vet results question

Status
Not open for further replies.

dpl_hcm

Member Since 2016
so took mr whiskers in for his testing and they said he was down to 498 from 529?is it just me or is that very little?its been about 10-12 days on vetsulin.shouldn't it be a bigger drop?it was only a vet tech today but said the regular vet will call us later today if she wants anything changed.they also sent out his urine for culture test per our request and thatll take a week.
 
wow. my cat was in the 400's when first diagnosed after two weeks on the vetinsulin they did a second test about 5 hours after i gave him the injection and his number was 80. are you doing any home testing? what kind of food are you feeding?
 
When were those BG taken with respect to injecting the Vetsulin?
Do you have the corresponding BG before the shot?
Vet stress can artificially raise BG by over 100 points (USA).
There really is no significant difference between 498 and 529.
 
Have you considered a different insulin? Vetsulin is a more "harsh" insulin and not made for cats as they have after metabolisms than a dog (made for dogs)
We were on it for a short time with a harsh drop at +3-4 and rising from there...... My kitty was also very depressed on this insulin.
Some do well but it may be worth looking into.
Food is a good question... what are you feeding?
Also the stress at the vet will elevate the number... home testing is a much better indication of how the insulin is working.
 
asked wife and she said he got his shot at 9:20 and vet appt was 10:40 so not sure if that affected the numbers?
 
so vet called and said to up his dose to 2 in am and 3 in pm then retest.she said the 1 hour from shot shouldnt be as big of a curve like a dog would have even though vetsulins website has this

http://www.vetsulin.com/vet/Cats_Monitoring_About.aspx

i dont know what to do

shes a known vet but i feel more shouldve happened at least lower reading,but he is moving and happer so....?
 
Vetsulin NADIR is approximately 4 to 6 hours after injection. That means the BG will be at the lowest then. If you aren't home testing, please consider doing so. I don't think your vet understands how insulin works. If whiskers was fed 30 minutes before his shot, the food and the stress could have increased his BG.

Please consider home testing and learning the ins and outs of it. If it was my cat I wouldn't raise the insulin until I was home testing. Look at my Woody and Buzz's spreadsheets. See how low they would go in the middle of the cycle. I don't know how many weeks Woody was dropping dangerously low after each shot! but I do know Buzz showed clinical signs of hypoing at least 2 to 3 times a week.
 
Vetsulin's typical action is a quick drop early in the cycle, then a rise at the end of the cycle and by shot time they are back to where they started. There usually isn't a big change in preshot numbers right away. Doing the vet test so soon after the shot really wasn't going to show much. There might have been some vet stress raising the number there and some variance between methods of testing.

Really, you pretty much got the same number, but don't know why unless you get some testing later in the cycle. Preferably by home testing, but when you take him to they vet get an appointment farther from the shot.

I highly recommend doing some home testing. My Cecil was almost killed on Vetsulin simply because of timing of the tests at the vet. The shelter would give his shot around 7 in the morning and take him to the vet once a week around 4:30 to be tested. The insulin never lasted that long so they only ever saw high numbers. He went up to 5U b.i.d. in about 2 months time. He got skinny, sick, wouldn't eat. They found him in the kennel pretty non-responsive one morning and took him to the vet 4hrs after shot, found him in the low 100s. After I started talking with the shelter manager we noticed the timing of the tests and are certain he was getting lower #s in the cycle where he should have been which in turn caused bounces to higher numbers that caused more increase in insulin and it just circled out of control. If the shelter had been testing him, or taking him to the vet earlier in the day, they would have caught the insulin's action better and not been increasing the dose like that. We did take him off of Vetsulin at that point and a month on Lantus (and into foster) he went off of insulin and remains OTJ almost 2 years later. He came down fast on the new insulin and if he hadn't been being tested, he could have been in trouble. I don't know if we slept during that first 3 weeks we had him.
 
Any will "work", but the 2 we recommend the most here are the Relion Confirm or Micro because they take the tiniest sample size but the strips are still quite affordable ($35.88 per 100)

The other meter is the Relion Prime....the strips are the cheapest ($9 for 50) but it does take a larger sample size and we've heard some people get more frequent error messages with it (which means having to use another strip which negates the savings)

For new kitty ears, I can't stress how much better the smaller sample size is....Once the ears "learn to bleed", if you want to save money, you can get a Prime and try it, but for now, that small sample size is worth the extra cost (in my opinion)
 
Yes, most members here get the relion confirm or micro. Don't forget to get plenty of strips. Also, the lancets new testers usually get the 26 to 28 gauge. Have you read the stickies to get an idea how to test? What Melanie said about Cecil was what was occurring with both of mine! I would take them in at 4:00, 10 hours after injection and the vet would raise it by 2, yes 2 units. Woody was at one time getting 13 units of Novolin!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top