Vet thinks normal BG 150-250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacym20

Member Since 2014
So the vet called and left a message. Apparently she was concerned about the numbers I was aiming for. She said she read some articles and seems to think 150-250 is the normal blood glucose range and read that human glucometers and the glucometer they use get about the same number. So she wants me to bring him and my glucometer in so they can see the difference in the numbers because she's worried about Bud dropping too low. I had my glucometer with me when I was there earlier but they didn't do or say anything about a blood glucose check when I was there. Bud goes back for a dental cleaning in 3 weeks so I'll put off the check until then which I would think she would be fine with since I haven't seen a number under 150 in some time anyways. Although I did get a 149 today at +6. Yay! Anyways, thought I'd share. I'm still going to be aiming for some higher end double digits! I should ask her what she thinks about me testing one of my civies and getting a 50. ;)
 
She is perhaps going on the numbers they might be aiming for if the cat is not getting tested at home.

You could show her the protocol and talk about your hypo kit. I am sure she will be reassured that you know what to do and are able to monitor.
 
My vet said 180 as a target. But then they didn't want home testing either. I'm sure the higher target has to be when they're not encouraging people to test at home - it's safer for the cat to be a little higher when you won't know if they're starting to drop low. But since the average blood sugar level in a non-diabetic cat is lower than that, as long as you can monitor, surely it has to be better for the cat to aim closer to what should be its normal range (obviously within safe limits as a non-diabetic cat isn't being artificially lowered by insulin).
 
I got my introduction to the 'smile and nod' club a few days ago. I'm aiming for what I'm aiming for - as far as I can tell 250 is much too high a target number. My vet called me, I listened to what they said...and then went right back to doing what I've been doing - it's easier that way ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top