Vetsulin dosing Need Advise

Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Very Active Member
Vetsulin dosing, need advice
Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by Mamakin, 56 minutes ago.

Unwatch Thread

  1. Mamakin
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi I'm Diane, Tyler's my boy, I don't have a spreadsheet because my tablet is old and won't support Google sheets, people on here have tried to help me but no luck.I started a thread under the title
    Alpha Trak 2 strips vs Freestyle Lite or FreestyleInsulinx test strips it's 2 pages.
    I just don't know what to shoot tonight. I would appreciate it if someone would take a look at it. He did go into remission for about a week, then back into the 200's. Sorry it's in bold letters, I don't know why.I guess it's in bold letters because I copied the title. Thanks so much
    I'm ready to shoot around 10 pm
    Don't know whether to stay with 0.5 skinny or go to 1 unit
    I guess I'll stay with 0.5 units since I haven't heard from anyone
    Sorry I just found the Vetsulin forum
    Last edited: 40 minutes ago
    56 minutes agoEditReport
    #1Re
 
I saw it but am definitely not one experienced enough to give dose advice -- all I can pass along to you is what I've been advised == look for trends over time, rather than reacting on a dose-by-dose basis, realizing that we're only taking intermittent "snapshots" of the BG -- however, this was conveyed to me, since I'm still in the early stages of treatment, and it's apparent that Catcat is a bouncer, at least at the moment -- whereas you are flirting with remission (yay! :joyful:)

I'm reading the experience of those using the Freestyle Libre, who are finding unexpected lows, often "missed" when doing routine ear sampling; clear to me that it's all more complicated than we know now --
 
Here are some of Tyler's numbers

Alpha Trak 2 strips vs Freestyle Lite or Freestyle Insulinx test strips
Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by Mamakin, Apr 21, 2019.

Page 2 of 2
  1. May 5, 2019Report
    #101LikeReply


  2. Mamakin
    Joined:rfMen'sMom. Good morning Linda
  3. Here are Tyler's numbers from last night giving 0.5 u
    Sunday 5-5-19
    9:00 pm - 196
    +2- 141 (midnight)
    +5 - 173 (3:00 am)


    Monday 5-6-19
    8:30 am- 136 I couldn't believe it when I saw it

    May 6, 2019EditDeleteReport
    #105Reply
    CandyH and Catcat likes this.

  4. MrWorfMen's Mom
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Whoo Hoo! Loving that number. That is definitely too low for a shot so you both get a break today! :D



  5. Whoo Hoo! Loving that number. That is definitely too low for a shot so you both get a break today! :D
    You are too funny, I was so happy to see this number, his poor ears are so red from all the testing, I wonder why all of a sudden it's that low, I'm only going to test him tonight hoping I see a good number


  6. MrWorfMen'sMom, Hi Linda, how are you, Tested Tyler tonight
    Monday 5-6-19
    8:30 pm - 174 not that great but at least it's under 200 right, no insulin given

    Last edited: May 6, 2019

  7. MrWorfMen'sMom. Hi Linda Tyler's BG today
    Tuesday. 5-7-19
    8:30 am 140
    8:30 am - 146

    Last edited: May 15, 2019
    May 7, 2019EditDeleteReport
    #109Reply
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.

  8. MrWorfMen's Mom
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    That's better. Hopefully he will continue this trend of lower BG. Fingers crossed. :D


  9. That's better. Hopefully he will continue this trend of lower BG. Fingers crossed. :D
    I hope so too, let's see what happens tonight


    MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda as you saw Tyler's BG this morning was
  10. Tuesday 5-7-19
    8:30 am - 140
    8:30 pm - 146



    Tuesday 5-8-19
  11. 8:30 AM - 182 did not give any insulin
    8:30 PM - 167 did not give any insulin


