vomit white bubbly liquid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jena4277

Member Since 2017
Hi all - Advice on frequent vomitting of a white clear liquid? My cats stomach is always gurgling. She eats two larger meals plus has food out, gets fresh by mom during the day and me before bed, and grazes every two hours or so, but still vomits almost daily if not 2 - 3 days. Last night twice, although she didn't eat a huge dinner meal bc I have her human meaty delicious scraps...

She was on pepcid for pancreatitis and didn't really like it. Any other solutions for a chronic acidy stomach?
 
Hi all - Advice on frequent vomitting of a white clear liquid? My cats stomach is always gurgling. She eats two larger meals plus has food out, gets fresh by mom during the day and me before bed, and grazes every two hours or so, but still vomits almost daily if not 2 - 3 days. Last night twice, although she didn't eat a huge dinner meal bc I have her human meaty delicious scraps...

She was on pepcid for pancreatitis and didn't really like it. Any other solutions for a chronic acidy stomach?
I wonder if Slippery Elm bark is good for this? @Djamila
 
I wonder if Slippery Elm bark is good for this? @Djamila
Came home to two piles of undigested food vomit today. She isn’t nauseous as she is eating but somethings not right. When I test her sugar is is always quite normal (for her). Never high or low. Usually between 70-150. I really cannot place it this time.... here we go again. :banghead:
 
Slippery elm bark is good for just about anything GI related, but with a history of pancreatitis, I might lean towards cerenia or ondansetron on this one. Might be worth calling the vet to see if she’ll prescribe either of those.

Poor kitty! I hope she feels better soon!
 
Do you hear her stomach gurgling between meals like she’s starving? My thyroid kitty began this with hyperthyroid. Couldn’t get enough to eat & vomiting foam until she was on medication. It could be indigestion & the other things might be worth a try first. I think the t-4 test runs around $50 if you want to pursue that avenue. Just a thought.
 
How are things going with you and Abby?
Hi there!

So after her blood tests came back postitive for hyperthyroid at (8.0 at a scale of .8-2.5) and pancreatits, she was on cerenia and she had cream for three weeks to lower her HT. I went back for blood test and her thyroid is at 6. So they strengthened the medicine and she has had that new strength since sunday so in a few weeks more tests. She has been on cerenia every day because she was vomitting when I took her off of it a couple weeks ago...

Her bg has been all over the place. My spreadsheet hasn't been updated in weeks because I am super busy (going to europe with 17 students tomorrow). She has been ranging 240 - 450 at preshot time...today it was 560!!!! I freaked out of course since I am leaving her tomorrow...I am leaving her with a fat one dose for a week so maybe that will help the numbers. She has never tested that high for me, ever in her life. Not sure what accounts for that. She could have been super super super dangerously low last night...she also ate some salty chips and 3 temptations treats but that was before her PM shot and she was a usual 350...When I come back I will run some more tests but I hope this number is just part of the rollercoaster.

Physically, she is having a hard time jumping up again. The vet pulled her back leg for blood and ever since, she is in visible pain. Her carpal arthritis is beyond repair, and she limps every time she walks. She is 15 after all, but it is sad to see her walk like that.

She found a new spot on our couch on a comfy fleece blanket...when I leave the house she is curled up fast asleep. :cat:
 
Hi there!

So after her blood tests came back postitive for hyperthyroid at (8.0 at a scale of .8-2.5) and pancreatits, she was on cerenia and she had cream for three weeks to lower her HT. I went back for blood test and her thyroid is at 6. So they strengthened the medicine and she has had that new strength since sunday so in a few weeks more tests. She has been on cerenia every day because she was vomitting when I took her off of it a couple weeks ago...

Her bg has been all over the place. My spreadsheet hasn't been updated in weeks because I am super busy (going to europe with 17 students tomorrow). She has been ranging 240 - 450 at preshot time...today it was 560!!!! I freaked out of course since I am leaving her tomorrow...I am leaving her with a fat one dose for a week so maybe that will help the numbers. She has never tested that high for me, ever in her life. Not sure what accounts for that. She could have been super super super dangerously low last night...she also ate some salty chips and 3 temptations treats but that was before her PM shot and she was a usual 350...When I come back I will run some more tests but I hope this number is just part of the rollercoaster.

