EarthyCarbonCookie
Member Since 2020
I am new to this! I want to start doing a glucose curve today.
Last night:
I didn't test before meal *and* forgot to shoot so I measured 1.5+ and it was 128. No shoot.
Today, 12 hrs later:
Pre-food 144, 1+ 108. I didn't shoot.
We are two hours post meal, when should I retest? I am horrible at getting blood. It usually takes me several tries. I'm using the two in one Relion things that look like a pod. Pretty sure he has bruises in his ears.
Background:
Carl, 21lb 10yr old Siamese, Dx 1/2020, was stable on Vetsulin 2U every 12 from Nov 2020 to Feb 2021. His numbers were high (200) last week 4+ after meals, which are usually Fancy Feast pate 2 cans. After an episode of eating regular dry Purina One for two days (early March2021) and the ensuing vomiting, he never regained his appetite and his water intake decreased from a pretty steady 8ounces/236ml every 24 hours to 100-150ml every 24. He refused food the first week and was given subQ fluids and famotidine for nausea. His appetite returned and his BG has been a pretty steady 140-144 *at the vet once a month* they don't want me to home test, I am starting right now.
I've had to tweak his food to get him to eat. He is a dry food junkie! Currently he gets one can FFCP mushed up with half a can of FF primavera. He gets one half cup of Dr Elseys Clean Protein sprinkled with about ten pieces of DM kibbles because he won't eat it otherwise. The CP dry is available to him all day but he barely touches it.
The evening of Mar 20, 2021, he had his meal and one half hour later I completely spaced out and did not shoot. So 90 minutes post meal his BG was 128. I waited a half hour then tested again, 118. He doesn't need insulin tonight, apparently. He got the night off.
(Poor guy, he was not in the mood for testing and I missed the vein so many times. One ear is a better donor than the other.)
Last night:
I didn't test before meal *and* forgot to shoot so I measured 1.5+ and it was 128. No shoot.
Today, 12 hrs later:
Pre-food 144, 1+ 108. I didn't shoot.
We are two hours post meal, when should I retest? I am horrible at getting blood. It usually takes me several tries. I'm using the two in one Relion things that look like a pod. Pretty sure he has bruises in his ears.
Background:
Carl, 21lb 10yr old Siamese, Dx 1/2020, was stable on Vetsulin 2U every 12 from Nov 2020 to Feb 2021. His numbers were high (200) last week 4+ after meals, which are usually Fancy Feast pate 2 cans. After an episode of eating regular dry Purina One for two days (early March2021) and the ensuing vomiting, he never regained his appetite and his water intake decreased from a pretty steady 8ounces/236ml every 24 hours to 100-150ml every 24. He refused food the first week and was given subQ fluids and famotidine for nausea. His appetite returned and his BG has been a pretty steady 140-144 *at the vet once a month* they don't want me to home test, I am starting right now.
I've had to tweak his food to get him to eat. He is a dry food junkie! Currently he gets one can FFCP mushed up with half a can of FF primavera. He gets one half cup of Dr Elseys Clean Protein sprinkled with about ten pieces of DM kibbles because he won't eat it otherwise. The CP dry is available to him all day but he barely touches it.
The evening of Mar 20, 2021, he had his meal and one half hour later I completely spaced out and did not shoot. So 90 minutes post meal his BG was 128. I waited a half hour then tested again, 118. He doesn't need insulin tonight, apparently. He got the night off.
(Poor guy, he was not in the mood for testing and I missed the vein so many times. One ear is a better donor than the other.)