Jane & Boo (GA)
Member Since 2009
Boo is a rescue kitty I took in on New Years eve. She had been removed from her previous owner because of neglect. I immediately took her to the vet for a full blood panel, a physical exam and to schedule a dental because it's obvious that she has oral pain. A couple of days before the scheduled dental the blood panel results came back and indicated that Boo is diabetic. I was told that the dental should be postponed until she was started on insulin and her BG was regulated.
It's now a week since insulin was started and her BG seems to be getting higher. I'm thinking it could be because of the oral pain. When I asked the vet about doing the dental to give Boo some relief he said he wants to see her BG in the 200s first. He wants me to increase her dose to 2Units to see if that will get her to the 200s. Has anyone ever heard of this? What is the harm in doing the dental with high BG numbers.... especially when it's likely that those high numbers are the result of pain stress? Her kidney values are good and she's only 9 or 10 years old. I'm very fearful of increasing the insulin if her high numbers are pain related. Any advice?
It's now a week since insulin was started and her BG seems to be getting higher. I'm thinking it could be because of the oral pain. When I asked the vet about doing the dental to give Boo some relief he said he wants to see her BG in the 200s first. He wants me to increase her dose to 2Units to see if that will get her to the 200s. Has anyone ever heard of this? What is the harm in doing the dental with high BG numbers.... especially when it's likely that those high numbers are the result of pain stress? Her kidney values are good and she's only 9 or 10 years old. I'm very fearful of increasing the insulin if her high numbers are pain related. Any advice?