Vet called, ? Chronic Active Pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Active Member
The vet called me back about Juniors numbers going up this week, I have tried updating my spread sheet, but having trouble with server where I work...

I called her because she is still his vet, and I wanted to update her, especially that since last weekend his numbers have gone above 200, she said as long as he stays under 250 it is ok, and she thinks he has Chronic Active pancreatitis, and that it will come and go...she didn't suggest any tests, just keep her updated, and keep him on 1 unit Lantus twice daily, and call her next week.

Can anyone suggest what I should be doing, does he need any tests, he seems happy, he purrs, and kisses, eats good, uses the litter box ( Breeze ) and why did she say this , I don't get it.

So much info on the web, where do I start looking?

She did tell me she went to a seminar a few weeks ago to learn about Diabetic Felines.
 
I would stick with your current plan that we talked about yesterday, of sticking with 1u for a few days and getting those 3x daily tests in, with a curve when you can do it on the weekend, and then adjusting the dose in a few days depending on your data. I'd say if you can get a curve in before Sunday, you can adjust the dose after that. He will likely need to be raised to 1.25u.

I've attached an article for you to give to your vet about treatment with Lantus. I would also urge you to read up yourself on the dosing protocol in the Lantus forum. After you get your data in, you're going to be using that to adjust the dose: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

If Junior truly has pancreatitis (and without tests you do not know this for sure at all), you might want to stick to a diet lower in fat. What is he eating now? I can't recall.
 

Attachments

He is on 9 Lives, & Friskies, sometimes Special Kitty if available, chicken pate, ocean whitefish, turkey, salmon, and for BG treats I have Pure Bites, freeze dried chicken breast, he gets a 1/2 can in the am, and 1/2 in the pm, he is generally getting his third meal/snack at night time, when I go to bed at 11pm.

He seems ok, just the conversation we had was not satisfactory in my mind, and she basically I feel left me in the air about what to do...

So, I will keep up the way we have been going, I am going to a friends house to see if we can figure out his Spread sheet, and I promise to him and myself, the curve will get done, I couldn't update today, but his numbers werelast night, PMPS- 231, 10.30pm-204, and AMPS today was 220.

Should I do the middle hour between shots, and the next day do the 4 and 8 hr bg?
 
Those test times sound good to me! Unfortunately, many vets are not familiar with the dosing protocol, but it is key in getting your cat regulated, and then into remission because it helps keep Junior's BG in a normal range as much as possible so that his pancreas can heal. But no worries! There are a ton of experienced people here to help you out with what to do! And after a while you'll find that you'll begin to understand how it all works more, and you won't be so stressed out. The people in the Lantus forum will give you great advice to help get Junior's BG under control.

You're doing great! You have all of the right steps in place right now, testing at least 3X a day, the right diet, and the right insulin. Now it's just time to fine tune the dose and for the patience part of the process (which sometimes is the hardest.) :-D

I don't think any of the foods you're feeding are overly fatty, so I think you're good in that regard.
 
Thanks for the advice and support!

Will follow through and update tomorrow. and will set alarm and try for the midnite test tonight.

As long as I am not hurting him, I can deal with the stress.

til then, thanks again!

Bandit is very lucky to have such a great mom!
 
Believe me, you're NOT hurting him. In fact, the more you test, the better he'll get. Bandit went from having to be wrapped in a blanket and put in a basket because he would try and bite and claw and bolt, to sitting patiently within 2 weeks. Within a few months, he was running to me to get tested when he heard the glucose meter beep on (make sure you give a treat or feed after every test!), to today, where he'll not only run and jump in his basket to get tested, but he'll purr the whole way through it.
 
Pancreatitis flare ups can be very painful. Not to mention make the cat nauseous.

You may want to get original pepcid AC 10 mg dose to have on hand. And you can give 1/4 to 1/2 tablet twice a day to help with the nausea. (generic brand is just fine too).
 
squeem3 said:
The newer chart only lists as fed values. To convert the numbes into percentof calories (what Binky's chart uses) you can plug the numbers into Janet's nifty Excel spreadsheet. If you don't have Excel, Janet's FAQ page tells how to calculate out the vales by the paper and pencil method :smile:

The values are all listed out in the newer chart--there's no need to do any additional calculations.
 
Junior was not having any midnight test last night, he was in hiding by the wood stove...

I did his update on his SS, hope it worked, will do the midnite test tonight, which is 6+, then tomorrow, am & pm, plus a test at 4+, and at 8+, so that will give me a 24 hour cycle, right?

He doesn't seem to be in any pain, I don't know why she said that he has this new problem, and she is off again, long weekend...he was very frisky this morning, and almost knew I was mad about last night, he went right to his mat in the kitchen and sat and waited for his test this morning, I couldn't believe it, after last night, that crazy little guy!

will do more research as soon as possible, to the library tomorrow for my birthday!

thanks to all, you are all so kind...
 
Once he figures out he's gonna get food after his late night test, he'll start coming to you for those, too! :-D Try luring him to you with treats before the test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top