VET visit today-Copper 7/3

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Very Active Member
Copper had his vet visit today and had to have his yrly shots and 3yr rabies. His bloodwork all came back normal and Doc said it looked good. They did a frustosimine on him and it was lower than the last times. He looked over his SS and we talked about his numbers. He thinks he may be in a bounce the last couple of days and said to back down a little on his insulin and see what happens. He doesn't want him to be below 100. Wants his BG to be 200ps and low 100's for nadir. Tried to explain about the meter variance and not using the alpha trac and their is a 30pts difference. But he still doesn't want him to be 70's no matter what. Hmmm. He still doesn't understand what i'm doing with testing, etc. Doesn't seem to want to understand. Just said i should back down to the 1.6u and stay steady. Here we go again. His in office BG was at 313. Not too bad considering all the stress of barking dogs, etc.

Just so happy all the bloodwk looked fine. He said that he was the most gentless cat he had ever meant.

Now, my other cat was a terror. He growled the minute the door to waiting room opened and called us in. He growled and hissed the whole time. He got his annual shots too and another antibiotic shot for his tooth and anal glands. Said the antibiotic must of loosened all the plaugue from his tooth and he just chipped off his remaining yuck from his tooth and said we should hold off on getting his tooth pulled.YEA! Looked like it was doing much better. Oh, hope so. I really hate dental's and having go through anethessia.

Hope everyone else is having some good cycles...
 
Well, you know we won't agree with your vet, Lori. Yes, if you want a long term diabetic, you could stay in that range and he will be regulated. But if you want to work toward a kitty who might go into remission, I think you have to be more agressive. Copper has been doing really well and giving you some good numbers. It is certainly more stressful to chase the lower numbers and shoot a little more agressively. Up to you.
 
I will lend you Mullet, Teresa. Once they meet Mullet, they will ask if you could bring Poopy next time.
Carl
 
Sue,

I am still going to stay on the course i was going. I just mentioned what he said because i thought it was interesting what he said about BG's. He just doesn't understand that i am around most of the time for nadir and keep up with him very closely. He really didn't understand the SS even though i explained it to him. I do want him to go into remission and will continue on my course. It was just interesting what he said that he thought he was in a bounce (smogyl effect--sp?). I went higher today (1.8u) and his numbers were higher. But, i do think it could be from the mthly flea stuff or just another bad day. Not sure. So i did go to the 1.6u tonight just to give him a rest from his stressful day and will start back on the regular path that i was taking tomorrow.

THANKS all!


lori
 
Lori,
I think I got what you said, and when you said "here we go again", I sort of imagined your eyes rolling like "ah geez, the vet just doesn't get it":-)
A little confused on the "below 100 " thing. Since they use the AT, does he not want him under 100 on the AT? Which would mean 70 on a human meter? Do they just not get that there's usually a 30 point or so variance? Or is he saying "no 70 no matter what meter? If so then I understand your frustration. It's like you are speaking two different languages with him.
Carl
 
frustosimine OH, thank God I read this - that word has been eluding me all evening. Sounds like Cooper is doing well - I feel similar kind of not getting it vibes from our Vet too - not too bad but just like he's not 100% convinced there's sound advice outside his office. He even said to me "so you think his Nadair is around 6/7 hours? Wow so than the insulin IS lasting a long time" HUH? We went round about that and finally he said "oh, I see what you mean - it's DROPPING off fast at the end" Why yes, dear Vet that is what I have been saying for 2 months or more now. ARGH.
Robbie also got big points for being a good boy - as he was getting his temperature taken the vet said "You know what I love about this cat? I feel like he could turn around any time and say 'so Barry how's it going' he's got a person in there" lol Yes, he ate a small child that's why he's almost 20 lbs :lol:
Anyway, high five to Cooper for being a good boy with good numbers and to you for staying on the track.
 
Carl,

Yes, the vet meant no below 100 no matter what meter. He didn't really understand the 30pt variance. I explained that when they get closer to 70BG that the human and AT come within 10pts of each other. That really threw him off and confused him more. Then i said, "But don't cats usually BG run between 40-120?" He said," yes, but that his could drop at any moment and hypo. It's too scary to get below 100BG." That's when he said to keep his ps's around 200 and his nadir around 100? WHAT??? That's when i realized that i should just drop the subject and be a good little dum client girl and nod my head, YES Mr. Vet and go on and keep going the path i was going. I didn't even want to do the fructo test and told him it was a waste of $ because i curve test him every day and know where he is at on BG. He said it came lumped with the other bloodwork and he wanted to make sure the SS was correct. Whatever!! That's when i said to myself, "here we go again." He is still clueless! I guess they are just not used to clients being intelligent and knowledgeable on their own cat. There was even a moment that he just starred at me in silence, like this girl knows what she is talking about and i don't even know what to say.

Oh well, just glad he is doing so well and that i can get the bloodwork when i want it. Maybe he will take the SS home tonight and try to understand what i was trying to say. Maybe.......

NOTE:
Gave copper the lower dose tonight and he came in at +3hrs meowing and begging for food. I tested him and he was at 225 already. That is lower then he has been in days even at +4. So maybe he was in a bounce. Who knows. Fed him early. He deserves it!


Ellen,

Glad to hear Robbie was a good boy too! He is a mane coon also, right? They are such lover boys!
 
Yes, the male Maine Coons seem to be real lover boys- my friend has had 2 - both just loving, sweeties - our female is sweet when she wants to be otherwise she's just a tad standoffish.
 
Ellen,
Thanks! Just finished wiping up up the coffee I spit when I saw your line about Robbie eating the small child! At least it wasn't beer...
Lol
Carl
 
Glad Copper had a good vet visit
you have come so far Lori, it is really amazing and you are an awesome momma!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top