    Thursday 5-9-19
    8:30 AM - 236 gave 0.5 u
    +6 - 208

    8:30 PM - 192 gave 0.5 u

    Friday 5-10-19
    9:00 AM- 201 going to give 0.5 u again at 10:30 AM and will be test throughout the day and will post
    Just just tested so as I said he was
    9:00 AM - 201
    +3 - 145 ( 1:30 pm)
    +5-1/2- 156 (4:00 pm)


    9:00 PM - 211. Fed Tyler, waited 30 minutes then shot 0.5u at 10:00 pm
    I will test him a couple of times tonight
    +3-1/2- 131
    +6- 173


    MrWorfMen'sMom Hi tested Tyler
  12. Saturday 5-11-19
    9:00 AM - 239 should I give the 0.5u again
    I gave him 0.5u at 10:30 AM
    +3- 141

    Saturday 5-11-19
    9:00 PM - 200 gave 0.25 u




  13. MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda tested Tyler this morning
    Sunday 5-12-19
    10:00 AM 153. No Insulin given
    9:30 PM - 229 Will give 0.5 u at 10:00 PM and re test





  14. MrWorfMen'sMom
    Monday 5-13-19
    9:30 AM. - 154 NO insulin given




  15. MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda
    Tyler's BG for

    5-14-19 . Tuesday
    8:00 AM - 245 will give 0.5 u again and re test
    8:00 PM - 195 no insulin




  16. MrWorfMen'sMom. Hi Linda Tested Tyler this morning

    5-15-19 Wed
    8:00 AM - 258 going to give him 0.5 u
    Fed him and will shoot at 9:00 AM going by his BG starting from 5-7-19
    do you think I should stay with the 0.5 u

    +3- 129
    +6.5- 176

    5-15-19 Wed
    9:00 PM - 220 will shoot at 10:00 PM 0.5 u
    +2- 158





  17. 5-16-19
    9:00 AM - 196. No Insulin given
    9:00 PM - 223 gave 0.5 u



  18. 5-17-19
  19. AMPS. 209
    UNITS. 0.5

    PMPS. 259
    UNITS. 0.5. Let a few drops out of syringe
    +2- 190




  20. MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda
    5-18-19
    9:00 AMPS -. 277. Tyler's getting up there
    Will shoot at 10:30 AM. 0.5 U and re check
    Just getting upset that he's this high





  21. 5-18-19 Saturday
    9:00 AMPS was 277
    Gave 0.5 U
    +3 182

  22. How about checking him again at +4 to see if he's down any more or not. I'm just curious as to how low he is going on the 0.5u dose and his nadir may be before +6.
    Oh it's to late , I already checked at +6
    +6- 212





















  23. Mamakin
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    MrWorfMen'sMom hey Linda so here is where we left off
    5-18-19 Saturday
    9:00 AMPS - 277 shot 0.5 UNITS
    +3 - 182
    +6 - 212
    We think Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle@MrWorfMen'sMom

    I just tested him at 8:00 PM he was begging to eat.
    5-18-19
    8:00 PMPS -213
    Going to shoot around 9:00 PM shot 0.5 UNITS
    I will test him at +2, +3, +4, and +6


    +2 - 172 ( 11:00 PM )
    +3 - 188. ( Midnight)
    +4 - 156 ( 1:00 AM)
    +6 - 203 ( 3:00 AM)


    5-19-19 SUNDAY
    9:00 AMPS - 273. - do you think I should stay with the 0.5 U
    I went with the 0.5U

    5-19-19. Sunday
    9:00 PMPS - 298 .going to feed him now and then wait 30 minutes then
    Will shoot, question is how much, as you can see I've been giving 0.5 U

    Shot 0.5U Again
    +2 - 278 I can't believe it didn't go down more than this
    Not even going to test anymore tonight
    Just so disgusted



    5-20-19. MONDAY
    AMPS - 286. Wondering how many Units to shoot
    This time I tried 1 U and twisted the plunger a little
    To let a few drops out
    +4 - 209

