Wanna Play 'what do I do now?'

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Guest
I figure before they brainwash all the pzi outta me (AND THAT IS THEIR GOAL) I'd play one of our games we learn so much by.

Here's the scenario:
Your 3 weeks after dx where all your vet did was send you home with a vial of pz and a 2u dose bid.
And becuase you found FDMB your 1 week into testing. Your very upset with your numbers becuase, well, here's what they look like;

amps 460 2U
pmps 367 2U

and so on for the first few days until you get a day off and do your first curve.

amps 500 2U
+2 390
+4 223
+6 460
+8 500
pmps 500 2U

you decide to do another curve a few days later and you see this:

amps 398 2U (your thinking YAY!)
+2 276 (room for hope smilie)
+4 462 (BOOOOO!)
+6 500 (you give up testing and pour yourself a glass of wine which you kind of chug)
pmps 432 2U

With all this information whatever would we advise this poor newbie, and even poorer kitty, to do.
Please give more than a one sentence answer and think long term, like a week :-D

Any takers?
 
Ok, as a VERY short term PZI'er with a current Acro Kitty and not anywhere near enough experience to reply... I thought I would.

Personally I'd drop back to 1 unit for at least 5-6 cycles to see what settles out. Then I'd up it as appropriate. To me, it seems that the cat is overdosed but I may be misinterpreting it (since I have nothing but reading posts to go on....)

Ok, you can slap me now :D
 
who's gonna slap you???? that is an excellent dx in my opinion. more? you can't just leave them with that alone. what should they be looking for...they obviously don't know...they just got here remember...you don't trust health...well this is your baby now.
 
I fail these tests. :roll: I'm probably missing the nuance of the patter you are suggesting.

Giving advice and not being the the beans shoes, I would point out the potential for rebound and point the person to the petdiabetes.wikia.com rebound page here:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Rebound

I would tell them that if they chose to drop back to 1u [and test for potential rebound] I would highly suggest they test for ketones at least while they did that [especially with the already high numbers they were getting]. And I would also highly suggest they add water to their food [much softer but not soupy] to utilize hydration towards heading off keytones.

And probably before they did rebound check I would also highly suggest they visit my incomplete list of things that may cause wonky numbers. I would ask specifics about their feeding and what food they are feeding. Is the cat indoor, stress, dental etc. Eliminate the easily cured/suspect items on the list. And is the cat getting into dog food [one of my favorite questions].

Hard to say what to do next because of so many contingencies no the outcome of asking questions.

Backpacker Magazine does a monthly full page flow chart called "The Predicament":
http://www.backpacker.com/blogs/?catego ... %20Roundup
It's both cute and clever. "Lunchbox" is the cadaver dog that finds you when you mess up too many times on the chose your own adventure. Anyway, flow charting is what we need here!

Lori, stay strong, don't give in to the peer pressure. ;-)
 
I know gator...trying to keep both brains alive (pz and lev)
i love all your answers but of course the steering to the links. (but that's just me) you know me, i have to have simple dialogue and not read directions first :lol:
all the food related questions covered, the health issues, altho' the #'s clearly look like rebound zooming. i was thinking cut the dose..get more spot checks...stay on cut dose for 3-6 days. unless you are out of control blacks and at that point even i would be in a quandry. ketone testing is a very good idea.
who knows...maybe even the 1u is too high. this kitty was on 2u blind for 2 weeks. how do we know when the rebound stops. maybe try an even lower dose first. they did this to me in lev against every fiber in my being but guess what? they were right. i evened out and now am just starting my gradual ascent.
there are no right and wrongs (well there are but..) this is a think tank talk for learning for all of us.
 
hey we have to find out if this kitty changed diet and when...suppose diet change occurred while shooting 2u blind...yikes. kitty could be in a panicky liver cycle. ugggg, the things the vet's don't tell you. NEVER EVER change to low carb diet while shooting blind...without reducing dose. right?
it would'nt hurt to know kitties condition when dx'd and his dx #, then knock 100 points off that for stress. i wonder if this kitty was a steroid kitty? and can someone tell me why that might matter so much?
 
lori and tom said:
hey we have to find out if this kitty changed diet and when...suppose diet change occurred while shooting 2u blind...yikes. kitty could be in a panicky liver cycle.
EXCELLENT point. The problem with only one or two posts is that the readers (ie: experienced folk) have not enough info to give adequate answers.
 
yep Debbie, sorry I called you Cindy before. That is why these games help newbies to help newbie's. I so love it when no 'old timers' are here and I check in to find the newbie's not so new anymore..they got all growed up and are giving excellent pointers to the fresher newbie's. It's nice also to talk about emergency's BEFORE they happen....and not just in a link on a list called hypo tool kit. a real conversation. I have seen too many times...right now on health, a nervous newbie (bless her heart) crying while she karo'd her kitty at +2 87 cause she was afraid. we'll play more games like this if the beans play. 'how to steer the numbers' or my favorite 'he hypo'd last nite,,,now what?' people can't read this stuff in a link and 'get it' we have to discuss it and see it in action (or in a game) to really live it. then we feel confident. maybe. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top