Vet in Orlando area?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim&Buddy

Member Since 2012
Can anyone recommend a knowledgeable vet in the northern Orlando area? Looking for north Orange County or south Seminole County if at all possible.
 
Just sent a message for you to one of the ladies that I know that is in your neck of the woods hopefully she will get a chance to pop in and give a couple of suggestions.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Mommaof Muse sent me a message as did Julia & Bandit. I gave a long winded explanation in your other thread and posted the name of my vet. Kindred Spirits Animal Clinic is on OBT near FL Mall, so that might not be where you looking for. I live in Oviedo, but feel it is worth it to drive the 20 miles to my vet, who I have been going to since 2004. Vets are a dime a dozen here.
 
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=67465

HERE'S the thread I responded to (julia had given me a link). Sorry about the typing - stil not used to the flat keys on the laptop after 2 years (lol)

And when I said vets were a dime a dozen, I meant that they are EVERYWHERE! I live near Almos Jancy vet clinic that I might use in an emergency, but there are at least 6 other vets in a 5 mile radius that I know of here.
 
You might consider The Cat Hospital of Orlando in Altamonte Springs. They're just off of 436 -- a few blocks East of I-4. That's where I take Motska (in fact, I'll be kennelling her there tomorrow through Monday). They are a feline-only practice.

I began taking Motska there a little over a year ago, when I got fed up with the old vet telling me that I can't test at home, but if I do, that I have to buy the $100 meter that you can only get from a vet. And when I kennelled with the old vet, they REFUSED to test her before giving her shots!!!! Even though I offered to pay an extra fee each time they did it!!!

I'm SO glad I changed vets -- I really enjoy working with these folks, especially when it comes to managing Motska's diabetes care -- in fact, in the "links" section of their website, they have links to felinediabetes.com and felinecrf.com (among others).

Good luck to you!

Kristine
 
Thanks Kristine!

I think that may end up being my best option in terms of travel, etc. Depending on where it is on 436 and time of day, it's probably only a 15 minute drive. Plus, being a feline only practice is appealing to me. And it's a very good sign that they provide a link to felinediabetes.com on their website! Do you work with a certain vet there? Also, does the name Dr. Groberg sound familiar? She worked at an all feline practice for ten years and I'm curious to see if she came from CHO.

Kim
 
yes, that feline vet is definately closer to you than my vet. It's nice to see they offer boarding and grooming - Cedric loves to get a bath!
 
Right now, I don't work with a particular vet there -- the vet we went to, has left the practice (she moved away). The name Dr. Groberg doesn't sound familiar, but then, Motska has only been going there for a little over a year now.

Kris
 
I ALMOST FORGOT TO MENTION!!!! that I don't think they do dosing on a 12hr schedule when you kennel there (although I don't know for sure). Most vet offices, as far as I can tell, give the shots within the first hour they open and then within the last hour before they close. I always just assume that they're giving Motska's shots at 8:30 am-ish, and 5 pm-ish. (When I go to pick her up after work at 5:45pm, she's already had her afternon shot -- and I seriously doubt that somebody got in there and did her AM shot at 5 am!!)

So when you kennel your baby there, you may want to adjust your dosage down, or give them a slightly higher carb food to feed her. (I give them the higher carb food.) And if you have any special instructions, they're pretty good about that. I've got a printed instruction sheet that I give them every time Motska is kennelled there, so they can put it on Motska's clipboard -- ex: no shot if her BG is below 200, a photo showing how to measure the dose, since she only gets .2u and we're using U100 syringes instead of U40 syringes, etc... When I picked her up yesterday, they told me that her BG had been 85 when they tested it, so she didn't receive a shot.

If you absolutely HAVE to keep to a 12 hour schedule, you may want to try to find someone who can come to your house to do it....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top