Physically, she is having a hard time jumping up again. The vet pulled her back leg for blood and ever since, she is in visible pain. Her carpal arthritis is beyond repair, and she limps every time she walks. She is 15 after all, but it is sad to see her walk like that.

She found a new spot on our couch on a comfy fleece blanket...when I leave the house she is curled up fast asleep. :cat:
The thyroid meds can cause GI upset. The hope is that it calms down as kitty gets used to them.

That's a big undertaking going to Europe with 17 students! :confused: Good luck. I hope Abby stays stable while you're away.

Let us know how she's doing when you get back. :)
 
The thyroid meds can cause GI upset. The hope is that it calms down as kitty gets used to them.

That's a big undertaking going to Europe with 17 students! :confused: Good luck. I hope Abby stays stable while you're away.

Let us know how she's doing when you get back. :)

I have not been updating my spreadsheet. I have not been doing before bedtime tests.
But her pre shot numbers have been consistently in the 400s and she is never that high. She had an increase in the strength of her thyroid med, so Idk if there is a relationship.
She had a fat 1 while i was away so maybe her body is getting used to the 1.25 dose again...last night before bed it was 271 at +4, which is high for her based on past data.
I am super busy, super overtired, and currently have the biggest headache. Im thinking of upping dose to 1.5. I havent decided yet.

In other news, the trip was amazing- thanks for your well wishes.
 
@Djamila @Kris & Teasel @Rachel

Hi Ladies. I need some help...

Abby's sugar has been bizerk for weeks. Two weeks ago she became an enormously picky eater. She will only eat chicken & tuna flaked, tuna flaked, or chicken/turkey pate sometimes. She began to vomit again because she will go hours without eating (she needs to eat every hour) if I put food she didnt like in her bowl which is why i had to resort to flaked/more fish options. She has been drinking so much water and peeing so much. She has a bowl of water maybe 1.5 cups and by the time she eats her bfast and i leave for work 1/3 of it or more is gone. Her bg is erratic. At peak she is in the upper 200s or 300s with no budge. One night she was 79 from a 350 preshot test. Another night peak in the 300s so I figured I missed the shot until it happened again and again... Today she was 401 at breakfast. I have been changing her dosage by .25 every few days to see. When I was away it was fat 1, when I got back 1.25 after her sugar didnt move 1.5 then the 79 triggered me to 1.25 again and now I am trying 1.5 again. This morning after shooting, i tested an hour later and she was UP at 425 on a 1.5 shot. I have done curves and very little to no movement. The lowest number I caught besides the 79 was 180 in amost 4 weeks.

I need like a restart...idk what to do...I also am at the last 1/4 tsp on insulin left i bought in january but i read the strength does not change on old insulin.

I also looked at the food nutrition chart. The pates have 2% carbs and the flakes have 6% but they are higher in protein and lower in phosphorous. Can the 4% difference be the culprit??????? If shes not eating the regular pates, I cannot go back to that...she needs insulin whether she is eating large or small...but I just need her to eat. That is a #1 prority.

PS her thyroid level is way down! she goes for bloodwork next week again...
 
Jena, I don't see a spreadsheet in your signature. Could you share the link so we can take a look at what's going on?
 
Without being able to see the dose changes and numbers over time, I'm not really sure how to help you. We really heavily on the data to guide our advice. That's the only way we can know if Abby is getting too much, too little, or if there might be something else going on. If you could even fill in the data from the past couple of weeks and share it, it would be really helpful.
 
Without being able to see the dose changes and numbers over time, I'm not really sure how to help you. We really heavily on the data to guide our advice. That's the only way we can know if Abby is getting too much, too little, or if there might be something else going on. If you could even fill in the data from the past couple of weeks and share it, it would be really helpful.

So I put the spreadsheet back filling inwhat I could definitely with dates and doses for the past three days otherwise I don’t remember what day it was or what the dosage is because my meter was not programmed correctly to the date and time. I tried to mathematically go backward and figure out the dates but it didn’t work out. It is really unhelpful. The gist is that at her Nadir she is unbelievably high yet at her pre-test times she is at her normal 300 range so it appears as if the insulin is either not working, or I am not shooting it in correctly but I always check and I never Do a fur shot
 
Hmmm...it says access denied. I think you have to click File and then Publish to the Web.

