Very low BG last night. Kind of scared!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam-cat

Member Since 2017
Sam-cat was diagnosed with diabetes in the spring and has been on ProZinc for the last six months. Things have been OK, very settled for a while and his BG fluctuating recently.

Last night he had his test before his tea and shot and was 1.5. I was at work and my partner panicked about hypo. He ate and seemed fine in himself and when I was home 3 hours later his BG was up to 16.

Very scared why this happened nothing has changed with him. Wondering what might cause this to happen as nothing has really changed.

I am finding it hard to keep his dose consistent with his BG fluctuating which obviously doesn't help.

Appreciate any advice

Thanks
Tess and Sam
 
Good catch, glad he’s ok! Whenever you get an unusual number like that it’s good to retest in case it was a bad strip or not enough blood. If the low number holds, retest in 20min to be sure there’s no more drops. Since you’re on prozinc, I’ll tag @Djamila @Rachel @Kris & Teasel to help with dosing
 
Partner is well trained :) and tested him with two strips. He has an alphatrak meter but we use freestyle lite strips. Tested with freestyle and alphatrak strips - alphatrak was 1.5, freestyle 1.6.


But maybe not that well trained as once he had fed Sam and Sam had retired to lie in front of the fire as he usually does don' think it occurrd to him to retest:banghead:

Main thing is he is ok. Just would love to know why it went so low as it' not happened before - or not that we know of...
 
If you squint your eyes and scan down his SS over the past several months, the scattering of colours is fairly consistent. Yes, he's a bouncy boy and my experience with my bouncer still is that he can throw the odd very low number at me and then revert to his usual colourful spread of numbers. I also found with my bouncer that he didn't tolerate cycle to cycle dose tweaks very well when he was on ProZinc. I suggest you try to avoid that and stick with a dose that gives you decent results. The 1.0 u dose actually gave you some good blue cycles in mid-November with minimal bouncing. Dosing in response to PS number works well for more stable cats near their good dose. I think that bouncers do better with consistent dosing - as long as the dose is producing some decent BGs.

So - maybe try 1.0 u for 3-4 cycles to see if he calms down. Take a break from the PS determined dosing for now.
 
If you squint your eyes and scan down his SS over the past several months, the scattering of colours is fairly consistent. Yes, he's a bouncy boy and my experience with my bouncer still is that he can throw the odd very low number at me and then revert to his usual colourful spread of numbers. I also found with my bouncer that he didn't tolerate cycle to cycle dose tweaks very well when he was on ProZinc. I suggest you try to avoid that and stick with a dose that gives you decent results. The 1.0 u dose actually gave you some good blue cycles in mid-November with minimal bouncing. Dosing in response to PS number works well for more stable cats near their good dose. I think that bouncers do better with consistent dosing - as long as the dose is producing some decent BGs.

So - maybe try 1.0 u for 3-4 cycles to see if he calms down. Take a break from the PS determined dosing for now.

Thanks totally agree that is the best option and giving him a lower dose is hopefully going to keep him safer when I'm at work. I think I possibly get frustrated when he bounces and find it hard to keep consistent.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top