MarthaL
Member Since 2021
Hi. This is Martha and Spy Kitty (SK). It is two and a half weeks since DX (06/17). I posted my first post on 06/27 (link below) asking if it was time to up the dose of ProZinc for SK from 2.5U to 3U (Vet had given me the go ahead to go from 2U to 3U on 06/24 but I only went to 2.5U).
@FostD replied that I should hold the 2.5U for a week and do a curve. I did hold the dose and did as many tests as I could. At the time SK was an outdoor cat and the more I stuck him the more he made himself scarce (retreated under the house).
Based on the readings I got during the 7 days on 2.5U, it seemed like I should go up 2.75U (07/01). I knew it was important to test at his nadir after upping the dose so I brought him inside an hour ahead of time and just put my ear plugs in so I did not have to listen to him cry. He finally settled down after half an hour and went into nap mode. He has remained inside since, 48 hrs now, with no protest.
When I tested at +4 it was 63. Concerned that it could go down further, I gave him half a can of FF gravy lovers and some Temptations. Tested again at +4.5 and it was up to 101. For his evening shot I dropped back down to 2.5U.
The next day (07/02), the morning numbers looked good (in the 200's) although the nadir was at +2. The evening numbers were very high (in the 500's). Stayed at 2.5U.
Then this morning (07/03) I got a pre-shot reading of 152. I stalled and got a reading of 142. I stalled again and got a reading of 139, so I did not shoot. At +2 the reading was 198.
Was I right not to shoot this morning? Suggestions for this evening's dose.
Re: Food
Transitioned from 100% dry to approx. 50% LC wet + 50% DM. Working toward 100% wet but he is not crazy about it. Only eats about 1 Tbsp at a time. He has eaten less over the past couple of days that he had been inside. He needs to gain weight as had lost several pounds pre-DX. He gained about a half pound back in the first week post-DX but nothing in the past week and a half.
Original Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-is-it-time-to-up-to-3u-pz.249136/
@FostD replied that I should hold the 2.5U for a week and do a curve. I did hold the dose and did as many tests as I could. At the time SK was an outdoor cat and the more I stuck him the more he made himself scarce (retreated under the house).
Based on the readings I got during the 7 days on 2.5U, it seemed like I should go up 2.75U (07/01). I knew it was important to test at his nadir after upping the dose so I brought him inside an hour ahead of time and just put my ear plugs in so I did not have to listen to him cry. He finally settled down after half an hour and went into nap mode. He has remained inside since, 48 hrs now, with no protest.
When I tested at +4 it was 63. Concerned that it could go down further, I gave him half a can of FF gravy lovers and some Temptations. Tested again at +4.5 and it was up to 101. For his evening shot I dropped back down to 2.5U.
The next day (07/02), the morning numbers looked good (in the 200's) although the nadir was at +2. The evening numbers were very high (in the 500's). Stayed at 2.5U.
Then this morning (07/03) I got a pre-shot reading of 152. I stalled and got a reading of 142. I stalled again and got a reading of 139, so I did not shoot. At +2 the reading was 198.
Was I right not to shoot this morning? Suggestions for this evening's dose.
Re: Food
Transitioned from 100% dry to approx. 50% LC wet + 50% DM. Working toward 100% wet but he is not crazy about it. Only eats about 1 Tbsp at a time. He has eaten less over the past couple of days that he had been inside. He needs to gain weight as had lost several pounds pre-DX. He gained about a half pound back in the first week post-DX but nothing in the past week and a half.
Original Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-is-it-time-to-up-to-3u-pz.249136/