Cathy Palmer
Member Since 2015
I awoke to find that my kitty, Zachary, is feeling very badly and "dry heaving." I just took his BG and it's 562 (it's been in the 300's, lately) and it has never been that high before. I think this was because he had his insulin before bed but it looks like he lost his entire dinner during the night. Not sure of the best thing to do, this morning, I fed him his usual breakfast and wanted to increase his insulin (1 unit since his hypoglycemic episode a day or so after Christmas) but I'm afraid that he will vomit again and then the insulin increase will be way too much. After the hypoglycemic episode I have been erring on the side of too high but this is way too high. I'm thinking that I should watch him carefully all day and try to get another BG mid day. If he vomits give him maybe 1/2 his usual food, with no insulin. Maybe at his bedtime meal if his BG is still really high I should increase to 1.5 and make sure his food stays down. Am I on the right track? Any insight?
Last edited by a moderator: