Victor AMPS 472/26.2- No progress yet....

H Allen

Member Since 2022
AMPS was still in the red at 472 (26.2) with 2 units twice per day....I moved over to the 3/10 cc insulin syringes this morning- will do that for the day before deciding on increase. We've been at 2 units for a week now...I know patience.....But it's pretty hard to have when you just want to resolve this for your cat!
 
I know it's frustrating!

One thought is that the steroid (prednisolone?) you're giving Victor may be the culprit. Steroids raise BG numbers. The other culprit is what you're feeding your cat. Unless you've already transitioned to a low carb diet and not updated your signature, the dry food you're giving Victor is outrageously high in carbohydrates. Some of the ingredients are corn, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, brown rice, wheat gluten, pea fiber, powdered cellulose, dried plain beet pulp -- all of these are carbs and your cat isn't really able to process them. (My favorite is the powdered cellulose -- aka saw dust). The dental diet is approximately 44% carb. We recommend a low carb diet that's under 10% carb and most people use food that's about 5% or less. Cats are obligate carnivores and can't metabolize carbs.

One observation... Please always get a before bed test. I know it may seem like numbers are always high so why bother until you see more movement. However, many cats do experience lower numbers at night. You have no way of knowing if there's a negligible drop or if Victor is dropping into yellows at night and bouncing into a black at AMPS.

You've been at the current dose for 14 cycles so you're fine to increase. If you change his diet, do not increase the dose since a low carb diet can dramatically drop the numbers.

Are you testing for ketones? If not, given that your kitty is prone to ear infections, I would suggest testing as a precaution.You can find Ketostix at any pharmacy. You dip the strip into your cat's urine.
 
Good Morning! Yes ketones were clear on Monday- I have pee sticks and will test again this weekend.

I"ve decreased his Royal Canin diet- by decreasing the amount of that food I put out and increasing the amount of performain Ultra that is put out- which is grain free and less carbs- still dry though....I have 3 other cats with other medical issues and it is absolutely impossible to go to a meal time approach or an individual approach from the free range because of this. I have an EPI, FLUD, and Pemphigus foliacious issues with the other cats......I get the food thing and I'm doing the best I can do there....

Once we get the ear culutre back and can find an antibiotic that is specific for the current bacteria we will try and wean of the pred even more....I know it makes things even more difficult!
 
It helps us if you put something like "neg ketones" in the Remarks, so we know you tested. And we stop asking. ;)

As Sienne suggested, I agree that you are good to increase to 2.25 units.

Both my cats ended up on the same food, it was just easier for me and them. The wet food was also better for my other cats FLUTD.
 
Back
Top