Yes. Even though I have been attempting to manage his condition for a year now, I am still no expert. I consider myself quite "new".Hey! I’m no expert, but I’m up and I see you.Sorry Pumpkin is keeping you up tonight! The last time he did this his nadir was pretty early, fingers crossed tonight will be similar.
![]()
Update. The distress may be difficult to detect because the numbers are fabulous. Compared to where he was.
But, the rate at which they fall sometimes is a serious concern to me.
They may be headed upward, so if at 2:30AM he tests higher, I will call it a night. I have to work in the morning. At least I work remotely.
I really appreciate this so much.Sorry I did not see your post last night, but you did the right thing by feeding him a few tsps of food although, the BG numbers are great 92 is not low if you notice Corky's spreadsheet you will se that his last test is at 10PM and is usually between the 90's and 70's, I use to lose a lot of sleep as well, when he would reach 150 I would not go to sleep till morning hours, not knowing that those numbers were not alarming, but at the contrary they are great numbers, it took me a while to feel comfortable with green numbers, but in those two digits BG's is where the pancreas are healing, so you can rest if that's the case. of he falls in the 60's is when you test every 1/2 hour if it continues to fall then you start to feed 1-2 tbs of low carbs never high carbs, only if he falls under 50 is when you give a bit of high carbs only then, but the numbers he had last night are not alarming at all![]()
Corky was the same, he would have 130-140 BG and from 1 hour to the next it was 100 I would run around the house like a chicken without a head, and started posting every body here, now my last test is @10PM, mostly now going to sleep with an 79-90 BG and I sleep like a baby, when in doubt you can refer to my Corky's spreadsheet and what I do when he's running low in the remarks in bold letters, what I tell everyone is what was taught to me, step back, breath in and breath out, our anxiety our cats senses it all and is not good for them, if you want to feel more comfortable, when he's low test every 1/2 hour,I really appreciate this so much.
I am at the point where I pretty much will be up through the morning, like you mentioned. It's really, very scary right now. It's unusual for him to dip like that, so when it happens I can't stop concerning as to what is going on. Other than he has wacky blood sugar. I hope I can also get to the point where I can feel more comfortable about resting if they start getting lower, too.
Thanks again so very much!!
Corky was the same, he would have 130-140 BG and from 1 hour to the next it was 100 I would run around the house like a chicken without a head, and started posting every body here, now my last test is @10PM, mostly now going to sleep with an 79-90 BG and I sleep like a baby, when in doubt you can refer to my Corky's spreadsheet and what I do when he's running low in the remarks in bold letters, what I tell everyone is what was taught to me, step back, breath in and breath out, our anxiety our cats senses it all and is not good for them, if you want to feel more comfortable, when he's low test every 1/2 hour,
Corky drops to 69-70 I give him 1 tsp of low carb every 1/2 hour , you did great last night![]()
how's Pumpkin doing??I really appreciate this so much.
I am at the point where I pretty much will be up through the morning, like you mentioned. It's really, very scary right now. It's unusual for him to dip like that, so when it happens I can't stop concerning as to what is going on. Other than he has wacky blood sugar. I hope I can also get to the point where I can feel more comfortable about resting if they start getting lower, too.
Thanks again so very much!!
Oh yes that game was hard for me to swallow on “ how low can you go” yet here we are Suzanne awarded me with the “BALLS OF STEEL” I’ve been shooting as low as 89 and right now on Corky’s PMPS looks that is what’s going to happen, I couldn’t sleep either if he had 145-150 I went craaazy! And look now I am the most relaxed and sleep like a baby even when he’s BG Is at 79 but I must sa, it took a lot to step back breath in and breath out but it worked his pancreas are healing Corky is happy I am happy!!Since youre using SLGS, hitting 90 earns a .25 reduction in the next dose! It does look like you’ve been bouncing around on dosage, so that is probably causing a bit of chaos with the depot and his natural responses.
Make sure you keep the .75u for the recommended number of cycles before increasing the dose again (unless he earns another decrease). This will help give the depot time to settle and help figure out the proper dose.
And I totally understand the panic - I was the same way even when it was only hitting 200 lol but in my opinion, I’d rather have lost a night’s sleep than for something to have happened that I can’t be alerted to if I did sleep (even though it was always fine, what ifs haunt my brain). Those steep drops are the scariest too. The game of “how low will you go” isnt one I enjoyed playing. But you’ve got this!
Pumpkin is doing well today. I hadn't had a chance to update his sheet. But, I am pretty tired. When that happens at night, it takes all my energy when I lose sleep. I go nuts as well when it falls so fast. Luckily, were off early for the holiday weekend. So I was gonna try to catch a little rest before the evening.how's Pumpkin doing??
Oh yes that game was hard for me to swallow on “ how low can you go” yet here we are Suzanne awarded me with the “BALLS OF STEEL” I’ve been shooting as low as 89 and right now on Corky’s PMPS looks that is what’s going to happen, I couldn’t sleep either if he had 145-150 I went craaazy! And look now I am the most relaxed and sleep like a baby even when he’s BG Is at 79 but I must sa, it took a lot to step back breath in and breath out but it worked his pancreas are healing Corky is happy I am happy!!![]()
Yes. Better to lose a nights sleep than a piece of my heart!Since youre using SLGS, hitting 90 earns a .25 reduction in the next dose! It does look like you’ve been bouncing around on dosage, so that is probably causing a bit of chaos with the depot and his natural responses.
Make sure you keep the .75u for the recommended number of cycles before increasing the dose again (unless he earns another decrease). This will help give the depot time to settle and help figure out the proper dose.
And I totally understand the panic - I was the same way even when it was only hitting 200 lol but in my opinion, I’d rather have lost a night’s sleep than for something to have happened that I can’t be alerted to if I did sleep (even though it was always fine, what ifs haunt my brain). Those steep drops are the scariest too. The game of “how low will you go” isnt one I enjoyed playing. But you’ve got this!
Got it. I the lowest recorded was 90. All this after a good amount of high carb. Not low. It may not have been clear because my brain was shut off for the night. But, I was awake on autopilot watching him. This is my major concern how he falls even after high carb. I have never ever heard of that. It's very scary for me. I try to not let him see me upset because I don't need him spooked too.Shell- I recall several months ago you had been concerned about how it was possible for a cat to start at high numbers, drop hundreds of points, yet when they start at lower numbers they don’t drop the equal amount. At that time I tried to explain that is not how Lantus works.
I’d like to offer a few more observations. Typically, we find it is best to try and give the same dose each cycle, and make dose decisions based on how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshots. I would suggest you stick with 1u for seven days per SLGS, consistently, unless Pumpkin falls under 90 and keep getting the tests in to gather the data, and see how it goes. When Pumpkin dropped from 112 at +3 to 94 at +4 the pace was slowing down, and if I understand correctly, you only fed a little low carb at +2.
It would be a good idea to get into the habit of noting in the comments what you fed and how much in your comments, if you intervened with carbs at any point when the numbers were dropping. It helps to see what worked and didn’t work in the future, when you get active cycles like this.
Lastly, I’m not clear on what last night’s green was, since here in your post you’ve got 94, but in your SS you’ve got 90. Either way, Pumpkin didn’t earn a reduction, since it wasn’t under 90.
the high carbs I have in my HYPO KIT are Medium carbs Medley Florentine in light sauce, 9-10% carbs and the Medley Florentine in gravy 12-15% carbsWhat food were you giving that was high carb, how much and when? Just trying to see if I can help you plan for the future.. If you fed at +3 looks like that helped slow the drop. Remember too, 90 is perfectly safe, although I understand how it can feel in the moment, not knowing what the next test will be.
I really appreciate you so much. A quarter can of Fancy Feast Savory Salmon Feast at +2. Throughout, every half hour I was unfortunately a little panicked so I am not sure. But, every half hour I'd give a stick of Delectables lickable. That is the lickable treat sticks. Not the pouches. At +3, I think it was another quarter can of the Fancy Feast Savory Salmon Feast mixed with more delectable stick. When I noticed it inched back up a little before I went to bed, I gave another stick of the Delectables lickable just so I could sleep if at all possible.What food were you giving that was high carb, how much and when? Just trying to see if I can help you plan for the future.. If you fed at +3 looks like that helped slow the drop. Remember too, 90 is perfectly safe, although I understand how it can feel in the moment, not knowing what the next test will be.
