David - coco
Member Since 2022
So Suddenly last Monday night night I tested my cat because she was acting funny and she was borderline hypo. Since then, I've needed to reduce the dose drastically. Please see my my spreadsheet. You can also skim this if you want for other info. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/low-blood-sugar-dosing-advice.274196/#post-3046554
But I'm just very frustrated not know what's happening and why with the low insulin now being needed. Considering she does still get into the 200s and the last day or so, 300s, she's obviously not in remission like I was initially thinking was happening. I did a curve yesterday just for my curiosity and it seemed normal. One interesting thing was that she dropped right at the end of the cycle at PMPS and I wouldn't have expected that, no?
This morning her AMPS was 222 and I know that anything under 200 I would have skipped regardless but I've been curious to see what would happen if I skipped, so I decided to see. I skipped the dose this morning and fed normally and did another curve. As you can see, she dropped considerably today and had a relatively normal curve I would say. But a drop to 96 with no insulin, that makes no sense to me. That shouldn't happen, right?
The main stress is the morning when I have only about 2 hours to test/feed/shoot and get a +1 and or +2 test in before I need to leave for work. Her constantly dropping is an added stress. Her drops seem to be consistently within the first 2-3 hours which also seems odd given I thought the ProZinc acted longer. Also, I know I have only done it once, but even the "drop" dose brings her down pretty good amount, the one time is dropped lower than the 0.1U.
Can anyone please try and help me to understand what might be happening and what I should be doing here? Why when I skipped dose today did her numbers still drop considerably? I'm seriously tempted to skip again tonight and see if they drop again, depending on what her PMPS is, I just may. Is this maybe a sign that her body is TRYING to get into remission and may be working again slightly to produce insulin? Any advice is appreciated.
But I'm just very frustrated not know what's happening and why with the low insulin now being needed. Considering she does still get into the 200s and the last day or so, 300s, she's obviously not in remission like I was initially thinking was happening. I did a curve yesterday just for my curiosity and it seemed normal. One interesting thing was that she dropped right at the end of the cycle at PMPS and I wouldn't have expected that, no?
This morning her AMPS was 222 and I know that anything under 200 I would have skipped regardless but I've been curious to see what would happen if I skipped, so I decided to see. I skipped the dose this morning and fed normally and did another curve. As you can see, she dropped considerably today and had a relatively normal curve I would say. But a drop to 96 with no insulin, that makes no sense to me. That shouldn't happen, right?
The main stress is the morning when I have only about 2 hours to test/feed/shoot and get a +1 and or +2 test in before I need to leave for work. Her constantly dropping is an added stress. Her drops seem to be consistently within the first 2-3 hours which also seems odd given I thought the ProZinc acted longer. Also, I know I have only done it once, but even the "drop" dose brings her down pretty good amount, the one time is dropped lower than the 0.1U.
Can anyone please try and help me to understand what might be happening and what I should be doing here? Why when I skipped dose today did her numbers still drop considerably? I'm seriously tempted to skip again tonight and see if they drop again, depending on what her PMPS is, I just may. Is this maybe a sign that her body is TRYING to get into remission and may be working again slightly to produce insulin? Any advice is appreciated.
Last edited:
