Vet wants to increase Prozinc by 1 unit

Status
Not open for further replies.

yukon25

Member
Is that the normal amount to increase? Hootie is currently on 1 unit twice daily. This is his first increase. Vet did review his spreadsheet and said his numbers look good (I'm guessing she's referring to the curve/nadir results perhaps?).

Also, I'm thinking I don't want to increase his dose until tomorrow or Sunday, when I can be home to monitor him all day and maybe test at 4 hrs or so?

Thoughts?

Totally unrelated, she seems OK with me switching from Alphatrak meter to Relion, She's a practical sort of person. :D
 
I think a one unit increase is far too much - that's 100% higher than where you're at! If it was my cat I'd only increase in small amounts, say 0.25 u at a time, so I don't go right past a good dose. You don't have enough data on your SS yet to see patterns and trends in Hootie's responses so you have to err on the side of caution. If you're using U40 syringes with half unit marks, you'd be eyeballing half way between the 1.0 u and 1.5 u marks for a 1.25 u dose. I'd also do the increase on a day when monitoring is possible.
 
This is the type syringe I have. U-40 3/10 cc low dose:

https://www.totaldiabetessupply.com/products/vets-choice-insulin-syringes-29g-u-40-3-10cc-1-2in

Vet has me giving "1 unit" which I measure halfway between the base and the large "2" (or at 2-1/2 hash marks). She told me the "2" was 2 units.

TTPVHcw.jpg
 
If I need to buy a different U-40 syringe to increase by quarter units, I'm happy to do so if anyone has recommendations.
 
I agree with Kris, I think that increase is too much at once. I know they make u40 syringes with half unit marking but I don't think they make them with quarter unit markings. I use the U100 syringes and use the conversion chart. It allows me to reliably make 0.2 unit adjustments.
 
I'm with Kris. I'd increase by 0.25 and hold it for several cycles. The one curve you did looks pretty good, but he could drop a bit on a pink preshot. I am guessing that 525 was a bounce. Maybe if you get a midrange yellow preshot, you skinny up the dose and give a little less than one.

Most people here use the U100s and the conversion chart like Kristen and Kris. It makes it so much easier to do small increments.
 
This is the type syringe I have. U-40 3/10 cc low dose:

https://www.totaldiabetessupply.com/products/vets-choice-insulin-syringes-29g-u-40-3-10cc-1-2in

Vet has me giving "1 unit" which I measure halfway between the base and the large "2" (or at 2-1/2 hash marks). She told me the "2" was 2 units.

TTPVHcw.jpg
These syringes are unusual because if I understand you, there are 4 marks or 5 spaces between numbers. Your photo is a bit fuzzy but I think that's what I see. If that's the case, each mark stands for 0.4 units. That is consistent with what you're telling me about the vet's instructions. You can make these syringes work for you if you want to give fractional doses. One mark past a number such as 2 is 2.4 units. Two marks is 2.8 units, etc. Half way between two marks is 0.2 units. You're already eyeballing between two marks to get 1 unit so you can eyeball similarly to get fractional doses between marks if needed. Does this make sense?
 
Dumb question(s) time.

"Cycle" - would each shot+12 hrs count as as one cycle?

On the U40 to U100 chart, is the "1.0" (left column under U40) the same as "1 unit"? (Just so I know where to start.)

The vet said to buy U-40, when I called to say it came in medium dose and low dose versions, they said get low dose. I bring the syringes in, they've never seen this type syringe before. :confused: So I'm quite open to a new syringe especially if it's easier to understand.
 
These syringes are unusual because if I understand you, there are 4 marks or 5 spaces between numbers. Your photo is a bit fuzzy but I think that's what I see. If that's the case, each mark stands for 0.4 units. That is consistent with what you're telling me about the vet's instructions. You can make these syringes work for you if you want to give fractional doses. One mark past a number such as 2 is 2.4 units. Two marks is 2.8 units, etc. Half way between two marks is 0.2 units. You're already eyeballing between two marks to get 1 unit so you can eyeball similarly to get fractional doses between marks if needed. Dose this make sense?

It does. But it sounds like Hootie and I both might be better off using the U-100 syringe and conversion chart. It makes more sense to me. The syringes aren't that much so I don't mind getting another box. I can always call around to the shelters/fosters here and see who is familiar with the (weird) U-40 I have and donate what is left.
 
It does. But it sounds like Hootie and I both might be better off using the U-100 syringe and conversion chart. It makes more sense to me. The syringes aren't that much so I don't mind getting another box. I can always call around to the shelters/fosters here and see who is familiar with the (weird) U-40 I have and donate what is left.
You'll find the U100s to be very versatile - with conversion chart of course!
 
I've never seen your syringes either. Where did you get them? When I go away I have my cat sitter shoot 1 unit using my U40 syringes. I don't want her doing a conversion. I'm wondering if your U40 syringes with these additional .4 marks would help me when I go away. If Oliver ever goes below 1 unit your syringes might help me. I'd love a link or a snapshot of the box so I can attempt to buy a box.

Yes, 1 cycle = 12 hours.
Yes, the 1.0 on the chart indicates 1 unit.
 
In my experience 1unit is way too much of an increase. Vets seem to typically dose by units, for some reason, while there are good measurements in between being ignored.

We have done very small increases to ensure we dont go past mr b's ideal dose. Also bigger doses can create bigger bounces. I dont think anyone here would advise it.
 
I was giving him a dose at the 3rd hash mark (instead of between 2 and 3 hash mark) so I upped it to the 4th hash mark this morning (but still not 2 full units, 2 hash marks to go to that). I'll have to pickup some U-100's today or tomorrow.
 
In my experience 1unit is way too much of an increase. Vets seem to typically dose by units, for some reason, while there are good measurements in between being ignored.

We have done very small increases to ensure we dont go past mr b's ideal dose. Also bigger doses can create bigger bounces. I dont think anyone here would advise it.

I'm actually wondering how many diabetic cats this practice has. I'm thinking not many, based on the instructions and advice I've been getting. They're a cat only vet and great with dental, infectious disease etc but I'm really wondering about their diabetic experience. I found the page here that has questions to ask of a new vet, so once I know if I'm moving or staying I think I'll be looking for a new vet that has more experience in feline diabetes.
 
Definitely ask some questions of the vet. Remember, too, that a lot of vets don't have much experience with diabetes. If you are thinking of looking for a new vet, you might consider posting on Health and asking for vets in your area.
 
Just a thanks to everyone who replied! I went up by one hash mark (whatever that is on my goofy syringes) rather than the full jump to 2 units. Numbers are in the yellow! Progress! :cat:

I thought I'd hold off on the switch to U-100 until either Hootie hits full 2 units or I can figure out what the heck I have and how it relates to the U-100. Being blonde and senior is tough some days. :joyful:
 
Just a thanks to everyone who replied! I went up by one hash mark (whatever that is on my goofy syringes) rather than the full jump to 2 units. Numbers are in the yellow! Progress! :cat:

I thought I'd hold off on the switch to U-100 until either Hootie hits full 2 units or I can figure out what the heck I have and how it relates to the U-100. Being blonde and senior is tough some days. :joyful:
Can you take a picture of the box the syringes came in? Glad Hootie is improving:D
 
Hm, didn't help me. It's bizarre that the increments aren't part of the specifications. They really aren't listed on any syringe and it would be so helpful.

@Kris & Teasel was probably right that they're .4 unit increments. That should definitely help you make smaller increases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top