I have honey. Is Karo preferred, though?the high carbs I have in my HYPO KIT are Medium carbs Medley Florentine in light sauce, 9-10% carbs and the Medley Florentine in gravy 12-15% carbs
Do not use gravies unless he's below 50, then you want to rub some KARO SYRUP, also should be part of your HYPO KIT, the KARO is just a momentary Glucose boost, so you can work on him more relaxed then test, if it raised above 50 then give 1-2 tsp of medium carb, and test ever 1/2 hour and repeat. remember 60 and above is NOT LOW BG, just lower than you are used to, it took me a bit to learn how to manage that one, but when in doubt, you can PM us, just go on the search engine type any of our names and start a conversation, we can guide you along the process as long as it needs to. You Got This!!![]()
Yes honey is good too, only 1/4 Can every half is a lot he only needs 1 tsp at a time you don’t want to fill him up too much . The delacatables are high carbs, remember do not give high carbs or honey in the 90’s range that’s a good number and no need to feed every 1/2 hour you can though test every 1/2 hour for your comfort if he continues to drop lower than 70 then continue the same process. The Kari and High Carbs are only used as an emergency if you give him High carbs every time he drops a few number you will never get him to where you want and needs to be, I know is scary you sound just like me Panicky so so scared to lose Corky he’s my life and Coco as well , I did not want to see anything less than 130 or I would start to cry, now I get upset when I do see it, be patient he’s going to be ok but to help you you need to let us help you do keep the same dose for the cycle and before you feel you want to reduce or increase the dose get an input and the experts will help you if we can’t answer it we will tag someone that canI have honey. Is Karo preferred, though?
I am absolutely trying to manage the fact that 60 and above is not low BG. That was the reassurance that helped me to calm down ever so slightly last night. Thank you for letting me know about PMs too.
Thank you!!!![]()
I have honey. Is Karo preferred, though?
I am absolutely trying to manage the fact that 60 and above is not low BG. That was the reassurance that helped me to calm down ever so slightly last night. Thank you for letting me know about PMs too.
Thank you!!!![]()
Yes honey is good too, only 1/4 Can every half is a lot he only needs 1 tsp at a time you don’t want to fill him up too much . The delacatables are high carbs, remember do not give high carbs or honey in the 90’s range that’s a good number and no need to feed every 1/2 hour you can though test every 1/2 hour for your comfort if he continues to drop lower than 70 then continue the same process. The Kari and High Carbs are only used as an emergency if you give him High carbs every time he drops a few number you will never get him to where you want and needs to be, I know is scary you sound just like me Panicky so so scared to lose Corky he’s my life and Coco as well , I did not want to see anything less than 130 or I would start to cry, now I get upset when I do see it, be patient he’s going to be ok but to help you need to let us help you do keep the same dose for the cycle and before you feel you want to reduce or increase the dose get an input and the experts will help you if we can’t answer we will tag someone that can feel at ese by checking out Corky's Spreadsheet and you'll see the numbers, there's nothing to worry about low numbers over 60 as a matter a fact Corky's pancreas are healing, which means his pancreas are creating insulin so in time he will be on remission![]()
those delectable sticks have a lot of carbs, for treats, FF has a tuna stick that is natural 0% I give Corky and Coco, Frick's Gourmet Ham, 1 % carb I buy it at Publix, I don't know where you live, but you can buy any ham but look at the label carefully that it does not contain molasses, sugars, the label should say carbohydrates 1 or 2 % I cut into little squares ang give that. When you give low carb foods and then you see he's BG is getting lower, it means the insulin is taking effect, I shoot Corky AMPS/PMPS at 6:00 AM/PM and the insulin those not take effect 1- 1/2 -2 hours later, so of course there will be significant fall in BG, but is good, the insulin is working, you give those treats of MED/High carbs you are beating the purpose of the insulin and he's BG goes up quite rapidly, stay away from KARO/HONEY, find a small ML syringe so you can measure them When/If you will need to use and when in doubtI really appreciate you so much. A quarter can of Fancy Feast Savory Salmon Feast at +2. Throughout, every half hour I was unfortunately a little panicked so I am not sure. But, every half hour I'd give a stick of Delectables lickable. That is the lickable treat sticks. Not the pouches. At +3, I think it was another quarter can of the Fancy Feast Savory Salmon Feast mixed with more delectable stick. When I noticed it inched back up a little before I went to bed, I gave another stick of the Delectables lickable just so I could sleep if at all possible.
![]()
Yes. I have decreased to .75. And today, it's diving a little again. I had a major car repair scheduled for today that I won't be getting because I need to sit and watch this. I've been feeding high carb to try to break the fall a little, but it's having little effect. I sure hope the exhaust system doesn't fall off my car. I was supposed to have it fixed today, but it's not going to happen. I almost wish I would have missed this shot because now, if the system falls off, I need to get groceries and cat food etc and I won't be able to drive.Shell- a couple of follow up comments for you:
I think I pointed you to the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilar Sub-Forum in the past, but it's worth mentioning again, since there are a lot of other experienced members there who use Lantus who may not come over to the Health Forum. I would recommend posting over there if you have lower than comfortable preshots, or active cycles that you need some support with, which is preferrable to requesting advice from any one individual via private message.
