Waiting for Lantus from DCIN

Status
Not open for further replies.
These are what I think the steps are for tomorrow....I need to stop and get some alcohol prep pads for the pen
1-Come home from work
2-give cuddles/love
3-test BG
4-feed
5-Give injection (1 unit=1/10ml) - I don't know the no shoot range
6-test BG 30 minutes after feeding (to make sure it doesn't drop below 60 ?)
7-give treat and cuddles
8-Pour large glass of wine & Pray while I watch Malcolm and make sure he doesn't get weird or sick.
Edits Welcomed !!!!!!!

;) like your style Cristie - lots of cuddles for kitty & a glass of wine for you - sounds like you've got a good plan !! Hope Malcolm starts feeling lots better soon :)
 
Printing as I type. I looked in my cupboards for the items for the hypo tool kit last night and set them on the counter. How do I know my dosing method? the Vet just said twice a day. I guess since I work and can't test BG 5 times a day, I would use SLGS.
That's what I used for Rocky SLGS it worked very well for us since sometimes I'm way to busy to test so frequently. Good luck hope he's doing well!!:bighug:
 
Mail is running late today (of course) but...........I think Malcolm may have pooped!!!!!! There was a fresh, soft pile of fudge in the litterbox and the hair on his booty is wet where he(or Tiffany) may have groomed after. I wiped his butt with a cotton round and it had some "dirt" on the round and smelled like poop. I could be wrong and it is just Tiffany's from her getting some of the Mirilax but I'm going to watch to see if I see 2 deposits daily. Really hoping it was his. If you asked 25 year old me about being a poop inspector, she never would have agreed to ever do it!! I scooped it into a ziploc bag and smooshed it to see if there was anything in there that may have been blocking traffic, but nope. I'm going to take the small win and be optimistic until the mail gets here with insulin. I hope it's soon because I want to feed Malcolm. How long do I have to inject after I feed him?
 
Mail is running late today (of course) but...........I think Malcolm may have pooped!!!!!! There was a fresh, soft pile of fudge in the litterbox and the hair on his booty is wet where he(or Tiffany) may have groomed after. I wiped his butt with a cotton round and it had some "dirt" on the round and smelled like poop. I could be wrong and it is just Tiffany's from her getting some of the Mirilax but I'm going to watch to see if I see 2 deposits daily. Really hoping it was his. If you asked 25 year old me about being a poop inspector, she never would have agreed to ever do it!! I scooped it into a ziploc bag and smooshed it to see if there was anything in there that may have been blocking traffic, but nope. I'm going to take the small win and be optimistic until the mail gets here with insulin. I hope it's soon because I want to feed Malcolm. How long do I have to inject after I feed him?
Mail still hasn't arrived at my studio and it's 7:30 here. Should I wait until tomorrow when I get home at 5:00 to do the first injection so I watch Malcolm for about 5 or 6 hours after? Or just feed him now and give the shot?
 
Mail still hasn't arrived at my studio and it's 7:30 here. Should I wait until tomorrow when I get home at 5:00 to do the first injection so I watch Malcolm for about 5 or 6 hours after? Or just feed him now and give the shot?
I wait 2 hours after feeding to shoot b/c your supposed to test right before shooting. Geeze isn't it always when your waiting on something important that the mail is late or something happens!!!
 
My schedule was feed @ 7AM test n shoot at 9AM , afternoon I'd split 1 can of FF for all 3 of my cats then dinner at 7PM test n shoot at 9PM. If that gives you some reference.
 
I found this:
Q2.4. Can I free-feed my cat?

A2.4. Generally, you want your cat to eat around the time he receives his insulin injections. Some people have set meal times, and others use free-feeding. Still others put down food at meal times only, but let the cat eat at his leisure. Insulin type is an important factor in this decision. Short-acting insulins, such as N (NPH), can be dangerous if the cat has not had a solid meal about half an hour or so before the shot; on the other hand, a cat on a long-acting insulin such as Lantus (insulin glargine) or PZI can follow a "grazing" schedule much more safely. Most people here would agree that feeding a cat between the time insulin peaks and the next shot is unwise, although a small high-protein, zero-carbohydrate snack such as chicken or tuna should not substantially affect blood glucose. Whatever you decide, be consistent.

I also free fed because I have 3 cats, they never finish their food when I put it down I never took it away so if he got low he'd eat. Also, I feed zero carb Young again dry because Rocky is a dry food junkie! But they don't eat much of that.
 
I found this:
Q2.4. Can I free-feed my cat?

A2.4. Generally, you want your cat to eat around the time he receives his insulin injections. Some people have set meal times, and others use free-feeding. Still others put down food at meal times only, but let the cat eat at his leisure. Insulin type is an important factor in this decision. Short-acting insulins, such as N (NPH), can be dangerous if the cat has not had a solid meal about half an hour or so before the shot; on the other hand, a cat on a long-acting insulin such as Lantus (insulin glargine) or PZI can follow a "grazing" schedule much more safely. Most people here would agree that feeding a cat between the time insulin peaks and the next shot is unwise, although a small high-protein, zero-carbohydrate snack such as chicken or tuna should not substantially affect blood glucose. Whatever you decide, be consistent.

I also free fed because I have 3 cats, they never finish their food when I put it down I never took it away so if he got low he'd eat. Also, I feed zero carb Young again dry because Rocky is a dry food junkie! But they don't eat much of that.
Thanks. I was reading the stickies looking for insight
 
Upon further inspection of the poop, it IS Malcolm's !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I use breeze clay pellets and thought that was what I felt but there are 3 hair globs about the size of "Mike n Ike" candies and they are all black hair. Tiffany is all white haired. (me singing) We got some poop...We got some poop...We got some poop :woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot:
This gets my nomination for FDMB Post of the Week.

Really made me smile. :D


Mogs
.
 
Hi Cristie, and welcome, I hope when you feel comfortable you will come and post any questions about Lantus over in the subforum.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/

I see further above in your post that you were asking about when to test, feed and shoot?

To answer that question, we recommend that you test, feed and give insulin all within 15 minutes or so. You want to test first, to make sure it is safe to give insulin.

In general, it is suggested to withhold food 2 hours before preshot so as not to have a possible food influenced number when you do give insulin. That can artificially inflate the BG which is particularly problematic if the test is a lower number. You have no way of knowing whether that number was bumped up because of the food that was eaten. Of course once you get a better idea of how your cat responds to insulin and carbs in the food, then this can potentially be relaxed. There is a lot of information to absorb, so we will be happy to help you if you have any questions.
 
Hi Cristie, and welcome, I hope when you feel comfortable you will come and post any questions about Lantus over in the subforum.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/

I see further above in your post that you were asking about when to test, feed and shoot?

To answer that question, we recommend that you test, feed and give insulin all within 15 minutes or so. You want to test first, to make sure it is safe to give insulin.

In general, it is suggested to withhold food 2 hours before preshot so as not to have a possible food influenced number when you do give insulin. That can artificially inflate the BG which is particularly problematic if the test is a lower number. You have no way of knowing whether that number was bumped up because of the food that was eaten. Of course once you get a better idea of how your cat responds to insulin and carbs in the food, then this can potentially be relaxed. There is a lot of information to absorb, so we will be happy to help you if you have any questions.
So that's where I got the 2 hours from! I was starting to question how I got 2 hours before the shoot. It worked for us staying with the 2 hours sometimes less.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top