Vet thinks dose change tonight: 13 June TUCKER: AMPS 13.1/236 so gave 2.75 Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker

Member Since 2018
The hungriest cat in the world... Apart from extreme hunger Tucker seems to be feeling better on the increased dose. He is suddenly a lap cat, very purry and is interested in playing again. Bless :)
 
Tucker has been on 2.75 for 6 doses now and we are starting to see a bit of improvement with his numbers. My vet texted me this morning saying she thinks it would be ok to move him up to 3 units this evening to see if we can ease some of the hunger.
 
Glad Tucker is feeling better.
Did you get any tests in last nights PM cycle? Cats often drop lower at night so I would always get at least one test if possible, to make sure it isn't dropping too much
 
Tucker has been on 2.75 for 6 doses now and we are starting to see a bit of improvement with his numbers. My vet texted me this morning saying she thinks it would be ok to move him up to 3 units this evening to see if we can ease some of the hunger.
I thought the first dose you gave was a 2.5fat dose, so really you need to wait until tomorrow morning to get the 6 cycles in of the 2.75 dose as per the TR protocol.
 
I just heard back from the vet and the plan is going to be different. She says she wants him to move up to 3 units after 5 DAYS on the 2.75 dose, and only if he is still feeling well but having excessive hunger and thirst. So she is thinking we keep him where he is until Friday.
 
I just heard back from the vet and the plan is going to be different. She says she wants him to move up to 3 units after 5 DAYS on the 2.75 dose, and only if he is still feeling well but having excessive hunger and thirst. So she is thinking we keep him where he is until Friday.
Ok.....I guess she is being cautious.
It's good she is on board with the 0.25 unit increases.
 
Holy smokes! We have finally heard from someone who is more cautious and conservative than me!! Maybe I can form a club with him - the cautious old guy club!

There is no big harm staying at 2.75 for another couple of days. I doubt the BG readings will be significantly different, though there are always surprises. I suspect you will end at 3.25-3.5 for the final stable dose. We haven't seen many blues. Until we do, then Tucker is not quite regulated.

In the peak of his Acromegaly, Leo was part wizard. Any scrap of food - GONE, as if by magic. And he was losing weight because of the Acro and the inability to regulate him. At this point in Tucker's life, I would feed him plenty to ensure he is keeping the weight on.
 
Holy smokes! We have finally heard from someone who is more cautious and conservative than me!! Maybe I can form a club with him - the cautious old guy club!

There is no big harm staying at 2.75 for another couple of days. I doubt the BG readings will be significantly different, though there are always surprises. I suspect you will end at 3.25-3.5 for the final stable dose. We haven't seen many blues. Until we do, then Tucker is not quite regulated.

In the peak of his Acromegaly, Leo was part wizard. Any scrap of food - GONE, as if by magic. And he was losing weight because of the Acro and the inability to regulate him. At this point in Tucker's life, I would feed him plenty to ensure he is keeping the weight on.
Hi! I missed this post so thought I would reply now. Our vet can't join your club cuz she's a woman in her 30's....but she has told me to try to hold changes to once a week with Tucker unless he slides too low and then try to bring it up with gravy Fancy Feast. She has also told me to Google a hack for using Lantus in a different insulin pen that doses in half or maybe even quarter doses to make life easier? She had not seen it herself but another vet had told her it is possible to use the Lantus cartridge in another pen to get smaller doses more accurately. Also, I bought a package of shredded chicken at Costco (zero carbs) and have been giving it to him as a reward for blood tests. I'm feeding him a small chicken 'lunch' as well so he has stopped eating the cardboard his BARF came in....small wins.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top