Vet approved increase of insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bee

Member Since 2017
So rocky has been on 1 u of Lantus once a day. Its been about a week his BG have been high 200-high300. So i asked about increasing him to 2 shots a day. He asked for his pre shot # (6pm) and before he eats in the am (8am) Pre shot he was at 360 and this morning he was at 362. He said his goal is to get Rocky to stay below 300. Anyways he's now saying to give 1 U in the am and 2 U in the evening. I was thinking he was going to say 1 at night and 1 morning . I will still be closely monitoring him , especially because i just recently switched him to Classic Chicken FF diet .
 
How familiar with Lantus is your Vet? The insulin shots for twice a day should be 12 hours apart, same dose. I really think you should just stick with 1.0U twice a day but I understand if you would prefer to listen to your Vet.

Please setup your Signature so others will know what's going on with Rocky :cat: and the Spreadsheet will be very helpful too.

I am not really sure how familiar he is with it. OR even with diabetic cats. I mean hes been a good vet and the staff is great too. I kinda thought id be 1u am 1 u pm to when he said 2u night i even asked him again he said yes. 2u evening . I think maybe i should do 1 u am and 1 u pm as well. Also hes gets 1u at 6 pm so should i start the am one tomorrow and give it to him at 6am?
 
Correct, with no food eaten after 04:00/ 16:00.

I feed him just before his insulin. Is that not correct vet said make sure he eats before or at the same time of his insulin ? Am i miss understanding?
 
Lantus does best with consistent dosing--you always want to shoot the same dose in the AM as you are in the PM. It is a depot insulin, and works differently from in/out insulins like Vetsulin. I would do 1u am, 1u pm. If that dose is not enough, the increase is made to both shots--for example, raising the dose by .25-.5u o to 1.25u or 1.5u at both am/pm depending on his numbers.

I feed him just before his insulin. Is that not correct vet said make sure he eats before or at the same time of his insulin ? Am i miss understanding?

Nope, that's fine! The order should be Test-Feed-Shoot. I always gave Bandit his shots while he was eating because he was so engrossed in his food he didn't notice he was even getting one. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bee
So i feed him at 5:30- 5:50pm just before i give him his shot at 6pm .
 
I was thinking he was going to say 1 at night and 1 morning

This is more correct....Lantus does best when given at the same dose, both AM and PM......and most cats go lower at night so I don't know why your vet would suggest giving twice as much insulin!!!

I'd start at 1U twice a day and make sure to get Pre-shot tests, at least 1 mid-cycle test on the AM cycle and at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle
 
So i feed him at 5:30- 5:50pm just before i give him his shot at 6pm .

Well, that's a little further out than I thought you meant--I would do it all at 6pm--test him, give him his food, and then give him insulin either while he's eating or right afterwards.
 
So i feed him at 5:30- 5:50pm just before i give him his shot at 6pm .

That would be OK but it's not necessary to drag it out that long.......China's shot times are 6am/6pm....so at 6, I Test/Feed/Shoot....all in about 5 minutes....You Test (to make sure they're high enough for insulin), Feed (to make sure they're at least willing to eat....they don't need to eat a big meal before the shot....just be willing to eat) and Shoot...usually when their head is in the bowl!
 
That would be OK but it's not necessary to drag it out that long.......China's shot times are 6am/6pm....so at 6, I Test/Feed/Shoot....all in about 5 minutes....You Test (to make sure they're high enough for insulin), Feed (to make sure they're at least willing to eat....they don't need to eat a big meal before the shot....just be willing to eat) and Shoot...usually when their head is in the bowl!

Rocky normally eats 2xs a day morning and evening but since hes been more hungry i have been feeding him in the after noon. Should i test his BG before and or after he eats Ive been writing down the times i feed him and roughly how much . Or is the mid cycle test enough ?
 
It's fine to let him have snacks....it's actually easier on the pancreas to deal with several small meals instead of 2 big ones! The main thing to remember is 'No food for the 2 hours before Pre-shot tests".....so the Pre-shot test isn't influenced by food

Between Pre-shot tests, it's fine to give little snacks and just test.

Some cats do better if they have most of their food before nadir (usually around +6) but some cats can eat all the way to +10 without any problems. As you test, you'll learn how Rocky does.

When you get the spreadsheet going, you can do something like put an * in the cells when you feed him to help see if there's any pattern or put what/when you feed over in the "Remarks" section

As far as testing goes, it depends on your schedule and how much data you want on Rocky....most of us here are "test-a-holics" and test 6-8 times a day (or more)

It's only necessary to get the 2 Pre-shot tests and a mid-cycle (between 5-7 hours after the morning shot if possible) and a "before bed" test on the PM cycle
 
Rocky normally eats 2xs a day morning and evening but since hes been more hungry i have been feeding him in the after noon. Should i test his BG before and or after he eats Ive been writing down the times i feed him and roughly how much . Or is the mid cycle test enough ?

I agree with Chris! I find it much easier to feed my cats 4x a day. They would go insane if they had to wait 12 hours in between meals (cats metabolisms are twice as fast as people, so they really do well on smaller, more frequent meals)! They eat every 6 hours, and I have autofeeders that I freeze portions of canned food, and set it to go off when I'm not home or sleeping and can't get to their 1pm/1am meal times.
 
I agree with Chris! I find it much easier to feed my cats 4x a day. They would go insane if they had to wait 12 hours in between meals (cats metabolisms are twice as fast as people, so they really do well on smaller, more frequent meals)! They eat every 6 hours, and I have autofeeders that I freeze portions of canned food, and set it to go off when I'm not home or sleeping and can't get to their 1pm/1am meal times.

Yeah ill need to figure out a system . I have 2 other cats and a dog. I wouldnt know who ate it . I have been feeding him in the kitchen since im still feeding my other 2 wellness dry food. Does it need to be full meals? I started 1 can of FF 3.3oz in the am 1\3 can when i get home around 3pm 1 can pm
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top