Was I right not to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarthaL

Member Since 2021
Hi. This is Martha and Spy Kitty (SK). It is two and a half weeks since DX (06/17). I posted my first post on 06/27 (link below) asking if it was time to up the dose of ProZinc for SK from 2.5U to 3U (Vet had given me the go ahead to go from 2U to 3U on 06/24 but I only went to 2.5U).

@FostD replied that I should hold the 2.5U for a week and do a curve. I did hold the dose and did as many tests as I could. At the time SK was an outdoor cat and the more I stuck him the more he made himself scarce (retreated under the house).

Based on the readings I got during the 7 days on 2.5U, it seemed like I should go up 2.75U (07/01). I knew it was important to test at his nadir after upping the dose so I brought him inside an hour ahead of time and just put my ear plugs in so I did not have to listen to him cry. He finally settled down after half an hour and went into nap mode. He has remained inside since, 48 hrs now, with no protest.

When I tested at +4 it was 63. Concerned that it could go down further, I gave him half a can of FF gravy lovers and some Temptations. Tested again at +4.5 and it was up to 101. For his evening shot I dropped back down to 2.5U.

The next day (07/02), the morning numbers looked good (in the 200's) although the nadir was at +2. The evening numbers were very high (in the 500's). Stayed at 2.5U.

Then this morning (07/03) I got a pre-shot reading of 152. I stalled and got a reading of 142. I stalled again and got a reading of 139, so I did not shoot. At +2 the reading was 198.

Was I right not to shoot this morning? Suggestions for this evening's dose.

Re: Food
Transitioned from 100% dry to approx. 50% LC wet + 50% DM. Working toward 100% wet but he is not crazy about it. Only eats about 1 Tbsp at a time. He has eaten less over the past couple of days that he had been inside. He needs to gain weight as had lost several pounds pre-DX. He gained about a half pound back in the first week post-DX but nothing in the past week and a half.

Original Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-is-it-time-to-up-to-3u-pz.249136/
 
Hi! What a difference in numbers! At that 198 you could have shot... Or done a reduced shot. But it's fine that you decided to skip. I think you just got a longer duration out of the ProZinc. Good job with the transition to wet I know it can be hard. I'd probably do a fat 2.5.
 
Hi. This is Martha and Spy Kitty (SK). It is two and a half weeks since DX (06/17). I posted my first post on 06/27 (link below) asking if it was time to up the dose of ProZinc for SK from 2.5U to 3U (Vet had given me the go ahead to go from 2U to 3U on 06/24 but I only went to 2.5U).

@FostD replied that I should hold the 2.5U for a week and do a curve. I did hold the dose and did as many tests as I could. At the time SK was an outdoor cat and the more I stuck him the more he made himself scarce (retreated under the house).

Based on the readings I got during the 7 days on 2.5U, it seemed like I should go up 2.75U (07/01). I knew it was important to test at his nadir after upping the dose so I brought him inside an hour ahead of time and just put my ear plugs in so I did not have to listen to him cry. He finally settled down after half an hour and went into nap mode. He has remained inside since, 48 hrs now, with no protest.

When I tested at +4 it was 63. Concerned that it could go down further, I gave him half a can of FF gravy lovers and some Temptations. Tested again at +4.5 and it was up to 101. For his evening shot I dropped back down to 2.5U.

The next day (07/02), the morning numbers looked good (in the 200's) although the nadir was at +2. The evening numbers were very high (in the 500's). Stayed at 2.5U.

Then this morning (07/03) I got a pre-shot reading of 152. I stalled and got a reading of 142. I stalled again and got a reading of 139, so I did not shoot. At +2 the reading was 198.

Was I right not to shoot this morning? Suggestions for this evening's dose.

Re: Food
Transitioned from 100% dry to approx. 50% LC wet + 50% DM. Working toward 100% wet but he is not crazy about it. Only eats about 1 Tbsp at a time. He has eaten less over the past couple of days that he had been inside. He needs to gain weight as had lost several pounds pre-DX. He gained about a half pound back in the first week post-DX but nothing in the past week and a half.

Original Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-is-it-time-to-up-to-3u-pz.249136/

I won't give dosing advice (that's better coming from a more seasoned member), but I will say that it's great that you're increasing slowly and then testing to see how he's responding. It seems like his diet change is lowering those numbers and you're keeping him safe by testing as often as you are. You did a fabulous job bringing him indoors! I had to laugh when you said you put on your earphones so you didn't hear him crying. He's lucky to have you.
 
@JanetNJ , if I had given him a full dose at 198 (+2), would I then have to wait another 12 hrs to give the PM shot, and take 4 days (@ 30 min/day) to get back to the normal shooting time? If I had given him a reduced dose, say 1U at +2, could I then shoot the PM dose 10 hrs later? One more question please, what is a "fat 2.5"?

@Daddy Jack's Mommy, thank you for the words of encouragement!
 
@JanetNJ , if I had given him a full dose at 198 (+2), would I then have to wait another 12 hrs to give the PM shot, and take 4 days (@ 30 min/day) to get back to the normal shooting time? If I had given him a reduced dose, say 1U at +2, could I then shoot the PM dose 10 hrs later? One more question please, what is a "fat 2.5"?

@Daddy Jack's Mommy, thank you for the words of encouragement!
Well if the numbers were high enough you could shoot an hour early each time so it may have only taken a day to get back on schedule. If you gave 1 unit and the number was high enough you could have shot normal time or shot at +11. Regardless it's fine that you Skipped as long as he has no ketones. A fat 2.5 is a 2.5 but just barely over. Like just on the other side of the line.
 
Last edited:
@Janet, do you think I should increase to 2.75U or wait longer to see if Spy Kitty's numbers will come down further on 2.5U?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top