Amanda Whitehead
Member
Hi all
In November my boy was on 2 units of vetsulin twice a day we didn't see much improvement with this amount so we pushed him up to 2.5 units. We then had to board him in December at our vets while we went away so we decided to go back to 2 units, however this time 2 units was having a different effect. Our vets had to skip shots as he kept getting low levels. Since he has been back from boarding I can't seem to figure out what the best dose is for him. I can't go by the previous readings because seems the insulin is having a better effect now. Last night I had to stay up as after 2 units he was dropping see below readings:
PMPS 9.57pm 372
11.55pm 322
1.45am 184
251am 111
4.39am 85
6.00am 114
9.47am 97
At 6am last night I stopped testing and went to bed as I thought he'd reached nadir and his level was increasing. Only to find this morning he had gone lower. Now I'm concerned that he reached hypo range between 6am-9.47am.
Is it possible from his chart that he could be going into remission. His diabetes was steroid induced.
My thoughts are to try 1.5units and see how we go with that. I don't want to keep skipping shots because he seems to go back into the 300's when we skip.
I appreciate any help, I'm lost and worried about hypos. I also start a job in Feb and I won't be able to do this much testing.
Thanks all
In November my boy was on 2 units of vetsulin twice a day we didn't see much improvement with this amount so we pushed him up to 2.5 units. We then had to board him in December at our vets while we went away so we decided to go back to 2 units, however this time 2 units was having a different effect. Our vets had to skip shots as he kept getting low levels. Since he has been back from boarding I can't seem to figure out what the best dose is for him. I can't go by the previous readings because seems the insulin is having a better effect now. Last night I had to stay up as after 2 units he was dropping see below readings:
PMPS 9.57pm 372
11.55pm 322
1.45am 184
251am 111
4.39am 85
6.00am 114
9.47am 97
At 6am last night I stopped testing and went to bed as I thought he'd reached nadir and his level was increasing. Only to find this morning he had gone lower. Now I'm concerned that he reached hypo range between 6am-9.47am.
Is it possible from his chart that he could be going into remission. His diabetes was steroid induced.
My thoughts are to try 1.5units and see how we go with that. I don't want to keep skipping shots because he seems to go back into the 300's when we skip.
I appreciate any help, I'm lost and worried about hypos. I also start a job in Feb and I won't be able to do this much testing.
Thanks all