Meowluv said:
Because she is a fantastic veterinarian I will comply with her wishes. If it was any one else I don't think I would have followed this directive.
And if she told you to drive off a cliff?
I have a vet that I really, really like. I think she is really knowledgeable. She diagnosed Beau's HCM based on my describing how he was acting (but sent me to a specialist for an ultrasound and confirmation after she examened him). However, when it came to treating diabetes, not so good. I learned that only after finding this site. She and her colleagues told me not to test. The best I can say is that Beau didn't die, the truth is that he not only did not get regulated in six months, but he got worse. I was shooting 7u of vetsulin without testing nailbite_smile
Never, in a million years, would I inject insulin into any living being without knowing what their blood sugar level was. I have treated three diabetics and every one of them has thrown a low number out of the blue - an 80 or 69, or something like that, at shot time.
But it isn't just the preshot numbers that are important. You can test at preshot and get 300s every time and the vet would tell you that you have to increase the dose, but just getting that one mid-cycle number that reads *43* and it is enough to rethink that increase, right?
Finally, it was such a relief to get Beau into regular testing and to KNOW what was going on. For six months I was a basket case. Always fearing what I would find when I came home from work. See, in addition to telling me not to test, my vet said, "there are diabetic cats that have hypoed and those that will hypo..." like if was a guarantee and the only question was when
Do yourself a favor and always test. Give a treat afterwards and it becomes a bonding time with your cat. I will never forget making myself cocoa one night in the microwave and waking out of the kitchen to find Beau sitting on his testing blanket waiting for his test and treat - and purring away. All because the microwave always dings before we tested (heating the rice sock). (yes, I gave him a treat :mrgreen: )