vomiting cat - not eating much this morning

Status
Not open for further replies.

MinneapolisJeff

Member Since 2023
So still trying to figure out Marvin's insulin dosage, he's currently receiving 3 units morning/night of Vetsulin. Today he's had a bit of a vomiting episode, so he's not eaten much since receiving his morning dosage. Just checked his BG level on the AlphaTrak3... it's over 500 currently. Aiming to call the vet if I can't figure out what to do here, I want him to eat some food and do I give him an extra dosage of Vetsulin this afternoon?

EDIT- he's got some diarrhea, so his stomach must be a little upset. Got him to eat wet food and he held it down. Quick test maybe 45 minutes later and his BG was back into the 300s. Still not super hungry, however, he is drinking water just fine.
 
Last edited:
NEVER give an extra dose of insulin in the afternoon. As I have read in some of your previous posts you were asked to start a spreadsheet so members can help you
and see how the insulin is working for Marvin .
Also can you set up your signature
Here is the link so you can set up your signature and spreadsheet
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.

The signature is at the end of everyone's post in gray ,information about our cats
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save

Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Also almost all of us use human meters that's what our numbers are based on

@MinneapolisJeff
 
Last edited:
So still trying to figure out Marvin's insulin dosage, he's currently receiving 3 units morning/night of Vetsulin. Today he's had a bit of a vomiting episode, so he's not eaten much since receiving his morning dosage. Just checked his BG level on the AlphaTrak3... it's over 500 currently. Aiming to call the vet if I can't figure out what to do here, I want him to eat some food and do I give him an extra dosage of Vetsulin this afternoon?

EDIT- he's got some diarrhea, so his stomach must be a little upset. Got him to eat wet food and he held it down. Quick test maybe 45 minutes later and his BG was back into the 300s. Still not super hungry, however, he is drinking water just fine.
I can tag a few members about the vomiting and diarrhea to see what they suggest
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Angela & Cleo
 
he's stable this afternoon, he's eating a little wet food, drinking some water, mostly resting on the sofa with eyes half closed
 
before I get to the spreadsheet, I need to get Marvin to stop vomiting and resume eating/drinking. How do I know if his espisode today is related to ketones? Reg vet can get me in tomorrow morning, emer vet I could get in today.

UPDATE- I opted for emer vet, just not sure how serious/non-serious the vomiting is now that he’s a diabetic cat; he stopped eating/drinking anything, even refused treats. I can’t wait till tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
@MinneapolisJeff
Jeff please let us know what the ER vet says
If you ever want to test for ketones
You can do this by buying a bottle of ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and testing a urine sample via the directions on the side of the bottle.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the update , glad there was no ketones, are they keeping Marvin overnight
not sure yet, the vet did say he was pretty dehydrated, he's going to get sub-q fluids but she was worried about my ability to keep him hydrated overnight

pretty sure if his nausea and diarrhea ended, he'd go back to his usual self and drink plenty from his water fountain
 
I agree with Red, they need to figure out what's causing the vomiting and nausea.
It's not hard at all to give sub-q fluids at home.
I had to do it with Tyler's brother years ago
Please keep us updated :bighug: Marvin is such a gorgeous boy. Sending positive vibes for your boy
 
Good news, I brought Marvin home last night. He went through a barage of tests and happy to say none of his organs had any issue (always good news to hear for a 21lb Norwegian Forest Cat). In the end, the vet deduced the cause was from gasteroenteritis. I'm not sure of the cause, maybe it was me because of the food changes we're trying to make due to diabetes, maybe it was something else. But when he quit eating AND drinking, I just didn't know what it could be from.

He missed his insulin last night since he wasn't eating, but he's back to eating/drinking this morning and had his morning Vetsulin as well.
 
@MinneapolisJeff
That's such great news Jeff, I'm so glad to hear that he's back to eating and drinking.
How's the poop situation
Was he sent home with any type of meds
What wet food are you feeding him now
 
Last edited:
@MinneapolisJeff
That's such great news Jeff, I'm so glad to hear that he's back to eating and drinking.
How's the poop situation
Was he sent home for any type of meds
What wet food are you feeding him now
he's got Buprenorphine, which i'm not giving him since he seems fine, 3 days worth
Maropitant, 2 days worth
Proviable-DC, 7 days

Food is what had been working- Sheba & TikiCat pate'

No pooping yet since his stomach was almost empty an entire day yesterday
 
still battling diarrhea unfortunately, and then today he's decided not to eat again, sigh

don't have a reason for the setback, will continue day to day with him
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top