"Walk me through hometesting, please"

Status
Not open for further replies.
A dry kibble of turkey, salmon, duck blend from Pet Curean is all she'll eat at the moment. I've tried all these wet foods Pro Plan DM, Go! from Pet Curean, Sheba pate, Fancy Feast classics and she won't eat any of them! She did before but she was always picky. This has been the hardest thing ever!

Keep working at it. I decided when Shorty got diagnosed, to transition ALL of our cats to wet food. My little Prima Donna Kitty, Nunu, she wouldn't touch it at first. Now, two weeks later, she is eating the wet along with the other cats. You may have to transition a little at a time. Take the wet, and maybe add 5 pieces of dry to it and stir it in.
 
Yes. I can view the chart but l can't manipulate the fields. Is that how it's supposed to be? I had a friend try and download it as well and the same thing happened to him.

It sometimes takes up to a minute for me, to be able to adjust Shorty's chart. Did you follow the instructions fully, on setting it up?

You have to take the template chart provided in the link below, copy it, rename it, and publish it, I believe the process goes.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
Check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some supplemental assessments to help you evaluate your cat. There are some tips on urine testing, plus dehydration checks, and more.
 
Sorry but l don't have a computer. I've been communicating through my phone which is a GalaxyS5.
 
Keep working at it. I decided when Shorty got diagnosed, to transition ALL of our cats to wet food. My little Prima Donna Kitty, Nunu, she wouldn't touch it at first. Now, two weeks later, she is eating the wet along with the other cats. You may have to transition a little at a time. Take the wet, and maybe add 5 pieces of dry to it and stir it in.
She was eating some wet food before she got ill. I believe from the syringe feedings when she was really ill over the 4th of July weekend she now has a food aversion. She actually ran from wet food today. Believe me l haven't given up. That’s why l'm here.
 
You said once that Phoebe ate some of your hamburger, you can cook up some meat for her to add some protein without carbs. Just make sure not to add any spices, and only use it for part of a meal or as a snack, because it doesn't have all the vitamins she needs.
 
You said once that Phoebe ate some of your hamburger, you can cook up some meat for her to add some protein without carbs. Just make sure not to add any spices, and only use it for part of a meal or as a snack, because it doesn't have all the vitamins she needs.
Sharon l'm cooking hamburger and chicken for her today. I was thinking the same thing when l went to bed last night!
 
Sue suggested you try to eyeball 1.25 units if she was over 300 this AM. Do you think you can do that? Do your syringes have 1/2 unit markings?
 
Have we ever given you the link to this site
http://www.catinfo.org
Lots of great info.
Yes I'm well aware of the pitfalls of dry food. I've been getting her off dry food since she was diagnosed with diabetes in September. It's been a struggle with Phoebe. She would go days if she had too without eating when you changed her food. But honestly in the last 3 months she started consuming and enjoying wet food. As well as the occasional piece of chicken torn from my dinner. To say she's finicky is an understatement. I offered her a treat after her glucose test was done she loved that. Then l put some treats in wet food and she ran from them. Wouldn't take the treats at all.
 
Sue suggested you try to eyeball 1.25 units if she was over 300 this AM. Do you think you can do that? Do your syringes have 1/2 unit markings?
I eyeballed it Sharon at 1.25. I'm pretty good at reading measurements and fractional numbers from my line of work.
 
Great! Hope the increase does the trick. Getting her into better numbers may help her appetite too.
Sharon all l can say is the increase in insulin seems to have put a pep in her step! She's up and about eyeing the chipmunks outside and asking too go out! When should l give her another reading? I made her a chicken breast this morning but she didn't eat it. But this was already after she ate before 530am.
 
Great news that she is feeling better. A +1 or a +2 test is always good to get to see how active the cycle will be. If at +1 or +2 the number is the same or less than the pre shot number, it means it could be an active cycle and vigilance is needed. Since it's all ready past that time, I would aim for one that would be about +4 and try and do a curve today every 2 hours from the +4. That information will be valuable to see how this dose will do.
 
Yes. I can view the chart but l can't manipulate the fields. Is that how it's supposed to be? I had a friend try and download it as well and the same thing happened to him.

If your doing it on a tablet it might not work. I can view but can not enter data. I can only enter on desktop or phone.

I use the same phone you do. Someone else set it up for me since I couldn't do it on phone or kindle fire. Once it was done I can do it on the phone. It might be faster to let someone do it for you.
 
