Walking on wrist

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger and the squid

Member Since 2018
I know you folks arent professionals and I'm definitely going to be calling my vet, I'm just hoping to get some insight on if this is urgent enough to see a different doctor or if I can wait until my vet gets back from vacation (monday)

Tiger is walking on his wrist. He doesnt respond like it hurts, I can straighten his arm out and he made little grabby paws when I was holding him.

I did a google search very quickly but the images dont match what Tiger is doing.
 

Attachments

  • 20180928_075350.jpg
    20180928_075350.jpg
    46.5 KB · Views: 95
I hate working a full time job with this now. The vet could have gotten me in today at 1045 (about two hours from now) but idk how long the wait might be idk how long his appointment might be. I scheduled him for tomorrow at 1245. At least that way I only have to take off an hour and a half. I'm still going home on my lunch to check on him.

It's just so expensive to take him to the vet and get his tests. I wish I could work part time hours and get paid full time dollars.
 
I hate working a full time job with this now. The vet could have gotten me in today at 1045 (about two hours from now) but idk how long the wait might be idk how long his appointment might be. I scheduled him for tomorrow at 1245. At least that way I only have to take off an hour and a half. I'm still going home on my lunch to check on him.

It's just so expensive to take him to the vet and get his tests. I wish I could work part time hours and get paid full time dollars.
If it's neuropathy many people have had success in alleviating it, even partially, by giving a B12 supplement long term. The other really important factor is achieving better BG control. The B12 supplement many order online is called Zobaline.
 
If it's neuropathy many people have had success in alleviating it, even partially, by giving a B12 supplement long term. The other really important factor is achieving better BG control. The B12 supplement many order online is called Zobaline.
I actually do have zobaline, but I haven't been giving it. Dont ask me why. I don't have a good excuse.

Tiger and I have definitely been struggling to get that bg control. I feel like I'm letting him down so much lately. Sometimes his numbers are good, sometimes hes too low for a shot and then inevitably he is too high when it's time for the next shot so I think it's been hard for him to regulate.

I've been trying to do ... tight regulation I think but it might be time to switch to just low and slow. Maybe drop him to 1u and increase if he needs rather than trying to skip and decrease. I should really post in the lantus forums.
 
I actually do have zobaline, but I haven't been giving it. Dont ask me why. I don't have a good excuse.

Tiger and I have definitely been struggling to get that bg control. I feel like I'm letting him down so much lately. Sometimes his numbers are good, sometimes hes too low for a shot and then inevitably he is too high when it's time for the next shot so I think it's been hard for him to regulate.

I've been trying to do ... tight regulation I think but it might be time to switch to just low and slow. Maybe drop him to 1u and increase if he needs rather than trying to skip and decrease. I should really post in the lantus forums.
Have you asked for advice on the L forum?
 
How are the hind feet with walking? Neuropathy normally manifests itself first in the hind legs.
However, the BGs shown in your SS indicate that neuropathy is very likely
 
How long does b12 take to help? I'm going home on my lunch to check on him so I'll give him some zobaline, if he'll eat a little more or drink.

What are the adverse affects of neuropathy untreated for too long?
 
He weaves and wobbles sometimes. He doesn't walk on his heels though, hes on his toes like normal.
That is not normal/expected with high BGs.
What are the adverse effects of neuropathy untreated for too long?
The aly bad effects of neuropathy typically urination. Hard to walk to the LB and when in hind legs the cat may get the abdominal in the wet little.
The bending over of the wrist as shown in the image could be a neurological problem unrelated to diabetic neuropathy. When a vet does a neurological exam it included bending the wrist over and sees if it go back to normal position.
 
How long does b12 take to help? I'm going home on my lunch to check on him so I'll give him some zobaline, if he'll eat a little more or drink.

What are the adverse affects of neuropathy untreated for too long?

My cat Orlando has had neuropathy for quite a while now, since the beginning of the year (his bgs are crazy, I haven’t been able to control them yet). Started off with the hind legs, walking on his wrists, then got worse and worse and went to his front legs. He took zobaline for a month, which made him walk a little better, but I couldn’t get more since my country (Brazil) won’t allow me to import it from Amazon.
He also has arthrits, which I’m not sure if it’s a side effect of uncontrolled neuropathy or not. So, after a few months I saw his front and hind legs started to look normal again (aside from the weirdness of the arthrits), he started walking normal again (on his toes). But his back looked severely arched (upwards, right in the middle). Me and my vet figured that’s a way his body found to not have so much pain and walk normal again. He probably has back problems as well, poor thing. I started giving him 1ml of gabapentin twice a day around 10 days ago. It seems to be working, he doesn’t seem in pain anymore when walking.

Like I said, I don’t know if the arthrits is a side effect of uncontrolled neuropathy (due to high bgs for so long), but that’s the progression Orlando had. Maybe this helps someone.

Do take Tiger to the vet. He might have arthrits. It’s a painful condition but there are ways to help him be more comfortable.
And, of course, try to get his bgs back in control (which is way easier said than done, I know).
Good luck and keep us posted on your findings ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top