? Wally - 9/9 - AMPS 447, +6=78, +6.5=95, +7.25=126, +9.25=287, PMPS=483, +2=440

Ginger Cat

Member Since 2017
I thought by now his bounce would have cleared and he'd be going back into the lower numbers. But - they haven't. And his appetite has been off. He's eating enough to get his shots, but isn't finishing all his food, even after a few hours. Ate a bit more this a.m. so that was good. I have mirataz/mirtazapine on hand just in case.

Given that he's gone so low on the 1.5 units, I am afraid to up his dosage even by .25 units. Would love your thoughts on this.

Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...06-10-469-pmps-519-2-402.234857/#post-2629342
 
It looks possible he went into numbers he isn’t comfortable with yet last night based on the 100 pt drop from PMPS to +2, And came back up for a bounce, but can’t be sure.

I see that he threw up this am? Hopefully he is feeling ok?
 
It looks possible he went into numbers he isn’t comfortable with yet last night based on the 100 pt drop from PMPS to +2, And came back up for a bounce, but can’t be sure.

I see that he threw up this am? Hopefully he is feeling ok?
I think he vomited because his stomach was empty. He did eat a fairly decent amount at breakfast and then ate almost all the left-overs around 10:30 a.m.
 
Glad it seems to be a one off thing. I am not sure about dosing, perhaps someone more experienced with TR can chime in :)
 
Check out his nadir numbers: 78/95 (after a bit of FF). I love this boy like crazy but he's driving me nuts :-). Fed him his usual LC FF after the 78/95 numbers. Checked him at +7 and he's up to 126 so things are going well.
 
Not really surprising you saw green today - it's six cycles after the last green numbers. It took Wally that length of time to break his bounce. Numbers will wobble around during a bounce, and some cats will go higher, just before they break the bounce and come down. Something to watch for in Wally, and if you see a possible pattern like that, hold off on the increase for a cycle.

Unfortunately Wally did a really steep drop today. On average over 70 points per hour. So he's probably going to bounce from that steep drop too. :rolleyes: I see those steep drops are not uncommon. What is your feeding schedule for Wally? I wonder if he needs a small meal just before onset, to slow his fast drops.
 
Not really surprising you saw green today - it's six cycles after the last green numbers. It took Wally that length of time to break his bounce. Numbers will wobble around during a bounce, and some cats will go higher, just before they break the bounce and come down. Something to watch for in Wally, and if you see a possible pattern like that, hold off on the increase for a cycle.

Unfortunately Wally did a really steep drop today. On average over 70 points per hour. So he's probably going to bounce from that steep drop too. :rolleyes: I see those steep drops are not uncommon. What is your feeding schedule for Wally? I wonder if he needs a small meal just before onset, to slow his fast drops.
He gets a can of FF (diluted with water) at each shot time and then I feed him more if he's acting hungry. One of my other cats (18 yr old Indiana Jones) is on pred and is always asking for food so when I give him FF, Wally gets some as well. What do you mean by onset?
 
From the New to the Group Sticky Note, these are concept you should know about your cat, as well as how he responds to carbs:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
  • How to do a Curve - a simple explanation
 
From the New to the Group Sticky Note, these are concept you should know about your cat, as well as how he responds to carbs:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
  • How to do a Curve - a simple explanation
I was thinking that's what onset meant, but wasn't quite sure. For Wally - it seems to be between 3-4 hours but he's not consistent, for sure. And he does usually have a 'snack' 2-3 hours after his shot/meal time since he very rarely eats all of his food at once. He's a slow eater.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top