vet wants me to go to 2 units

Laura bb

Member Since 2018
Stuck between a rock and a hard place. Went to vet today she wants me to go up a unit, since his numbers are high. I showed her his spreadsheet she wants to up the dose because he is so high. I trust my vet, but now coming on this forum my head is rushed with craziness. Going to wait till tomorrow to change dose since I am not feeling well enough to watch him all night on 2 units.
 
Thank you I just thought I would post a different thread since I realized I was posting on an old thread. I have also 2 cats that just had a hissy fit from Nermal smelling like the vet. I am going crazy from cat issues.
 
He may need more insulin but without more mid-cycle tests it is hard to say yes or no. There is no way I would go up a whole unit, maybe to 1.25 as suggested in the other thread.

If you need a script, ask the vet for one and indicating that you are going to look for cheaper options.
 
Laura, I used digital calipers to m assure small increases. I never would have taken Max up by a whole unit and I was able to test until past nadir. To me it’s playing with fire, especially since you have no idea what his nadir is.
 
So if I tested every two hours would I know his nadir on 1 unit? Are there any pysical signs when a cat is in nadir?
 
She said if I tested at any time and it was under 200 then to call for her to reduce. So what I think I'm hearing everyone say is that he could maybe being going under 200 bg at some point in the 12 hour scale while hes on one unit Lantus. Also I may have read wrong--if he goes too low during this one unit he can jump back up higher . . I get lost in so much information I am still struggling with terms and definitions.
 
So if I tested every two hours would I know his nadir on 1 unit? Are there any pysical signs when a cat is in nadir?
The Nadir is the lowest number after a AMPS or PMPS see below)
Without having this data Laura you are going at helping Nermal... b.l.i.n.d.l.y
Please listen to others (senior, experienced FDMB members) advice here. These volunteers have lived and breathed feline diabetes, FD.
I don’t want to sound harsh because... for fear I’d be counterproductive-
Please don’t, please don’t increase the dose by one unit or even a half a unit without proper data.
I trust that you will listen to advice here :).
I am following you if only silently :facepalm:;)
upload_2018-10-24_21-47-18.jpeg
 
Last edited:
“Time of Peak Effect” is the nadir. Only if you test at this time (time unknown? ECID) will you know. Make sense?
When Vet tells you “numbers are too high...” what test time was that based on? Hopefully I am making some sense o_O
 
Ok so I dont know what to do, my vet said I need a script for different needles in Oklahoma. I have U100 through the vet. How would I measure 1.25? Or should I just give him 1 unit tomorrow, test at different times, like a curve -if thats what it is? Hope like crazy I figure out nadir? I am feeling reluctant increasing at all
 
“Time of Peak Effect” is the nadir. Only if you test at this time (time unknown? ECID) will you know. Make sense?
When Vet tells you “numbers are too high...” what test time was that based on? Hopefully I am making some sense o_O
You know I feel kind of stupid for showing her my spreadsheet, because seeing his high numbers made her want to increase- I have given myself a huge headache over this-I cannot stop over analyzing. He did gain 6 ounces
 
upload_2018-10-24_22-0-50.jpeg
In this example of a 24 hour blood glucose curve, you can see that the nadir for insulin given in the morning is at 6 hours after it's been injected. At the 12th hour after the first injection, it's time to give the evening insulin injection, and you see the nadir from the second, evening injection at 18 hours after the time the first insulin injection of the morning was given.
 
View attachment 39922
In this example of a 24 hour blood glucose curve, you can see that the nadir for insulin given in the morning is at 6 hours after it's been injected. At the 12th hour after the first injection, it's time to give the evening insulin injection, and you see the nadir from the second, evening injection at 18 hours after the time the first insulin injection of the morning was given.
Hope data I’ve sent helps...
Be well.
Tired now, going to sleep :)
 
I think the best thing to do is shoot 1u in the morning then do a curve - testing every 2 hours starting at injection until the next injection 12 hours later. You would have 7 tests in all. Then you should see how low the 1u is taking him.
 
Ok I am sure everyone is asleep, but has anyone's nadir been really really low when there pre-shot test reads really high-like my cats?
 
Hi Laura, Yes that does happen on occasion but it's not the norm when dosing is done in small increments and random BG tests are done so you can catch those drops before they become significant. With time you get to know how our cats responds. Is there a specific reason you are asking or is this just a general inquiry?
 
Yes! Look at some other people’s ss. Look at Max’s first year as a diabetic. The more info you have the more we can help you.

You have the correct syringes. Digital calipers aren’t needles. They are a measuring device.

There’s a lot of information on the yellow stickies. It can be overwhelming. Read a little at a time. Ask as many questions as you have.
 
Laura do your syringes have half unit markings on them like the left hand picture below or are your syringes like the one on the right ?
syringe markingsPNG.PNG
 
Hi Laura, Yes that does happen on occasion but it's not the norm when dosing is done in small increments and random BG tests are done so you can catch those drops before they become significant. With time you get to know how our cats responds. Is there a specific reason you are asking or is this just a general inquiry?
Just going crazy. I asked my vet several times if shes sure about 2 units, and she was do definate. I did not go to vet school. I do not plan to come here for dosing-rather then safety. I have had a headache for days about this. A big part of me is glad I found this website-and another part of mr is not. I am glad to know how to inject and poke better from here. My needles only have little lines for units. I asked my vet 3 times about dosing, she still thinks he should get 2 units. I cannot afford another vet. Everyone that knows me is surprised I am doing the insulin. I do not deal with medical any medical issues well at all-i suffer from severe anxiety. I am so confused. I will probably do the 1 unit in the morning-test every two hours and then go from there.
 
Back
Top