- I wouldn’t have reduced to 0.75u; you are following SLGS and Pumpkin didn’t earn a reduction, since he didn’t go under 90. That said, now that you’ve reduced, give 0.75u a try for 7 days and see how he does. Don't be in a rush to increase based on some higher numbers, we want to be able to give the Lantus depot a chance to settle since you've been doing a lot of changes based on what the preshot numbers are.
- Are you still feeding dry food as you’ve noted in your signature?
- The FF savoury salmon feast is only 1% carb. Depending on how carb sensitive Pumpkin is, you may find that you can make use of some higher low carb, let's say 5%-9% range, to prop up his numbers when he is dropping quickly at +2. I tended to stay away from "treats" that I wasn't sure what the actual carb % was, since of all the things in this dance that I *could* control, carbs were at least one of the variables. But, that's up to you, keep recording when you feed the delectibles, and if you find that it keeps his numbers relatively flat, that's fine. If you find that it doesn't, especially early in the cycle, then you can reach for something in a medium carb (10%-15% range).
- Side note: every cat is different, so it's up to the caregiver to find out how their own cat responds to insulin and carbs. What works for me and my cat, may not be what works for you and Pumpkin
- Keep getting those +2 tests, regardless of what the preshot is. Also try and do some spot checks if you can around +10 or +11. Those can be worth their weight in gold, since those tests will tell you whether he is on the rise into preshot, flat, or coming down. In instances where you have a preshot like yesterday morning, you might want to try and stall (not feed) and test again in 30 minutes to see if his BG is at a number that you are comfortable shooting.
- If you find his numbers are coming down at +2, I would try to give a couple bites (1-2 tsps) of his usual food and test again at +3. The idea is to use low carb snacks to prop up his numbers a little as the insulin dose starts to work. Remember with SLGS generally you want BG numbers to be in the 90-150 mg/dl range so don't be afraid when numbers do come down.
At the very least, it might be worth checking some of the information links again, like What is the Insulin Depot? and Dosing Methods
Questions?![]()
Keep getting those +2 tests, regardless of what the preshot is. Also try and do some spot checks if you can around +10 or +11. Those can be worth their weight in gold, since those tests will tell you whether he is on the rise into preshot, flat, or coming down. In instances where you have a preshot like yesterday morning, you might want to try and stall (not feed) and test again in 30 minutes to see if his BG is at a number that you are comfortable shooting.
Are you still feeding dry food as you’ve noted in your signature?
The FF savoury salmon feast is only 1% carb. Depending on how carb sensitive Pumpkin is, you may find that you can make use of some higher low carb, let's say 5%-9% range, to prop up his numbers when he is dropping quickly at +2. I tended to stay away from "treats" that I wasn't sure what the actual carb % was, since of all the things in this dance that I *could* control, carbs were at least one of the variables. But, that's up to you, keep recording when you feed the delectibles, and if you find that it keeps his numbers relatively flat, that's fine. If you find that it doesn't, especially early in the cycle, then you can reach for something in a medium carb (10%-15% range).
I think I pointed you to the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilar Sub-Forum in the past, but it's worth mentioning again, since there are a lot of other experienced members there who use Lantus who may not come over to the Health Forum. I would recommend posting over there if you have lower than comfortable preshots, or active cycles that you need some support with, which is preferrable to requesting advice from any one individual via private message.
It does help. Thank you ever so much!!Christie has provided a wealth of great advice. If you want to look at a spreadsheet from a cat who liked to take rather dramatic dives, look at Gabby's spreadsheet. There's 6.5 years of testaholic data but maybe you'll find it reassuring. She never had a symptomatic hypoglycemic event and she did drop into low numbers.
Any chance the service repair place can take you in now? Pumpkin has flattened out and probably close to nadir if not at it already, and still in safe numbers, you’d be fine to leave. I’ll get to your other comments here shortly.Yes. I have decreased to .75. And today, it's diving a little again. I had a major car repair scheduled for today that I won't be getting because I need to sit and watch this. I've been feeding high carb to try to break the fall a little, but it's having little effect. I sure hope the exhaust system doesn't fall off my car. I was supposed to have it fixed today, but it's not going to happen. I almost wish I would have missed this shot because now, if the system falls off, I need to get groceries and cat food etc and I won't be able to drive.
I will update you.Thank you so much, I am going to read over all of this valuable info you've given me today. I'm just scrambling at the moment. I will update you on the rest today.
@Suzanne & DarcyAny chance the service repair place can take you in now? Pumpkin has flattened out and probably close to nadir if not at it already, and still in safe numbers, you’d be fine to leave. I’ll get to your other comments here shortly.
