Vetsulin to Lantus Dosing

Bubba and Melissa

Member Since 2019
Hi. Switching from Vetsulin to Lantus tomorrow. Bubba is 12 pounds and has been on 3 units of Vetsulin BID for a couple days. The vet suggested a starting dose of 1.5 units of Lantus BID. Is that appropriate based on his previous dose of Vetsulin? I can be home all weekend and have a flexible work schedule so would like to try TR. Suggestions? Thanks.
 
Hello and welcome. I too switched from Caninsulin (rebranded as Vetsulin in the US) to Lantus. I also switched at too low a starting dose. Normally we'll take the dose of the previous insulin into consideration when switching. I wouldn't go as low as 1.5 units of Lantus but something closer to his current dose, with maybe a bit off. 2.5 units if you can monitor closely? I presume you have the U-100 syringes for Lantus?

Tagging @Bobbie And Bubba just cause she has an orange Bubba too. :)
 
Thank you. Yes I do have the u100 syringes. I got the Lantus from someone on here that shipped it so hopefully it works well. I did just get a script from the vet but it is $400 cash price through the pharmacies I have called. I will eventually use Mark's Marine after the 2 pens I got on here are done.
 
I would recommend posting here the next couple of days, just in case Bubba Bear decides to be a cat. :cat: Some cats react strongly to a switch in insulin.
 
Hi Melissa and welcome to you and Bubba Bear from me and my Bubba.

Good luck with your switch to Lantus; I think you will like it better as it is a longer acting insulin without the fast drops.

I think 2.5 would be a good place to start with the Lantus. Keep asking questions and posting as that is how we all learn and are here to help each other.
 
Hello. I thought I read not to shoot if AMPS was below 200 but maybe that was for Vetsulin. I was really surprised to see Bubba's BG was 280 last night PMPS after only one dose of the new insulin but still gave 2.5 U.

This AMPS it was 133 and then 30 min later was 158. I waited another hour to shoot after he ate because it freaked me out to be that low (his numbers have been 400-600 on Vetsulin) and gave 2 U. What should I have done? Just give the 2.5 at the normal time with food? I feel like I screwed up.
 
You did the right thing waiting and stalling if you are unsure. Since Bubba was trending up, you could have shot after 30 minutes if you were confident and can monitor. The no shot number is usually 150 for kitties new to Lantus (correct me if I’m wrong). But if Bubba has a history of DKA, we want to try to always give insulin.

Did you feed in between the 30 minutes?

Lantus has an onset of about +2. So by two hours later, most likely kitty will be higher than PS. (But ECID)

You can go back to schedule by shooting 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes early once a day.

Have you read the stickies and made a decision what method you want to follow? Either TR or SLGS?
 
Back
Top