LeosGotTheBetus
Member Since 2018
I’m super new on this website, I’m 22 and living on my own in the city going to school. In early February my cat (M, 6yr) was diagnosed with diabetes. I thought he had a UTI and then his bg was 475 and suddenly I was giving him insulin every day, and accepted that I’d be doing this for a long time. And it went well from the start, 7u had his bg consistently 130-150 for about a few weeks until i lowered it to 5u based off his numbers.. then 3.. now we’re on 1. My family vet who we have long trusted first drew suspicion when they clipped his toe nails to the wick in order to draw blood to check bg... I refused the moment they told me to do that and bought lancets and learned to prick his ear immediately. I’ve been reading up as much as possible and trying to inform myself because I don’t feel very supported by that vet. They did not tell me remission was a possibility which I find irrisponsible because over 3 months he’s gone from 9u of novalin twice daily, to 1u. If I blindly gave him 9u the whole time, he’d be in serious trouble! Because this vet is in my hometown and it’s a hassle to get him there, I haven’t been back. I’ve been taking his bg with every shot and he seems to be hovering around 130-150 with and without insulin (once his bg was 77 after giving him 3u, so I skipped that dose. The next day he was 135, so I didn’t give him insulin again... next check, he was 142. Since then I read online that in the case of a cat with a “sputtering pancreas” it’s best to keep up with insulin therapy as long as possible even if it’s >1u, just to give the pancreas as much help to heal as possible, so I’m doing 1u. I’m not sure exactly why I’m posting this as I’ve essentially already decided to just keep a log of his numbers and after 2 weeks of consistently low bg numbers on >1u, to call my vet. I guess I’m looking for some other people going through this, I’m due to graduate in 2 weeks and it’s been stressful but I know nobody with a diabetic cat and my vet has been non-communicative. Could his low numbers be a mistake? It’s almost always between 130-150. Should I not trust my bg meter because it’s a human meter? I can’t afford to be buying expensive equipment right now but I want to be sure he’s really in remission before I just stop giving him insulin. Thoughts/comments are Super Super appreciated, I’ve never posted on a forum like this so I don’t know how this works, I just want to feel less alone in dealing with such a serious condition. Thanks!
Good luck and congrats on getting Leo closer to remission!