To get a response where you have your post, on top there is a search engine type the member you want to reach a on the right side the name will show, click the name a window will pop up click conversation, you will not be able to receive dose instructions or comments but then write in your regular post and we can see you concerns or when you post at the end you can type example @CORKY and we get it or anyone else that has helped you
Nah, I just scheduled to drop it off on Monday night. I found a garage about a half mile away. Being that it's the weekend, everything closes earlier and through Monday. It's okay
I would say this would be something to try when you get a preshot that is far below his usual preshots. If you encounter that, you could try and stall for probably up to 1 hour, and also it would depend on how flexible your schedule is, since you'd have to adjust the next shot time, and whether he has risen to a BG where you would be comfortable shooting. Anything more than an hour is usually difficult for most caregivers to adjust next cycles' timing. Here on the main health forum, with caregivers who are new and haven't had much in the way of data to see how their cat responds to the insulin, we'd say to stall if the BG is under 200.I have a question about stalling.... If he gets a shot around 9 - 9:30AM and 9 - 9:30PM, usually within that range, how long should I wait before not giving a shot?
Got it, I think I asked about dry way back, just wanted to check that was still in the mix. Your comment though that you feed the Delectable at preshot along with the 1% savory salmon feast is interesting, since that ultimately would indicate that it's not as high carb as one would presume, although if you were to do some experimenting when you can to get a +1 that would give you a good idea of the food bump.Yes, he is still getting the dry. There's a tribe here, so a strict feeding schedule is not feasible. They are at varying ages and all grazers. But, Pumpkin... before he gets his shot, he also gets some Fancy Feast Savory Salmon and a Delectable stick. Because he really isn't going to eat dry food if I set a plate for him. And, I want him to have the FF and Delectable so that he has fuel to burn before his shot.
To help try to resolve what is not really a gradual decrease lately, I think I will try to add some higher low carb instead to prop up numbers when there is a would be drop! Thank you for that information!!! This may actually be the most helpful. Because, I will do anything to help him. However, I feel more pressure to do so, when I am calling off extremely important obligations and losing much needed sleep. I am grateful for him and he is the top priority, though.
I am very grateful for all of your help.
See April 19th as an example where you shot full dose and March 2nd you shot a 140.
Your comment though that you feed the Delectable at preshot along with the 1% savory salmon feast is interesting, since that ultimately would indicate that it's not as high carb as one would presume, although if you were to do some experimenting when you can to get a +1 that would give you a good idea of the food bump.
I can't remember if I asked in the past, but are you able to move up your shot times? That would be something to think about, since he does seem to onset at around +2 and nadirs around +4ish (although nadirs can and do move around). An earlier shot time would let you have some extra tests on nights when he has a more active cycle hopefully also allowing you some sleep.
You are very welcome![]()
His doctor thought maybe the prior batch was less effective, but we aren't sure. Yes, they are the same. But, I tend to think this case is just a very rare thing. Almost immediately after he started using it (about 3 days), I noticed that it was better. More effective.That’s an interesting observation about the insulin, although to my knowledge, there wouldn’t be any difference between Lantus and the Biosimilars. I wonder if it is just coincidental, perhaps if Pumpkin is happening to eat less dry food than he used to?
Hello!! I just wanted to follow up with this idea from yesterday's Pumpkin thread. I would have kept it on the thread, but it is a few days old, and I am not sure if it is preferred that I send it in a message instead. I was going to hold the .75 reduction, but you were speculating that perhaps the reduction wasn't earned. I was wondering if maybe, I might put it back to at least 1U if the numbers start to rise. As, they seem to be doing slightly. Please, See below - From the tread![]()
Thank you, I appreciate you!
- I wouldn’t have reduced to 0.75u; you are following SLGS and Pumpkin didn’t earn a reduction, since he didn’t go under 90. That said, now that you’ve reduced, give 0.75u a try for 7 days and see how he does. Don't be in a rush to increase based on some higher numbers, we want to be able to give the Lantus depot a chance to settle since you've been doing a lot of changes based on what the preshot numbers are.
![]()
I appreciate you so much. You are right. He's back to the low 200s again tonight. I believe this has been the range where he tends to go lower a little fast now. So, I am sticking to that same dose. Absolutely.Hi Shell- since this is a peer review forum, I will comment here to your PM as it relates to dose, and others are welcome to provide their feedback also. Side note, you can always start a new post with today’s questions, and link the old one for history.
Don’t be overly concerned with a few higher numbers, he’s just not used to greens, and what you could be seeing is some bouncing. Even today, it looks like the bounce may be clearing. Time for a little patience.
Bouncing from the basics sticky in Lantus/Lev/Biosimilars ISG:
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).