Very stressful week now lethargic and not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mrs.GusGus

Member Since 2014
I was recently quite active in the TR forum up until my life became crazy, and I wasn't able to get as many midday values nor post as often.

Annie is 13, and currently still on 1.5u of Lantus twice a day. I moved just over a week ago, had to pack her up and relocate her. She spent most of her days hiding under the bed but would still happily come out for food. A couple incidences of her peeing on the new carpet, but other than that she didn't seem too terribly stressed in terms of physical symptoms.

Then I had to go home for Thanksgiving weekend, packed her up again to leave her in the care of a friend who regrettably skipped out on a dosage one evening... and then Annie was left without food for probably about 20 hours.

I brought her back to her new home yesterday, and she resumed to hiding under the bed. Her values were high again--in the 300s-350s, and we've returned to her regular protocol of twice a day insulin and numerous little meals.

This afternoon however, she didn't have much of an appetite (this is unusual for my little piggy). She drank quite a bit of water, her BG was at 204, and then she threw up twice in a row. Mostly bile with a couple old sprigs of grass.

Her PMPs was 304, she received her injection but wouldn't eat her dinner. She is very mopey, pacing around a bit, and then behaving very lethargically. Laying down in odd spots in the middle of the room, very disinterested to everything around her....she even sat and stared at wall in the utility closet for a bit. I haven't seen her use the litter box all day either.

I am terribly guilt-stricken by this... I will definitely will take her into the vet tomorrow...or emergency tonight if her condition doesn't improve. Any ideas? advice?

It's got to be all the stress she's been through this last week, too much instability and disruption for her to handle.
 
Hi,

I'm sorry that Annie isn't feeling so good. I don't have enough experience to advise you but I noticed that your post hasn't had any replies yet. If you don't get an answer soon, it might be an idea to post on the TR forum because it's more active and you might get help sooner.

I hope that Annie will feel better soon.

ETA - does your vet have an out of hours number? It might be a good idea to give them a call for advice.
 
Hi

As Aine said it could be the stress of all the moving. It may just have upset here levels and hence the odd behaviour. One of the thighs that I noticed about my cat remi before his diagnosis Is the the sat in odd positions. For example in the hall outside the bedroom. Now he is better regulated he does this less.

Do you think Annie is in pain or feeling nauseous. I used to tell this with my cat because he would go up to his food, lick his lips a lot but not ear. He would also sit more huddled in that meat loaf position with his head down and his eyes not quite so open.

I think I would watch overnight and see if I could encourage her to eat or drink a little. I might even try to add water to her food. Can you try to get her to feel more relaxed in her new environment ? Sitting on the floor next to her, walking her round it in your arms? Perhaps she just needs to get used to her new home for her blood glucose to get better.but I think you are right if no improvement soon I would pop along to the vet.
 
If you have given a shot and she won't eat, I'd try all the tricks. Have you heated the food? Added freeze dried crumbled meat on top? Parmesan cheese, oregano, catnip, a little plain tuna water, Forti Flora , crumbled dry food if she likes that on the food. Feed her high carb food or even vanilla ice cream if you have to. As a last resort, I'd try to syringe feed her so she gets something in her. Any chance she's working on a hairball? You could try a little plain unsalted butter or olive oil.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top