Vetsulin users/Please help...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
I was just about to head to the Vetsulin group to get some help.
I brought Peyton home Friday and the vet suggested 1 unit of Vetsulin once a day. I don't have all our supplies Saturday sonic started testing yesterday. I didn't want to start poking too much the first day so I only testing AMPS (am preshot). His BG was 148. I wish I would have tested him again but I didn't.
This morning his AMPS was 134. I read about when this insulin is usually at its peak and tested him again then (BG 45). I fed him a slightly higher carb food and it increased to 53 after an hour.
I called the vet to see if I should decrease the insulin to 0.75 units once a day but he recommended 1 unit every other day. That doesn't seem right to me so I wanted to ask the Vetaulin group.
Peyton has gone into remission twice and I don't want to miss a chance to get him in remission again. Seems to me that skipping an entire day of insulin and then giving it would just confuse the pancreas. But what do I know? Ha!
 
That 45 test points to a dose reduction being necessary.

Do you have any U100 syringes? You can use U100 syringes with a conversion chart to give tiny doses of Vetsulin. NB - you can still get significant drops on tiny doses, so I'd recommend getting preshot and mid-cycle tests.

One option might be SID dosing of a token dose of Vetsulin. You may get a bit of carryover into the following cycle. If Peyton runs lower in one cycle than the other (e.g. at night) you could give the dose on the higher cycle and let Peyton coast through the lower cycle.

Hopefully other members will be along soon to advise you further. I had a look at Peyton's spreadsheet from last year. He seems very insulin-sensitive.
 
What does SID and NB mean? I don't recall all the abbreviations or slang terms used. I looked for descriptions but couldn't find them.
I do have U100 syringes from when he was on Lantus. What would be the recommendation from the group?
If he's under 150 or 200 AMPS should I just shoot a lower dose or skip unless his BG is higher than 200?
 
SID = once a day, once every 24 hours
BID = twice a day, generally every 12 hours
TID = three times a day, generally every 8 hours
NB is a note


Glossary is here
 
Hi Julie,

Sorry about the confusion over the abbreviations. Thankfully BJ saved the day.

Am I correct in the following:

- Tested AMPS at 134.
- Gave ONE UNIT (??) of Vetsulin.
- Tested mid-cycle and got a BG of 45. (At what time? +??)
- Fed some higher carb food.
- Tested after 1 hr and got a BG of 53.

If the above is correct, then the 1.0 unit dose of Vetsulin is too high (it's taking Peyton below 50 on a human meter).

Is there any chance you might be able to set up a new spreadsheet for Peyton with his Vetsulin data in it? The data from last year's spreadsheet is no guide to the here and now because Vetsulin works differently to Lantus and there has been a big gap since he was last on insulin so the state of his little pancreas won't be the same. Vetsulin is a much harsher insulin than Lantus and as you've seen it can produce steeper drops at onset, even with tiny doses - and especially where the pancreas seems to only need a tiny amount of support.

If Peyton were mine and he was under 200, I'd either skip or - if I were able to monitor - I'd try a dose of 0.2 IU of Vetsulin and run a full curve to see where the dose is taking the BG. I'd also feed mini meals throughout the cycle when running the curve (e.g. main meal at AMPS, smaller meals at +3 and +6, and a snack at +9). Do you think something like that might work for Peyton and yourself?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top