From the information you've given, my guess is your insulin has lost it's strength. That can happen over time and the insulin is over 5 months old probably...after about 4 months, we often see it starting to lose some potency. Any chance you can get a new bottle? I think that might help.

As for the carb count...well some kitties can be carb sensitive. But if he'll only eat some things, that doesn't matter...you feed what he'll eat because he MUST eat. You just dose around it. It's not ideal, but we've had to do it for other kitties before. It's not the end of the world.
 
Hmmm...it says access denied. I think you have to click File and then Publish to the Web.

From the information you've given, my guess is your insulin has lost it's strength. That can happen over time and the insulin is over 5 months old probably...after about 4 months, we often see it starting to lose some potency. Any chance you can get a new bottle? I think that might help.

As for the carb count...well some kitties can be carb sensitive. But if he'll only eat some things, that doesn't matter...you feed what he'll eat because he MUST eat. You just dose around it. It's not ideal, but we've had to do it for other kitties before. It's not the end of the world.
Thanks for your reply. I just ordered now. I truly hope that is the reason. I just have no explanation ... I left my pc at work so I will change the share settings tomorrow.
 
Hmmm...it says access denied. I think you have to click File and then Publish to the Web.

From the information you've given, my guess is your insulin has lost it's strength. That can happen over time and the insulin is over 5 months old probably...after about 4 months, we often see it starting to lose some potency. Any chance you can get a new bottle? I think that might help.

As for the carb count...well some kitties can be carb sensitive. But if he'll only eat some things, that doesn't matter...you feed what he'll eat because he MUST eat. You just dose around it. It's not ideal, but we've had to do it for other kitties before. It's not the end of the world.

I am changing her food back to pate only. She has had severe diahrea ever since the change. She licks all the gravy sauce which is unhealthy and is drinking so much water that its just falling out of her. This morning I gave her a fat 1.5.

She is vomitting again probably due to sugar levels - i really am defeated today. I hope the new insulin helps...

let me know if you can see the spreadsheetn ow. i think i fixed it
 
@Kris & Teasel @Rachel @Djamila

Hi. I plugged in some numbers I got once my meter date and time were set correctly. I have been concerned with abbys increase in clinical signs, more water, more food, more active at night. After my last visit at the vet and a thyroid at 3, it is now a 4.9 as of last week, so they upped the power of the medicine again...
I thought the insulin wasnt working because it was an old bottle. So i got a new one, and she is wonky still. She is not breaking 200. Sometimes her bg is increasing.

I am writing because tonight she had an ¨episode¨ like she had two years ago at DKA...
She vomitted white liquid which she has been doing like 1 - 2 a week. in the past two days, three times. She usually eats right after bc her stomach is legit empty bc she vomits nothing... Then about 10 min later she gets up and starts to wobble and pant and her heart beat is going a million miles a minute and she is keeled over. She tries to walk but has no strength so just collapses and lays down. She kept panting and panting. Her eyes were not focused. She didnt move her head. She got up and moved to the corner of the room and sat panting again. She was very weak. Her eyes looked awful, at one point i thought her left pupil blew. They were looking in two different directions.
I laid there with her a while. Then her breathing started to regulate. She climbed up the stairs to her food bowl. Made it halfway and needed a break. Her right side was weak and she couldnt lift it so she only used her left side. She almost got to her bowl then sat down again and began panting. A minute later she got up and then went to eat and drink...a lot. She then proceeded to jump up and down from the bed without much effort to my suprise and is now lying with me on my bed looking at the window. She appears very tired and very weak hardly keeping her eyes open.
During all of this i managed to grab bg and it was 399, almost 100 pt increase since her PM test....im really not sure what is going on with her insulin at all. I want to increase to 1.5 for a few rounds. I am really not sure of anything..... I will just be monitoring her all night....
 
Jena, I'm so sorry to read this - it must have been terribly stressful! Can you get a call into the vet to see if they have any idea what might have happened?