If your doing it on a tablet it might work. I can view but can not enter data. I can only enter on desktop or phone.
I don't own a tablet or a computer at the moment. Everything l do is through my Droid which is a Galaxy S5
 
285 is still high, but since she was over 400 this AM, it shows the ProZinc is working. Sue and Rachel will help you find a good dose when you get a little more data. We'd like to get her where she's in the 200's at preshot time and in the 100's at nadir(the time when the insulin is at it's peak-usually 5-7 hours after the shot, but can vary). By testing through the day, your finding out when the insulin has onset(starts working), nadir, and it's duration. Hopefully Marje can set up a spreadsheet for you, after that you can fill it out from your phone.
 
Better numbers than yesterday, which is always a good sign of movement in the right direction. We suggest holding a dose at least three cycles before increasing, unless the number at nadir is 50 or under or the preshot is under 200. Slow and steady, good that she ate and is feeling better and that her numbers are lower than yesterday.
 
I just wish l could be home all day with her tomorrow. I'll be able too get readings at 530am and 730am before work and of course when l get home from work.
 
As of 120pm Phoebe is at 353. Could her anti nausea medication cause it too spike up or is this the normal rate?
 
I don't think anti nausea meds cause spikes. How many hours after her shot was that test taken? Since many of us are in different time zones, start reporting her numbers as +#'s. For example 2 hours after her shot would be +2, 5hours after +5...
 
Hmmmm....I'm thinking that's about normal. She was mid 400s this morning, right? And went down to high 200s at +6....and now is going back up on the way to PM preshot.
 
So your curve readings are
7/24
AMPS 421
+4 345
+6 285
+8 352
+10 407
PMPS 389
+2 373
+4 304

How is her eating?
 
Last edited:
So your curve readings are
AMPS 421
+4 345
+6 285
+8 352
+10 407
PMPS 389

How is her eating?

She's doing really well! She ate a nice amount of the shredded chicken breast l made her. As well as her turkey, salmon, and duck dry food. Offered her a can of Weruva chicken n gravy which l think eventually she'll like but, still shows no interest. Likes the treats given during ear pricking. Hahaha. Should l continue too test or give her ears a break? I'll be able to test tomorrow as well. Drinking plenty of water. She's showing her spark again. She did a lot of talking today.
 
I would at least get a before bed test every night. Post it here so we can add it to today's results until we can get the spreadsheet set up for you. I'm so glad she's feeling better! Go Phoebe!!!!:cat:
 
Glad to hear that she ate well! The numbers are higher than we'd like, but the insulin is clearly working...and she didn't drop super low which is good. Since you can test tomorrow, I'd get your normal preshots and then something in the mid cycle range...around +6 if you can...just so we can see how low she goes. It'll help to determine if the dose needs to be adjusted or not. :)

Isn't it wonderful when they first start to really feel better? I remember with Gypsy, I didn't truly realize how bad she'd been feeling until we got started with insulin. I guess it's a slow process for the when they are getting sick so you don't always see it until they get better. I'm glad that Phoebe is starting to be her old self!
 
I would at least get a before bed test every night. Post it here so we can add it to today's results until we can get the spreadsheet set up for you. I'm so glad she's feeling better! Go Phoebe!!!!:cat:
Awww...Phoebe thanks you Sharon for the well wishes as l as well!
 
Phoebe's BG is
373 at +14 at 730pm central time zone

304 at +16 at 930pm central time zone
 
Glad to hear that she ate well! The numbers are higher than we'd like, but the insulin is clearly working...and she didn't drop super low which is good. Since you can test tomorrow, I'd get your normal preshots and then something in the mid cycle range...around +6 if you can...just so we can see how low she goes. It'll help to determine if the dose needs to be adjusted or not. :)

Isn't it wonderful when they first start to really feel better? I remember with Gypsy, I didn't truly realize how bad she'd been feeling until we got started with insulin. I guess it's a slow process for the when they are getting sick so you don't always see it until they get better. I'm glad that Phoebe is starting to be her old self!
Rachel wonderful is an understatement! It's made me feel good beyond words too see/know that Phoebe was feeling better today! Too have witnessed her flickering eyes on the Saturday morning of 4th of July weekend. And to see her now is wonderful.

Thanks everyone for getting her here! ❤
 
Now if she would just eat wet food! Has anyone suggested just putting a little bit of the wet food in a dish next to the food she will eat? Sometimes if they think it is their choice, they will start eating it. :p

When we switched Oliver from dry to wet, he dropped 100 points overnight, just imagine her +2 100 points lower!

Meanwhile, I'd give this dose today and tonight and if she is still in the high 300s for preshot tomorrow morning, then maybe increase to 1.5. (Hoping you could get a level 5-7 hours after the shot) We have to compensate for the extra carbs in the dry until she decides wet would be okay...

Glad to hear she is more like herself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top