Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)
Member Since 2015
From looking back, if Lucy posted right after AM shot, about 30 minutes past +12
I'm 25-35 minutes behind scheduleHow late are you? I am wondering if, for example +12 was an hour ago, how much lower he might have been?
I had to go out for a bit so I'm a little late in dosing tonight. I just tested Squallie, his BG is 383. Just wondered what you all thought for his PM dose; not sure I want to give 4 units as he seems to have such a sharp drop in the first 3-4 hours. I gave 2 units last night and he was pretty high this AM, I wondered about maybe giving him 3 instead?
You may have already tried all the tricks. I found adding warm water to the pates and making them more "gravy like" helped my kitty. Sometimes the chunk texture is what they don't like.
You may have already tried all the tricks. I found adding warm water to the pates and making them more "gravy like" helped my kitty. Sometimes the chunk texture is what they don't like.
I do that sometimes, but he had a tendency to lick up all the tasty water and leave this weird, mushy paste behind.You may have already tried all the tricks. I found adding warm water to the pates and making them more "gravy like" helped my kitty. Sometimes the chunk texture is what they don't like.
I do that sometimes, but he had a tendency to lick up all the tasty water and leave this weird, mushy paste behind.
He is not above a hunger strike if he doesn't get the food he wants. Which is all the stuff he's not supposed to have.
We play "appetizers." I give him an "appetizer", a treat, and he eats a mouthful or two of food. On a good night I can get a whole bowl of food in him with just one or two "appetizers", other nights I 'm lucky to get him to eat at all. Tonight was one of the latter.Hope Squallie is going to eat more for you!
That is just too funny!!!.... shhh, don't tell my boyfriend because I make smoothies for him in it, too....![]()
He gets the classic pate', the lowest carb ones. His favorites are the ocean whitefish and the salmon. I can't believe he won't eat the Tiki Cat, my other guys LOVE it, and it actually does look like people food.The FF you are feeding. What flavor is it? Is it a "classic" style?
Sadly, Squallie just isn't a big fan of canned food, in any brand or variety, although he did used to like the Friskies breakfasts with the eggs and all the lovely, high carb sauce!Luna's a big fan of my patented 'Pate Soup' since she had ketones and needed more water.
He gets the classic pate', the lowest carb ones. His favorites are the ocean whitefish and the salmon. I can't believe he won't eat the Tiki Cat, my other guys LOVE it, and it actually does look like people food.
Lucy, as a former Vetsulin (Caninsulin) user and looking at his sheet, I'd be inclined to stick with 2 units. I think 3 will just make him dip lower and won't improve your AM or PMPS numbers - those higher readings are likely just Vetsulin not lasting past 8 hours. If he were mine, I'd shoot 2.
While I agree that 2 units is a good choice, I have to disagree with your take on the higher readings. Nothing on Squallie's spreadsheet indicates that the Vetsulin only lasts 8 hours. In some cases, it looks like he doesn't even reach nadir until +6 or +7. I think he's just one of those ECID cats, and he gets long duration on an insulin that isn't supposed to give him long duration. Some cycles it looks like he even goes beyond 12 hours on a dose.
Hi, all. Squallie's numbers have been all-over-the-place-crazy the last few days, and he's had two hypo episodes in two days. He was on 7 units twice daily; the vet dropped him down yesterday to 4 units 3x daily at 8 hr intervals. Well, he got his 4 units this AM, went fairly low around the +6 mark and was still low at +8 so I decided not to shoot at 8 hrs. Now we've come up on 12 hours and he's still pretty low, for him, at 226. I honestly don't know whether to give him 4 units now or not, I don't want him to go hypo again but I don't want his BG to soar way up, either!
Can you give a link to that thread? I'm interested that you are giving IM shots, but this thread is probably not the place to discuss it. Interested because my cat got IM shots for 10 weeks, and other than in one other case that was short-term, I haven't seen any other kitty who was dosed that way (until you just mentioned it).Read my post about Pretty Foots in ICU twice in 2 weeks 7 days total bad URI . Couldn't get his regulated on Vetsumln , or Lantus. Home since 8/3 giving Nov0lin R intramuscular every 4 hours.