As far as the vomiting, how many hours is Abby going between feedings? Sometimes vomiting clear liquid is an indication that their stomach has been empty for too long. Do you think that might be the case?

Thanks so much for entering the data. It looks like she's had a couple of nice greens on this dose, although her pre-shot numbers are still higher than ideal. What is your schedule looking like this weekend? Do you think you might be able to get some daytime mid-cycle numbers on Saturday or Sunday?

Please keep us updated if you learn anything about what might be going on with Abby after that episode, and sending healing vines to Abby and hugs to you! :bighug:
 
@Kris & Teasel @Rachel @Djamila

Hi. I plugged in some numbers I got once my meter date and time were set correctly. I have been concerned with abbys increase in clinical signs, more water, more food, more active at night. After my last visit at the vet and a thyroid at 3, it is now a 4.9 as of last week, so they upped the power of the medicine again...
I thought the insulin wasnt working because it was an old bottle. So i got a new one, and she is wonky still. She is not breaking 200. Sometimes her bg is increasing.

I am writing because tonight she had an ¨episode¨ like she had two years ago at DKA...
She vomitted white liquid which she has been doing like 1 - 2 a week. in the past two days, three times. She usually eats right after bc her stomach is legit empty bc she vomits nothing... Then about 10 min later she gets up and starts to wobble and pant and her heart beat is going a million miles a minute and she is keeled over. She tries to walk but has no strength so just collapses and lays down. She kept panting and panting. Her eyes were not focused. She didnt move her head. She got up and moved to the corner of the room and sat panting again. She was very weak. Her eyes looked awful, at one point i thought her left pupil blew. They were looking in two different directions.
I laid there with her a while. Then her breathing started to regulate. She climbed up the stairs to her food bowl. Made it halfway and needed a break. Her right side was weak and she couldnt lift it so she only used her left side. She almost got to her bowl then sat down again and began panting. A minute later she got up and then went to eat and drink...a lot. She then proceeded to jump up and down from the bed without much effort to my suprise and is now lying with me on my bed looking at the window. She appears very tired and very weak hardly keeping her eyes open.
During all of this i managed to grab bg and it was 399, almost 100 pt increase since her PM test....im really not sure what is going on with her insulin at all. I want to increase to 1.5 for a few rounds. I am really not sure of anything..... I will just be monitoring her all night....
Are you able to get a urine ketone test? I'd suggest a call to your vet for advice. This is a strange episode and with hyperthyroidism and diabetes in the picture there are so many factors to consider.
 
I will call tomorrow. This is exactly what happened two years ago. They called it DKA and seizures but who knows now. She did not shake. It’s a weird whole body loss of strength thing and she just sits lifeless for a while panting. It’s weird how it brought up the exact memory of the incident in 2016.
I do think the vomit is lack of food. I’ve been waiting for her to urinate and it hasn’t happened yet. I will keep an ear out all night...sadly and jump up to grab it. A ketone test is immediately what I thought too. Glad we r on same page!!
Thank u for your support ladies. Will let you know what the vet says if they are any help at all...
I will also get more tests this weekend.
 
I'm sorry Jena...how scary! Did you get a ketone test in last night? (Don't feel bad about the jumping up thing...we've all been kitty stalkers while waiting for some pee!). If you can't get a ketone test in, I'd be real tempted to bring her to the vet today. Mostly because the weekend is coming up, so you want to get her in beforehand in case. Please let us know...we'll be thinking about you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry Jena...how scary! Did you get a ketone test in last night? (Don't feel bad about the jumping up thing...we've all been kitty stalkers while waiting for some pee!). If you can't get a ketone test in, I'd be real tempted to bring her to the vet today. Mostly because the weekend is coming up, so you want to get her in beforehand in case. Please let us know...we'll be thinking about you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I did! It was negative........ I will try to get another one in today.

My vet said it is something neurological because of the way she wasnt focusing. She said it could have been a seizure due to several things.
 
I gave her a fat 1 today bc she isnt really eating and was at 222 this morning. I am giving cerenia tonight at dinner.
 
So glad the ketone test was negative. Hopefully she won't have any more of those episodes! And healing vines for her appetite. I hope she eats well tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top