper halfway between the marks--but above the first .5u marking instead of below it. The plunger is halfway between the .5u and 1u marks. Does that make sense now?

When you "fatten" or "skinny" the dose, you're raising or lowering it by .1u. Here is what .1u looks like:

01unit-1.jpg



You would eyeball that amount above or below the dose you're giving.

You need to scroll down to the end of this sticky: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139 for more information on fine dosing.

The full thread if you want to look it over at some point:
How to give Lantus .75 unit?
 
From another thread:
Here is what .25u looks like on your syringe.

025unit-1-1.jpg


.75u is the same, with the stopper halfway between the marks--but above the first .5u marking instead of below it. The plunger is halfway between the .5u and 1u marks. Does that make sense now?

When you "fatten" or "skinny" the dose, you're raising or lowering it by .1u. Here is what .1u looks like:

01unit-1.jpg



You would eyeball that amount above or below the dose you're giving.

You need to scroll down to the end of this sticky: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139 for more information on fine dosing.

The full thread if you want to look it over at some point:
How to give Lantus .75 unit?
Wow, that is tedious isn't it. I looked at my syringe just to make sure I would be giving her the .75. Oh my, I think i went crossed eyed. Ha ha. Thanks.
 
Wow, that is tedious isn't it. I looked at my syringe just to make sure I would be giving her the .75. Oh my, I think i went crossed eyed. Ha ha. Thanks.
Yes it is, however the mere drop can effect the bgs on some cats by alot. My kitty went from 24 units 2x a day to .5 2x a day. But what are ya gonna do :) we love them the little buggers.
 
Wow, that is tedious isn't it. I looked at my syringe just to make sure I would be giving her the .75. Oh my, I think i went crossed eyed. Ha ha. Thanks.
Next time you go to walmart or .. get yourself a magnifying glass, Get one with a hole at the end of the handle and hang it say on something like a curtain rod at your eye level in a well lit area. Make sure you look at the syringe at eye level and not down or up on it. That changes everything. Straight on. You want to have your hands to work the syringe, why you hang it, it helps tremendously with 1/2, 1/4 and even whole units.
 
What meter are you using, human or pet meter? After all this settles, please put that in your signature. I would give Kylee some of the gravy if she will eat it, test again in 20-30 minutes, she's not critical but is low.
 
I don't think I will shoot. What about food? Still the FF grillers that has gravy or mix it with her DM?
I would monitor the first few hours and feed her accordingly. If she starts dropping again give her small amounts of the grillers. Don't want to fill her up. If she stays pretty reasonable numbers up to +4 I would put food down and catch up on some sleep.
 
Since you aren't giving a shot tonight, you don't need to fill her up with high carb food. Especially since she's in safe numbers. But do test her again tonight, to make sure she's staying in safe numbers. Even if she's higher tomorrow morning, please shoot just 0.75 units.
 
Since you aren't giving a shot tonight, you don't need to fill her up with high carb food. Especially since she's in safe numbers. But do test her again tonight, to make sure she's staying in safe numbers. Even if she's higher tomorrow morning, please shoot just 0.75 units.
Her AMPS was 141. After the long day yesterday I am stalling. She seems so good today. I tested her at 8:20 am. She ate and now sleeping next to me. I will test again during the day. She is almost off the dry food. :)
 
Back
Top