I view them more as potential bounces from numbers that were low in the middle of the cycle. Given how much he has dropped during the cycles where Lucy caught the scary green numbers during the middle of a cycle, I think it is safer to assume that they are happening during the cycles when she hasn't been able to "see them happen".
Yesterday, he dropped from 370 to 70 on 4 units. And Lucy had to carb him up to stop him from going lower, indicating that he wasn't at nadir (timing-wise) when she saw that 70. Last night, she gave him 2 units. Isn't it reasonable to believe that he again dropped down into green numbers when his PMPS was 100 points lower than his AMPS was? If he did drop to 70 or lower, then this morning could be due to that happening. I don't believe it was because the 2 units just didn't last long enough.
If I believed that, then I'd believe her vet's advice that Squallie needs three shots a day instead of two. And I see absolutely no data on the spreadsheet that supports that way of thinking.
In my mind, advising he needs shots closer than 12 hours apart puts him at risk, and is irresponsible advice.
You're welcome! I wasn't around much when you were using caninsulin so if you posted about the high numbers, I missed it. I hope things are going better with Lantus, but I can't be of much help with that.Thank you for the detailed reply, Carl. I'm sure glad you were here to catch that on my post and correct my thinking. I have puzzled over Genghis' sheet for only a little over a month - clearly there is an art to it that comes from experience. Essentially, to my untrained eye, all I saw was lower numbers bookended by higher ones. This is great info.
Thanks, @BJM for your explanation also!
Thank you for the detailed reply, Carl. I'm sure glad you were here to catch that on my post and correct my thinking. I have puzzled over Genghis' sheet for only a little over a month - clearly there is an art to it that comes from experience. Essentially, to my untrained eye, all I saw was lower numbers bookended by higher ones. This is great info.
Thanks, @BJM for your explanation also!
I feel so stupid but I just don't understand bounces, or bounces vs duration. I don't know how to look at a spreadsheet and see a bounce rather than just a lack of insulin, or longer/shorter durations. :-(I view them more as potential bounces from numbers that were low in the middle of the cycle.
But when I checked him at +5 hrs last night it seemed to me that his #s were rising again?Last night, she gave him 2 units. Isn't it reasonable to believe that he again dropped down into green numbers when his PMPS was 100 points lower than his AMPS was?
Did you add that 201 recently? I don't recall seeing it last time I looked at the SS.But when I checked him at +5 hrs last night it seemed to me that his #s were rising again?
Yes, I was looking over his spreadsheet because I knew I remembered thinking his BG was coming back up, so I compared it to my meter's memory and saw that I hadn't entered that 201. Sorry if I screwed something up. I try to keep it all up to date but it's been so crazy here the past few days and I'm so short on sleep that I'm surprised I haven't missed more than that!Did you add that 201 recently? I don't recall seeing it last time I looked at the SS.
I am going to look for an old thread in PZI that Dr. Lisa participated in to see if I can help explain the whole "bounce" concept. It might not happen until tomorrow night though. I guess it comes from looking at thousands of spreadsheets, but for me (and for lots of others), differentiating between a bounce and short duration isn't impossible. Just takes practice.And I am far from being always right!
edit to add - and Lucy, DON'T ever feel "stupid". You've only been at this for a couple of months. And feline diabetes is anything but easy to understand and deal with! You're doing great so far!
Thank you!am going to look for an old thread in PZI that Dr. Lisa participated in to see if I can help explain the whole "bounce" concept.
Thanks. That's what I figured, too. Until I have a better grasp of what's going on with him, I think it's better to go with less and increase the dose if needed after I see where he's headed, BG number-wise. That sharp drop he's been experiencing for the past several days must be hard on him, I imagine, I wish I could get his numbers down a little more gently, if you know what I mean.I like your decision, Lucy. Glad you didn't go with 4. I'd rather see you slowly work your way up, if needed.
I second this wholeheartedly.I like your decision, Lucy. Glad you didn't go with 4. I'd rather see you slowly work your way up, if needed.