    5-20-19 Monday
    9:00 PMPS. 279
    Do you think I should try giving 1.05 Units?
    Had to shoot now so I went ahead and have 1.05 UNITS
    And will re test a few more times
    +2.05 - 197







  24. Mamakin
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    MrWorfMen'sMom hey Linda so here is where we left off
    5-18-19 Saturday
    9:00 AMPS - 277 shot 0.5 UNITS
    +3 - 182
    +6 - 212
    We think Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle@MrWorfMen'sMom

    I just tested him at 8:00 PM he was begging to eat.
    5-18-19
    8:00 PMPS -213
    Going to shoot around 9:00 PM shot 0.5 UNITS
    I will test him at +2, +3, +4, and +6


    +2 - 172 ( 11:00 PM )
    +3 - 188. ( Midnight)
    +4 - 156 ( 1:00 AM)
    +6 - 203 ( 3:00 AM)


    5-19-19 SUNDAY
    9:00 AMPS - 273. - do you think I should stay with the 0.5 U
    I went with the 0.5U

    5-19-19. Sunday
    9:00 PMPS - 298 .going to feed him now and then wait 30 minutes then
    Will shoot, question is how much, as you can see I've been giving 0.5 U

    Shot 0.5U Again
    +2 - 278 I can't believe it didn't go down more than this
    Not even going to test anymore tonight
    Just so disgusted



    5-20-19. MONDAY
    AMPS - 286. Wondering how many Units to shoot
    This time I tried 1 U and twisted the plunger a little
    To let a few drops out
    +4 - 209

    5-20-19 Monday
    9:00 PMPS. 279
    Do you think I should try giving 1.05 Units@MrWorfMen'sMom
    Went ahead and gave 1.05 Units
    +2.05 - 197

    Last edited: May 21, 2019
    May 20, 2019EditDeleteReport
    #145Reply



  25. 5-21-19 Tuesday
    9:00 AMPS. - 202 .What do you think I should give, sorry
    I feel like a real pain in the you know what
    I will be ready to shoot at 10:30 am, or maybe I should
    just skip the dose since it's only 202
    Decided to skip the dose this morning, hope I did
    the right thing
    5-21-19
    9:00 AMPS 202. Did not shoot
    9:00 PMPS 274 Going to give 1.0 Units, a skin5-26-19. SUNDAY
  26. AMPS - 187 No Insulin given @@MrWorfMen's Mom
    PMPS - 203 Decided not to give insulin

    5-27-19. MONDAY
    AMPS- 201 No Insulin given
    PMPS - 295 Gave skinny 0.5 @@MrWorfMen's Mom
    +4 - 150


    5-28-19 . Tuesday
    AMPS - 289 Will give skinny 0.5 again @@MrWorfMen's Mom
    PMPS - 254 will give skinny 0.5 again

    5-29-18 WEDNESDAY
    AMPS - 213 gave 0.25 units @@MrWorfMen's Mom
    PMPS -. 263 gave 0.5 units Shot at 10:15 PM
    + 3.5 148. Actually tested him at 1:40 AM (Thurs)
    +4.5. 162 Actually tested him at 2:40 AM. (Thurs )

    Last edited: Today at 2:50 AM
    Saturday at 11:42 AMEditDeleteReport
    #152Reply


  27. 5-30-19 THURSDAY
    AMPS - 270 .WENT AHEAD Gave 0.75 u
  28. Will test
 
I saw it but am definitely not one experienced enough to give dose advice -- all I can pass along to you is what I've been advised == look for trends over time, rather than reacting on a dose-by-dose basis, realizing that we're only taking intermittent "snapshots" of the BG -- however, this was conveyed to me, since I'm still in the early stages of treatment, and it's apparent that Catcat is a bouncer, at least at the moment -- whereas you are flirting with remission (yay! :joyful:)

I'm reading the experience of those using the Freestyle Libre, who are finding unexpected lows, often "missed" when doing routine ear sampling; clear to me that it's all more complicated than we know now --
Thanks Candy
 
Back
Top